This Year’s Puzzling Catsmas Gift: Part IV

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here.

When we last left off, Sir Thomas had decided that the weird bench was “The Bench of Infinite Wiener Vigilance”. I didn’t think that was quite right, so I knocked him out of the way and inspected the object further. That’s when it came to me. I said, “Brother Henry was right! This is’The Bench of Infinite Scratching’! And he was also right when he said this is ‘The Bench of Infinite Mouse Slaying’!” Looking downtrodden, Sir Thomas said “So Brother Henry was totally right, and I was completely wrong?”

Catsmas gift 15

I declared that Brother Henry was right about the bench. Sir Thomas was upset because he thought that meant he was wrong.

I said, “No, Sir Thomas! You weren’t wrong at all! This is ‘The Bench of Infinite Wiener Vigilance’!” Climbing back up on the bench, Sir Thomas said, “Ummmm… I do not get it, Brother Oliver. How can the bench be all of these things?”

Catsmas gift 16

Sir Thomas climbed back up on the bench. He looked a little confused as he asked me how the bench could be more than one thing.

I replied, “Because, Sir Thomas, this is ‘The Bench of Infinite Possibilities’!” Brother Henry let out a celebratory yowl and said, “That’s it, Brother Oliver! You aren’t ‘The Brains’ of Cult of Otis for nothing!” He then headed off to the snack bowl to continue the celebration. I turned to Thomas who was now sitting on the bench with a very serious look on his face. I asked him what was wrong and he said, “If the wiener dogs get their hands on this magical bench, we are all doomed!”

Catsmas gift 17

Thomas was now concerned that the bench would fall into enemy paws.

Thinking quickly I said, “No, no, no, Sir Thomas. You don’t have to worry about that. The bench only offers endless possibilities for cats. As you pointed out, wiener dogs’ legs are too ridiculously stubby for them to be able to reach the top of the bench. The bench only activates when the user is sitting on top of it.” Sir Thomas breathed a sigh of relief and said, “Thank goodness for that…”, but as I headed off to join Brother Henry at the food bowl, the last thing I heard Sir Thomas say was, “… unless they are secretly working on a wiener trampoline!” I pretended I didn’t hear it. No way was I going to have that conversation.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

11 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

11 responses to “This Year’s Puzzling Catsmas Gift: Part IV

  1. I don’t know which is better: the band of black that runs down Brother Oliver’s back, his cat-quick wits, Sir Thomas’s upturned smiling whiskers, or Brother Henry’s firm grasp of priorities (head for the snack dish!). I think I’m sitting on a Chair of Infinite Possibilities, because they all look great to me.

  2. Kathy Freeman Tolleson

    The Brains of the Cult strikes again!!! Well done Brother O! And I agree that the last conversation should never happen. 😉

  3. Pingback: This Year’s Puzzling Catsmas Gift: Part IV | Catgurl40's Blog

  4. Glad the mystery is solved in such a satisfactory way. Good the brains are alert to multiple possibilities.
    Fred D’ Cat

  5. Is it wrong that I love the idea of a wiener trampoline!

  6. we like your solution (and think Sir Thomas may be a little paranoid)

  7. sandy921

    I am so relieved!

  8. You know, we were waiting with cat-nip baited breath to see what the final outcome of the Catsmus gift really was…and we are so happy it’s all resolved! We have what Z-girl calls KittyPods, and we too find them to have infinite uses. They serve as scratching surfaces, places where we get treats at night, beds, and they are quite decorative so we feel that we add some pizzaz to the apartment decor. Enjoy your new bench of magical and infinite possibilities!

  9. We are glad to hear there has been resolution to the situation…

    Noodle and crew

  10. Mee an LadyMum were finkin thiss iss a Bench of Many Pawssibiliteess….HUH…wee iss all finkin alike!
    LadyMum showed mee fotoss of ‘weiner doggiess’ as mee did not know what they were. Funny lookin creeturess….*shivurrss*
    Mee doess not want to meet one of those…
    Yur loyal kittyboy Siddhartha =^..^=

  11. msphoebecat

    Sir Thomas is THE leading expert and authority on ‘Weiner Conspiracy’! 💙

Leave a Reply

