In The Name Of The Queen

Disciples of The Leader Otis,

Brother Henry here.

The anniversary of The Leader’s passing is now behind us, but yesterday evening my thoughts turned toward the second member of our Inner Circle who was lost in 2013. I speak, of course, of Mama Cat.

Henry remembers 1

Yesterday evening, I found myself thinking of Mama Cat.

Leader Otis’s departure was very gradual. Although none of us could bear the thought of losing him, we had lots of time to say our goodbyes. This was not the case with Mama Cat. Everything seemed fine one day, and the next she was gone. As I sat in the window pondering the suddenness of that loss, I started feeling a little ashamed of my behavior toward Mama Cat when she came to live with us in The Promised Land. I just wanted her to play with me and have fun, but she would always get angry at me for it. Several times I chased her around the house even though she hissed and growled and told me not to. I should have honored her wishes. I… I didn’t know she was sick…

Henry remembers 2

I found myself feeling a little ashamed of my behavior toward Mama Cat. I should have left her alone when she told me to.

As I sat there feeling bad about my behavior toward Mama Cat, golden light began to shine in through the window. It slowly roused me out of my deep well of self pity.

Henry remembers 3

As I wallowed in self pity, a golden light began to shine in through the window.

The light quickly faded, but when I looked outside I could barely believe what I was seeing. The sky was aglow with color.

Henry remembers 4

Something amazing was happening outside.

As I watched, the light in the neighborhood began to fade, but the color in the clouds only intensified. The clouds closest to me began to shine with a reddish-orange fire that reminded me of the orange, fiery-spirited kitty of whom I had just been thinking.

Henry remembers 5

the orange fire in the sky reminded me another orange fireball I had once known.

I thought I must be imagining the whole thing. That color in the sky couldn’t be real. It was just my imagination playing tricks on me… my wishing that I could turn back time… to see her again… to let her know how much I really admired and appreciated her. I closed my eyes, believing that the sky would be back to normal when I opened them again.

Henry remembers 6

I closed my eyes, believing the sky would be back to normal when I opened them again.

But it wasn’t. If anything, the color had intensified. And I know it may have all been in my head, but I swear I felt her presence. I can’t explain it, but I felt it, and I was humbled by the feeling.

Henry remembers 7

I swear I felt the presence of Mama Cat in that fiery sky. The feeling humbled me.

Suddenly, I felt something welling up within me. It came from deep down inside and there was no stopping it. And to be honest, I didn’t try to stop it. I let it come. I faced that burning sky and let it all come out. I raised my head and shouted with all my might, “LONG LIVE THE QUEEN!”

Henry remembers 8

LONG LIVE THE QUEEN!

As I completed my shout I heard another voice somewhere deep within the house echoing mine. It was Sir Thomas, and hearing his rousing cry brought a smile to my face. He had been closer to Mama Cat than anyone, save The Leader Himself, and his approval of my tribute felt like the next best thing to approval from The Queen Herself. As I turned away from the window, I paused to take one last look at the sky. I didn’t think it was possible, but the color had become even more intense.

Henry remembers 9

When I looked back over my shoulder, the color had intensified.

I don’t know if Mama Cat really had any paw in creating that intense orange fire in the sky. but even if she didn’t, it was the memory of her that influenced my response to what I saw. So, in a way, she really was present, and as long as I long as I keep her in my memory, she always will be.

Henry remembers 10

So the next time you look up at the evening sky and see that orange fire shining down, Think of Mama Cat. And if you are so moved, raise your voice to heavens and let her know she is not forgotten. When you have finished turn your attention back to the earth, go forth and seek out cats that are living as she was before her entry into The Promised Land, and help them in the name of The Queen.

So Says Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

26 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, The Good Word

26 responses to “In The Name Of The Queen

  1. smseattle

    Beautiful! Long Live the Queen!

  2. *wipes away tears* Oh Brother Henry, what a touching wonderful moment. Long Live the Queen indeed. And all of those wonderful cats we’ve lost. Our beautiful Miss Bitty being one of them. =^..^=

  3. Oh, Brother Henry. Thank you so much for sharing the beauty in the sky. There is just no way it could have been anything else but Mamma Cat sitting with Leader Otis OTRB. You’ve got every kitty in the world wiping their eyes including me.

  4. *sobbing, leaky eyes* Brother Henry, your loving tribute to The Queen is most remarkable. And I know she was there, in that sky. Even more feisty than when she was bound to earth in her aging body. For even as she aged, she never lost her keen spirit as huntress and her Flying Squirrel attack move will live on for time immemorial in the hearts of all cats who have known and loved her…we will teach the young ones who come behind us and you know we will work forever to bring all those cats lost in limbo as Mama Cat once was, into The Promised Land if we can…LONG LIVE THE QUEEN

  5. Long Live the Queen!!!! We know she heard you. May her memory and legacy be that of helping others into the Promised Land.

  6. Reblogged this on cgw629 and commented:
    Long Live the Queen

  7. Thank you Brother Henry for your fitting tribute to a special fur-Queen .and in honor of all our fur-friends who have past on.

  8. I’m crying as I read this …. I was just thinking about her on my way home from work today, thinking about all of you and the fact that the anniversary of her crossing was here. What a beautiful tribute to a wonderful, feisty, Royal kitty. Long Live the Queen!!!!!

  9. “Long Live The Queen.”

  10. Kathy Freeman Tolleson

    Long Live the Queen indeed!! She will never be forgotten. Her and The Leader touched our hearts too deeply for that to happen. I think she did have a very sharp clawed paw in that colored sky. Just a little reminder of her spirit.

  11. She couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful tribute, Brother Henry, though, being Mama Cat, she might have asked for one anyway. She is greatly missed, but I take comfort from knowing that before she left us, her true spirit was seen, her needs for shelter and love were granted, and her status was acknowledged, now and forever. Long live the once and future Queen.

  12. Jenn

    What a beautiful post, Long Live the Queen indeed!

  13. Tracey

    Long Live the Queen!

  14. A year already 😦 The sky pictures are beautiful xxx

  15. Dear Brother Henry, the sky revealed for you the beauty of Mama Cat’s spirit. She is with you always, and brought to you a special treat painted in the colors of nature. I do think of the Leader and the Queen when I feed my Shadow kitties. This year we’ve rescued 9 kittens, and are now working on catching the mama cat so she can have some rest. Our other colony will be relocated due to construction, and our highest hope is to capture each one and move them to a sanctuary where they have warmth and softness, shelter and food. And above all, some love. I promise to do my part in the name of the Leader. Long Live the Queen! I wish for the brothers peaceful reflection during the holiday season. I know how hard it is to miss the earthly presence of those we so love and admire. Purrs from Z-Girl and the Squeedunk Cats…

  16. Long live the Queen, indeed. Lovely post.

  17. Yow Long live Momma Kat…
    Brother Henry we haz da leeky eyez here….phank ya fer a pawsum tributte to Momma Kat…we haz bin thinkin of her alot latelee too….
    Me haz sumfing to ell all of ya: Me iz gonna join Leader Otis n Momma Kat on Caturday the 22th at 2:30 pm. Me haz come down wif Die-a-beetez frum da Depomedrol used to control da Bowel Disease…me haz had an xtra week wif Mum preparin her fer me journey…..
    Me will give lub n reegardz frum all of ya to dem when me findz Leader Otis & Momma Kat okayz???
    It waz bunderfull knowin all of ya; sepshelly Sir Thomas 😉
    Me will allwayz beememburr ya Sir Thomas….hansum n vailiant brave warrior kittehboy!
    Lub to all of ya ❤ Nylablue ❤
    Pee ess: Doze pix are beeuteefull….

    • Oh M’Lady Nylablue. I ‘m so devastated to hear this news! The Brothers and I are sending all of our love and supportive thoughts to you and your wonderful Mum during this most difficult of times. I’m so sorry that you have to leave us, and I know that The Leader and The Queen will greet you with soft paw pats and loving headbutts as you arrive in the real Kitty Valhalla to join them. You and your mom will be in our thoughts in the coming days. We will all miss you M’Lady, especially me. It has truly been an honor for this knight to call you my friend.

      With love and respect,
      Sir Thomas and all of us at Cult of Otis

    • Heather

      Nylablue, I remember your special story from Savannah’s Paw Tracks when Savannah did those rescue cat/dog interviews. You’re a beautiful kitty and extra special for sure. I know your Mom must be real sad. I’m so sorry this happened and will be thinking of you all. Wish I could offer more comfort than that.

      • Yow Miss Heather iz all rite..me had 18 1/2 xtra monthz of life wif Mum m all me bloggie furendz! It iz time fer me to goez n me n Mum know it n accept it….yah Mum iz a baskit case n have cryin momintz butt she iz lubbin me n singin to me n tellin me ’bout Summerland so iz Okayz….
        Phankz fer yer support.
        Yerz ❤ Nylablue ❤

  18. We think Mama Cat had a paw in this, Brother Henry. It was her way of letting you and the others know that she’s okay. Long live the Queen!

  19. How very touching and sweet! Long live the Queen!

    Noodle and crew

  20. Heather

    That was a touching tribute, Brother Henry! Long Live the Queen!!!!

  21. EEoww Sir Thomas iz lubly dat ya haz reeplied n now me iz happy n cattented. Me will allwayz bememburr ya fer beein a dashin n valiant Knight
    Keep up da guud fight Sir Thomas n Brothers follow hiz advice n guidance.
    Me will look fer Leader Otis n Momma Kat…it will bee lubly to see dem again.
    Take guud care of yerself Sweet Knight n bememburr me will bee watchin over ya…
    Wif affeckshun n reespect,
    Yer Lady Nylablue ❤

Leave a Reply

