Sir Thomas’s Attitude Adjustment Technique

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here.

This morning, as I was attempting to nap on the couch, I overheard a conversation between Sir Thomas and Brother Henry. They were both up on top of Super Outpost Tabby Tower because Sir Thomas had asked Brother Henry if they could run some Long-feared (Wiener) Dog Uprising readiness drills. Apparently, once they got up there Brother Henry was no longer in the mood. I heard him say, “It’s not that I think these LFDU drills are a bad idea, Sir Thomas…” at which point Sir Thomas interjected, “You mean LFWDU…”. Brother Henry ignored Thomas’s comment and continued, “… but I’m just not in the mood. I thought I could power through, but I’m just really grumpy today. Plus, I’m still sad about the anniversary of losing Leader Otis, and we have another sad anniversary on the way… I just don’t know if I can do this.”

Henry and Thomas 1

Sir Thomas wanted to run a readiness drill, but Brother Henry wasn’t feeling up to it.

Sir Thomas said, “Brother Henry, I know how you feel. I’ve been feeling sad too. I’ve also been a little grumpy, mostly with myself, because I am still struggling with my inner demons from my time in The Shadows. But you know what? I’m not ready to give up. We still need to be vigilant and be as prepared as we can be for The Uprising! It’s what Leader Otis would have wanted us to do. I think you just need a little attitude adjustment and I know just the thing that will help make you feel better. Look at me. Here’s what I do when I feel sad, frustrated, or angry. It makes me feel better every time.” Brother Henry turned to look, and Thomas showed him how he makes himself feel better.

Henry and Thomas 2

Brother Henry watched as Sir Thomas demonstrated how he makes himself feel better.

Brother Henry said, “Kitty Kissy Eyes? That’s your secret? I don’t understand. I only do Kitty Kissy Eyes when I feel really good and want to tell the Guardians or someone else that I love them. It seems really silly to do it when I am feeling the opposite of good. I just… I’m not going to do that.”

Henry and Thomas 3

Brother Henry thought Thomas’s idea sounded silly. He refused to try it.

Sir Thomas said, “Brother Henry, what have you got to lose? You already feel unhappy. You can just sit there being unhappy or you can give something else a try. You never know, it might actually work! And if it doesn’t? Well, so what if it doesn’t? I don’t see how you could lose anything by trying.” Brother Henry said, “If it doesn’t work, then I can be grumpy at you for making me try something so silly!”, to which Thomas replied, “Deal. Now try it please!” Brother Henry complied.

Henry and Thomas 5

It took a little work, but Sir Thomas convinced Brother Henry to try grumpiness reduction technique.

After Brother Henry opened his eyes from the slow blink, Sir Thomas asked, “Well? How do you feel?” After a brief pause, Brother Henry’s eyes narrowed, and a slight grin appeared on his face. He said, “I kinda feel awesome.”

Henry and Thomas 6

Brother Henry said he kinda felt awesome after trying Thomas’s grumpiness treatment.

Sir Thomas said, “See! I told you! Now can we run our readiness drills?” Brother Henry said, “Yes! Let’s proceed!”, and then, turning to Thomas and giving him a slow blink, he said, “I love you man!” Sir Thomas returned the blink and said, “Right back at you Brother!” They then began running their drill and I left the room to find a quieter nap spot. As I settled into a cat bed downstairs, I felt a little grumpy with Brother Henry and Sir Thomas for being so loud that I had to move. I forgave them though after trying the grumpiness coping technique I had just overheard Thomas teach Brother Henry. The last thought I had before falling asleep was, “I love those guys!”

Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

15 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

15 responses to “Sir Thomas’s Attitude Adjustment Technique

  1. mistletoeandhitch

    We just wanted to point out that doing Kitty Kissy Eyes at a grumpy human can cure them of their sour disposition. That is sorta a 2 for 1 deal cause then both kitty and human feel awesome. Now….

    Wow, we love you guys!

  2. Mistletoeandhitch are right KKE always works on mu humans.

  3. What a great idea, Sir Thomas! You are becoming very wise. I’m gonna try this on mom.

  4. Thanks for reminding me that the world is better when we remember to use the KKE mood changer technique. KKEs from Fred De Cat.

  5. Such wisdom from Sir Thomas. I love you guys!

  6. Pingback: Sir Thomas’s Attitude Adjustment Technique | Catgurl40's Blog

  7. yep – it is all about attitude – and love can change it all. LOVE you guys

  8. Sir Thomas yer a geeneuss n so payshunt wif Brother Henry! Soundz like Kissy-Kissy Eyez iz purrfect to chase dem bluez away….me must try diz too!!
    Brother Oliver yer pawsum fer understandin too!
    Lub Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum x0x0x0x0
    Pee ess: Sir Thomas yer gettin hansummer n hansummer ebery time me seez ya! ❤

  9. So very wise…

    Noodle and crew

  10. You three are so lucky to have each other, and the guardians!

  11. Heather

    That is the cutest thing!

  12. sandy921

    I love you guys too! Do you think that KKE works when us humans feel sad too? I will give it a try : )

Leave a Reply

