It Might Have Been Catnip

People and fur people who are Disciples of The Leader Otis,

It’s Thomas.

This morning, when I went into our Outdoor Domain, I discovered a small pile of dried plant material. It looked kind of like catnip, but I was pretty sure it was something else. I decided to investigate to try to figure out what it was. As I started sniffing the odd stuff, Brother Henry appeared in the doorway. He said, “Ummmm… Thomas… take it easy on that catnip.”

Thomas with catnip 1

I started to investigate the plant material. Brother Henry thought it was catnip.

I told Brother Henry not to worry because I was pretty sure the dried plant was not catnip. He said, “Thomas, I’m positive that is catnip.” I said, “No. I think it’s something different. Let me just taste it a little and maybe that will help me identify it.”

Thomas with catnip 2

Brother Henry still insisted that the stuff was catnip. I decided to gather a little more information.

As I continued sniffing and tasting the plant Brother Henry continued to warn me against doing so. I have no idea what he was so worried about. I mean, the plant was clearly not catnip. I ate a little more of the mystery plant and Brother Henry said, “Thomas, seriously, that’s the same catnip that knocked Stanley out the other day. It also swept Cookie off her feet.” I only half-heard what Brother Henry was saying because I was distracted by a giant wiener squirrel that was hopping around the yard. Cookie had told me about them but I thought she had just imagined them during a nip trip. I guess I was mistaken.

Thomas with catnip 3

I could not really hear what Brother Henry was saying because I was distracted by a giant wiener squirrel.

Brother Henry continued to blabber on about how I should not be eating so much of the plant because he was sure it was catnip, but I knew he was wrong. I knew he was wrong because the plant itself began to talk to me. I listened closely and I heard it say, “Thomas. I am not catnip. eat as much of me as you want.”

Thomas with catnip 4

Brother Henry was wrong. The plant told me so.

That is the last thing I remember. I woke up several hours later with my face in an empty food bowl and an achingly full belly. Brother Henry was nearby, and when I began to stir he said, “Soooo… Sir Thomas…. what do you think that plant was?” At that point, I had to admit, it might have been catnip.

Thomas out

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

 

9 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

9 responses to “It Might Have Been Catnip

  1. i think the googley eyes tell the story.. That was some powerful nip indeed! The wiener squirrels told me so.

  2. rhiannonpaine

    I have a substance in my life that talks to me like that, Sir Thomas. “Rhiannon. I am not chocolate. I have no fat, sugar, or calories. Eat as much of me as you want.” I don’t fall for it, but of course I have to taste it daily, just to make sure. I don’t see wiener squirrels, though. Your substance must be a lot more powerful.

  3. I would worry about a Weiner squirrel invasion, maybe brother o and h need to double check.

  4. ya think?

    bwahahahahaha!!!!

  5. Well, at least you had a good trip!

  6. Pingback: It Might Have Been Catnip | Catgurl40's Blog

  7. Nip and squirrels?
    Wow!
    You better take a nap…

    Noodle

  8. Soundz like furabuluss NOTT ‘NIP ya had dere Sir Thomas….hmmmm me finkz dere iz sumfing fishy dere…
    Weiner squirrelz?? Dat wuud bee scarey Sir Thomas…yer BERY brave!
    Lub Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum x0x0

Leave a Reply

