I Tried Something New… And I Liked It!

People and fur people who are Disciples of The Leader Otis,

It’s Thomas.

In general, I don’t like change. Sure, sometimes change is good, like when the Guardians swept me up and brought me into The Promised Land, but for the most part even minor changes make me feel like I’m going to lose my stuff. And to be honest, when the Guardians brought me inside, I did lose my stuff! I even bit one of them, which I found out later is a HUGE no-no.

Anyway, despite my dislike for change, today I decided to try something new. Brothers Henry and Oliver are always going on about how comfy the couch is to sleep on. I’ve always preferred to sleep underneath the couch, but I have to admit I have been very curious about what it’s like up there on top. So I decided to go for it. When no one else was around I jumped up on the couch to see whether or not its comfiness had been exaggerated.

Thomas on couch 1

When no one was around, I decided to see if the couch was as comfy as the Brothers claimed.

After sitting there for several minutes, I had to admit it was pretty comfy. I mean, it wasn’t quite as amazing as I expected considering all the buzz from Brothers Henry and Oliver, but it was nice. I liked it.

Thomas on couch 2

I had to admit, it was pretty comfy.

Just as I was about to lay my head down and take a quick nap, the bigger Guardian came into the room. I felt a little tense, but I had become so comfortable I decided not to do what I would usually do which is get the heck out of there. Instead, I stayed put as the Guardian sat down on the opposite end of the couch. I even allowed him to take a selfie with me, although I kept a close eye on him as he did.

Thomas on couch 3

The Guardian took a selfie with me. I made sure to keep a close eye on him as he did so.

After the selfie, the Guardian just stayed on his end of the couch and watched some TV. Since I was so tense during the selfie, I hadn’t noticed that the sun had begun shining in through the window and directly onto my paws and belly! The warmth was amazing, and I suddenly realized why the Brothers were always going on about resting on top of the couch. None of these golden rays ever reached my resting spot under the couch! So there I was, a nice soft blanket and super cushy cushion below me, and warm sunlight shining in on me. As Leader Otis used to say about things he really liked, it was glorious! I soon found myself forgetting that the Guardian was nearby and falling asleep as I basked in the warm glow.

Thomas on couch 4

Cushy cushions and warm rays… it was glorious!

Several hours later a noise woke me up (probably a rabid wiener dog preparing to attack) and I darted off to one of my safey-safes. Still, I had tried something new… and I liked it! It makes me wonder, what else might I be missing out on? Maybe, someday, I’ll gather the courage to find out.

Thomas Out

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

 

15 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

15 responses to “I Tried Something New… And I Liked It!

  1. Reblogged this on cgw629 and commented:
    Lovely story

  2. Good for you, Sir Thomas! Trying new things is a sign of tremendous bravery and courage. Keep up the good work!

  3. Oh, Sir Thomas, you brave kitty knight! Comfiness and sunshine really suit you, showing off the length of your fur and the shine of your whiskers. Plus, you had a long warm nap! You’re an inspiration to all of us to try something new every once in a while.

  4. You look really comfy snoozing in the sun , Sir Thomas !

  5. Sunny couches are pretty awesome. My Jenny loves to sit on them, and she especially likes to have a familiar human around so she can press her paws on one of her human’s arms. She doesn’t like to sit on laps – she has her own style. I’m glad you found something new you like Thomas, and I hope the couch will continue to present you with new and comfy experiences.

  6. You are SO brave Sir Thomas. Next up….a lap

  7. Bravo, Sir Thomas! 🙂

  8. EEowww Sir Thomas yer so brave n hansum!! See sum change iz guud!
    N baskin in Sunshine iz da best of all…n wif blankie too….yer amazin! Simplee amazin!!!!
    Lub Nylablue n Mum too x0x0

  9. Kathy Freeman Tolleson

    One small step will hopefully lead to even more comfiness. Don’t rush yourself but know we are all rooting for you to expand your horizons! Well done Sir Thomas!!

  10. Thomas, you have taught me so much about cats. Before I started reading about you, I thought all cats were either “tame” (i.e. completely comfortable around every member of the family within a week or so of moving in) or wild (just never going to be tame). Now I see that there is a spectrum involved, and that every kitty adjusts at his or her own pace. Good to know!

  11. mistletoeandhitch

    Oh Sir Thomas! Kudos to you for taking a risk and trying something new. I, Mistletoe the brave and fearless, have spent the last 11 years slowly exploring the many things that exsist beyond my safe, under-the-bed lair. Some people and cats thought waiting 5 years to venture upstairs was too long or that the 6 months I made the HuMom wait ro see me in the daylight was overly cautious. They simply don’t understand that we brave and fearless types need to research and study things before we try them. Otherwise we’d be running around willy-nilly like some cats (Hitch), ending up in all sorts of dangerous situations. Now, after 11 years this December, I have mapped out about 88% of this dwelling. The HuMom says that she forgets sometimes just how brave and fearless I am,……but I remind her whenever she allows a large change to occur. So take your time and explore your dwelling carefully. Before you know it your humans will be forgetting just how fearless you are too.

  12. Oh Thomas! You have no idea how happy that made me! SO glad to see you venturing out and trying new stuff! Someday you’ll be claiming that spot no matter who’s near by! You might even be inclined to try to push a brother out of the spot so you can take it… hee hee, that one may be way far off!

  13. Small steps pal! Glad it was such a success!

  14. Sir Thomas what a great discovery you made about the comfort of couches, blankets and sunshine! All three combined definitely are glorious! My dear Bessie has finally let me pet and scratch her–after three years–and she loves it! So it must be the season for trying new things…wonder if you will allow one of the guardians to sit close to you the next time you are lounging on the couch…

  15. Sir Thomas.. you are making me sleepy

Leave a Reply

