Trip To The Bad Place Part 1- Morning of Terror

My Disciples,

My instincts must have been off yesterday morning because before I even had the slightest inkling that I should run and hide, one of the Guardians had scooped Me up and closed Me in the portable kitty jail.  Next thing I knew, we were in the car, and My heart was racing because I just knew we were on our way to The Bad Place!

Otis in carrier

Suddenly, I found Myself in a car on the way to The Bad Place. I didn't even see it coming!

I should have had My guard up, because I knew the Guardians had noticed that I have been limping recently.  Whenever Brother Henry or I get sick or have pains, the Guardians always take us to The Bad Place.  That’s how we figured out that The Bad Place may not actually be so bad after all…but it’s still very scary to us so we still call it The Bad Place!

Anyway, sure enough, after driving for what seemed to Me like four days, the Guardian stopped the car and took Me inside The Bad Place.  I tried My hardest to be brave, but I’m ashamed to say I failed miserably.  The people at The Bad Place are always very nice to Me (except for when they take My temp-shure), but I smell so many other scared animals (including dogs!  Sorry Rumpy!) there that I just can’t calm Myself down.  Today, when one of the people at The Bad Place came in to check My svelteness, I hid in a shiny silver sink.

Otis in sink.

I'm not proud of it, but I hid in the darkest place I could find...the sink.

After being pulled out of the sink, placed on the svelteness checker and then <GASP> having My temp-shure taken, the Guardian pulled Me onto his lap.  I pushed My head into his coat and he held Me and made Me feel at least a little bit safer.  I wanted to claw My way all the way up his back under the coat, but he seemed to be against that idea.

Otis in coat

The Guardian tried to protect Me from the scariness, but I was still afraid.

The rest of the visit is kind of a blur.  I may have even blacked out at one point and I had a crazy hallucination that I was placed on a table for “radumographs” or something like that.  I’m not sure what a “radumograph” is, but it sounds pretty terrifying to Me.  Fortunatley, I eventually found Myself safely back in the portable kitty jail and on My way back home.  But having been gone so long (by this time I estimated at least a year had passed), would I even recognize home when I got there?  Would The Brothers recognize Me?  I had no idea what to expect, and that added to My already intense feeling of unease.

So Sayeth Otis

Tomorrow:  Trip To The Bad Place Part 2- The Homecoming

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

14 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

14 responses to “Trip To The Bad Place Part 1- Morning of Terror

  1. 2 cats

    Poor Otis, but you know the guardians (with mega cool tshirts) wouldn’t take you to the bad place unless they had to.

  2. hopewellmomschoolagain

    Poor Otis!!!

  3. We Guardians are also quite nervous when we have to take or beloved kitties to the vet, but not near as scared as you are. Best of luck to you, Otis, and I hope you are well.

  4. Oh Dog! This is simply too frightening to read!!!

  5. Batya

    Dear sweet Otis, I hope all is well with you. Missey is quite right when she says we guardians are also nervous when we must take our kitties to what you know isn’t really a bad place, just a scary place. I recently had to take my beloved Trout (yes, he’s a cat, a fellow tabby) to the emergency bad place for an eye problem. He’s had 3 more visits to the vet, and another one scheduled to make sure everything is now o.k. I think Trout and I were equally scared: Trout, because of the smells and the unknown, and I, because of what the vet was telling me. By the way, Trout tries to climb inside the sleeve of my coat. Be well, sweet cat.

  6. Pingback: Otis on the Issues- Part I | The Blog of Otis

  7. Pingback: OK, I Was Kind of Freaking Out | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

