The Recon Mission Part I

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here.

As you are aware, Brother Henry and I are certain that Sir Thomas is hiding something up in Kitty Valhalla. Thomas has been spending so much time up there though we haven’t had an opportunity to sneak in and check it out. The only time he comes down is when it is breakfast or dinner time, or when the Guardians are giving us freeze-dried chicken treats, and it’s not like Brother Henry or I are going to pass up a meal or a snack to find out what Thomas is hiding. I mean, we’re cats and all, but food is the one thing that can overpower our curiosity.

Anyway, Brother Henry and I came up with a plan. We found an old, empty freeze-dried chicken treat bag that the Guardians left sitting around. Brother Henry took the bag to the living room and started crinkling it like crazy. Sir Thomas heard the noise and rushed down the stairs from Valhalla to investigate. As he ran to the living room, I jumped up onto the stairs and paused to listen to see if the coast was clear.

Oliver listening

Brother Henry crinkled an old chicken bag and Thomas ran downstairs and into the living room. I listened to see if the coast was clear.

I heard Thomas enter the living room and say, “Brother Henry! I thought I heard chicken treats!”Brother Henry replied, “I thought so too! I think it was coming from downstairs in the bedroom!” Thomas said, “Oh my gosh! The Guardians always give us treats at bedtime! They must have gone to bed early tonight! Let’s go Brother Henry!” Brother Henry told Thomas that he would be right behind him, but that he needed to stop off at the litter box first to make room for the chicken. Thomas laughed and then ran downstairs toward the bedroom. Since the coast was clear, I turned to climb the stairs to Kitty Valhalla, but what I saw stopped me in my tracks.

Oliver noticing minions

I turned to climb the stairs but was stopped in my tracks by what I saw.

Thomas’s minions were all sitting at the top of the stairs staring down at me! How did they get there? Thomas had immediately run downstairs when he heard the chicken treat bag, so how could he have had time to set up his minions at the top of the stairs? After all, they are just inanimate, stuffed toys, right? I slowly crept up the stairs to investigate more closely.

Oliver investigating minions

How could Thomas have had time to set this up? I crept in for a closer look.

After sniffing the minions and finding no clues to how they had ended up at the top of the stairs, I decided to call Brother Henry for assistance. I called out to him, but tried to keep my voice low enough that Thomas would not hear it down in the bedroom. I said, “Brother Henry! We have a problem!”

Oliver calling in backup

I wasn’t sure what to do so I called for Brother Henry.

A few seconds passed and then Brother Henry jumped up onto the stairs. He said, “Shhhhhhh! Keep it down Brother Oliver! We don’t want Thomas to kn…. WHAT THE FUR!?” Brother Henry had just seen the minions sitting on the stairs above me.

Henry appearing on stairs

Brother Henry was startled to see the minions on the stairs above me.

I replied, “What the fur indeed, Brother Henry. Now can you help me figure out how these things got here?” After staring, wide-eyed for a full 10 seconds, Brother Henry got himself together and began to help.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

Next- The Recon Mission Part II

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

9 responses to “The Recon Mission Part I

  1. mistletoeandhitch

    This is so exciting! We love a good mystery…..but, we need to know, did Sir Thomas get chicken from the Guardians?

  2. oh good cod….and that pink one looks mighty suspicious….good luck boys!

  3. Sandy

    It is so hard to wait for Part II.

  4. Diz iz edge of da seet stuff Brother Oliver n Brother Henry!!! Waz a grrreat idea usin da old chickin treet bag….
    Seemz Sir Tthomas haz all da angullz covered tho’….
    Dat pink guy iz purrty creepy **shudderz**
    Bee carefull okayz??
    Yer furendz Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum too x0x0x0x0

  5. Brother Oliver, We wish you success in solving this perplexing mystery. Don’t want to distract you but wanted to be sure you were aware of the gang of wild, mean Chihuahuas that are roaming Maryvale, AZ. If these dogs are on the move maybe the weiner dogs may soon be on the move too. Stare and be aware!!

  6. Watch out for those minions!

  7. Pingback: Operation Knight Distraction Part I: Putting The Plan Into Action | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

