The Photo Trap

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here.

Yesterday I found a small stash of freeze-dried chicken treats in a plastic bag behind one of the couch cushions. There were only two pieces of chicken left in the bag. I decided to have some fun. I put one piece of the chicken on the floor and then put my camera right in front of it. I then hid behind the couch with my camera’s remote control and waited. Sir Thomas walked into the room and excitedly said, “Hey! Chicken!”, but as soon as he tried to eat it I snapped a photo of him!

Thomas eating chicken 1

Thomas walked right into my photo trap!

When the flash went off, Sir T jumped a little, and then looked directly at the camera. He did not look happy.

Thomas eating chicken 2

I don’t think Sir Thomas thought the photo trap was funny.

Sir Thomas retreated under the couch in a huff and I reset the trap with the second piece of chicken. Then, Brother Henry entered the room. He didn’t say anything, he just went right for the chicken. Once again I triggered the camera with my remote control.

Henry eating chicken 1

Brother Henry walked right into my trap as well!

Brother Henry didn’t jump when the flash went off. In fact, he didn’t really react at all. I said, “Brother Henry? Didn’t that bright flash startle you?” While still chewing the chicken, he looked up and said, “Nope. I saw you trigger the camera on Thomas and then put another piece of chicken in front of it. By the way, thanks for giving us the chicken. If I found it, I would have eaten it myself.”

Henry eating chicken 2

Brother Henry was on to me. What was worse was that he pointed out I could have eaten the chicken myself.

When Brother Henry finished eating the chicken, he left the room. He was purring loudly as he went. I was feeling really stupid, and also disappointed that I hadn’t thought to just eat the chicken instead of using it to pull a prank. Suddenly, I heard Thomas shout from underneath the couch, “Hey Brother Oliver! I don’t think Brother Henry ate all the chicken! I think I see one piece still sitting on the floor over there!” Now excited, I said, “Thanks Thomas!” and ran over to look for the remaining chicken bit.

I thoroughly investigated the area but could find no chicken. As I was about to give up I heard Sir Thomas say, “Hey Brother Oliver…” I looked up to see him leaning out from behind the couch. He had one paw on my camera’s remote control. With an evil glint in his eye he said, “Say ‘chicken’.” and then triggered the remote.

Oliver caught in the trap 1

Like Mama Cat would say… “We were not amused!”

After triggering the camera Sir Thomas started laughing his furry little butt off. I think he must have left the room to go tell Brother Henry what had happened because his laughter seemed to trail off into the distance. I say I think he left the room because I couldn’t see him go. Since I had looked up at Sir Thomas just before he took the shot, the flash had been right at eye level. It took more than a minute for my vision to come back completely, and by the time it did I could hear Brother Henry’s laughter mixing with Thomas’s in the back hallway.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

9 responses to “The Photo Trap

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    GOTCHA, YOU CUTE KITTY, YOU!

  2. Jenn

    Poor Brother Oliver! One of the Guardians needs to give you some freeze dried chicken while you recover from your blindness!

  3. Darned little brothers…. haha

  4. Pingback: The Photo Trap | Catgurl40's Blog

  5. Kathy Freeman Tolleson

    I’m sorry your trick backfired on you Brother O. Try to have a little fun and it gets spoiled. I agree with Jenn. You should get some chicken for trying to keep life fun and interesting.

  6. Oh! Almost forgot. Your ‘trap’ photos are much better than Sir T’s!

  7. You know what they say about payback!!! 😀

  8. mistletoeandhitch

    Is that what the saying “He who laughs last laughs longest.” means?

  9. There’s that karma coming around again…
    Have a wonderful Wednesday…

    Noodle and crew

Leave a Reply

