Charlie’s Consolation Prize

Disciples of The Leader Otis,

Brother Henry Here. I saw the whole thing! I was sitting on the cat tree in the front window when it happened! The Limbo Cat named Charlie from across the street almost caught a squirrel! I think it might have even been the squirrel that sometimes taunts me from the fence when I look out the window in the office. Anyway, it all started when I looked down at the walkway under the window and noticed Charlie hanging out there. I don’t think I knew I was watching him.

Charlie sitting on sidewalk.

I noticed Charlie sitting on the walkway in front of the house. I don’t think he saw me.

As I watched Charlie his ears began to twitch. Suddenly, he turned his head and then got up and ran over to the large bush in our yard.

02 Charlie running to bush

Charlie heard something. He ran over to the bush to investigate.

When Charlie arrived at the bush I saw what he had heard. A squirrel was rooting around in the dried leaves underneath the bush! Charlie began to tense and focus on the squirrel. I knew he was about to pounce and, I’m not going to lie to you, I envied him in that moment!

03-Charlie stalking squirrel

Charlie saw a squirrel under the bush! He tensed getting ready to pounce.

Just as Charlie started doing the booty waggle in preparation for the killing pounce, I heard the bigger Guardian say, “Charlie! Don’t do it!” Charlie did not react right away but the squirrel did. The squirrel scampered away leaving Charlie empty pawed. All Charlie could do was watch it go.

04 Charlie Watching Squirrel Leave

The Guardian told Charlie not to do it and that caused the squirrel to scamper off. Charlie watched it go.

Charlie was not happy with the Guardian at all. He turned and looked at him with an expression that I interpreted as “What the Fur?”

05- Charlie upset with Guardian

Charlie was not pleased with the Guardian.

The Guardian must have been able to tell that Charlie was unhappy with him because he said, “I know Charlie. It’s in your nature. You can’t help yourself. You know I love ya buddy. I just wish your people would keep both you and the local wildlife safe. Don’t worry though, I think I have something you’ll like better than that squirrel.” The Guardian then came inside for a moment and grabbed the big bag of catnip. When he went back outside Charlie saw it and immediately came running over to the front stairs. The Guardian sprinkled the catnip all over the porch and Charlie immediately helped himself.

06- enjoying nip

The catnip made Charlie forget about the squirrel.

Charlie seemed to get over his annoyance with the Guardian pretty quickly. Actually, I think he partook in so much catnip that he might have forgotten about his foiled attempt at squirrel slaying altogether.

07- Charlie blissed out

I think Charlie forgot about the squirrel quickly. Actually, I think he forgot about almost everything besides the catnip!

So it seems that Charlie was more than happy with his consolation prize. The Guardian was happy too because it kept Charlie away from the street and away from wildlife, at least for a little while. More importantly though, I was happy because when the Guardian came back inside because he gave me some catnip too! I figure it is my consolation prize for still having to put up with that pesky squirrel’s taunts.

So Says Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

10 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

10 responses to “Charlie’s Consolation Prize

  1. Charlie has some seriously lovely baby blue eyes! Glad your Guardians care like I do about the local wildlife and keeping our feline friends off the streets!

  2. Charlie is a handsome fellow. It seems catnip can cause forgetfulness. By the look on Charlie’s face in the last picture he may have temporarily forgotten who he is. Good nip can do that.

  3. A spoonful of nip makes the misses easier to take! My little girl kitty loves to chatter at the birds and squirrels. I keep telling her she can’t have them. Think I’ll pull out a little nip for her next time and see if she can forget about them for awhile. 🙂

  4. Squirrels are pretty fast, he might have gotten away anyway, but this way he was saved from the chase!
    Charlie is gorgeous! Why would anyone let that pretty of a kitty outside where he can get filthy, get fleas and get hurt?? I dont understand people..

  5. THOSE EYES! Charlie looks so wistful in the “squirrel be gone” picture, but the post-catnip photos make up for it. Thanks to Big Guardian for saving the squirrel.

  6. We think catnip is an excellent prize

  7. What magnificent blue eyes! 😀

  8. msphoebecat

    Poor Charlie to be kept from obtaining his hard waited for and earned prize by the Guardians, do they not understand the numerous delicious dishes that could be made with such a creature?! My stomach rumbles with a roar just thinking about it: squirrel stew, squirrel burgers, squirrel a la Bastet, etc… *drools while daydreaming*
    Anyway, the ONLY way they redeemed themselves was to bestow Charlie with some magnificent nip, yet I think you boys should still require them to attend a few hours of retraining about serving and obeying feline authority.
    My Guardian says they did the right thing and she would have done the same to me– can you believe she has the audacity to tell this to my face?! She MUST be out of it on nip herself or really is a masochist. Oh well, tonight at bedtime I shall find out which one… MEWHAHAHA! *runs off to plot punishment*

    -Clove

  9. Charlie is such a beautiful feline. I’m always so happy to see what the Guardians do for the kitties who come into the yard. They want so much to help spread the word of the Leader Otis, don’t they? I’m sure that Charlie was not too happy about the squirrel getting away, but…we humans don’t like to watch all the hunting even though it is in the nature of the cat. Hoping you are all watching the birds and the squirrels from safe inside your haven and that Charlie is seen more inside than outside. Peace everybody! Z-Girl and all the kitties at Squeedunk Cats

  10. A shame on Cjarloies guardians that they allow him out. He is so lovely. We are attempting to work with the local Audubon group who are protesting our TNR programs because even though the cats are spayed, neutered. They still are returned to the neighborhood from which they came and still do what is natural, hunt. Most return to a managed colony or even more to the backyard they have called home. The impact on wildlife is not as great as Audubon believes. Still we must work together to reduce the numbers of free roaming cats.

Leave a Reply

