More Kitties Go Missing

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. The other day, when the Guardians brought home the photo of the lost chicken poster, they also brought home photos of two lost cat posters. The first was a handwritten note with no photo, but the words say everything you need to know about what can happen when a kitty is not safely confined.

Lost Cat Poster- handwritten no photo

A white and gray, long-haired kitty is missing. I purr he is someplace safe.

The second post the Guardians photographed announced that Pablo is missing. According to the poster, Pablo is less than a year old and may not be “street smart”. Brother Henry, Sir Thomas, and I were trying to figure out if people really believe a cat can become “street smart”.  Sir Thomas said, “I lived on the street for a year. I did not become ‘street smart’, I just became afraid all the time. There is nothing smart about letting your cat roam the streets.” Brother Henry and I agreed.

Missing Cat Poster- Pablo

Pablo is missing. I purr he is safe.

I hope these are the last missing cat posters that ever have to be made, but unless there is a sudden, significant change in human thinking and behavior I know they will not be. Please do your part to ensure that your own kitties never join the ranks of the missing, and please continue to join us in our efforts to keep all cats happy, healthy, and safely confined.

In Otis’s name,

Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

7 Comments

Filed under The Good Word

7 responses to “More Kitties Go Missing

  1. smseattle

    Brother Oliver, thank you so much for this post. I read and study every missing pet poster I see. I hope for the best for all of them. Thank you, your brothers, and your guardians for doing your best to educate people on taking good care of their animals.

  2. rhiannonpaine

    Purring for Pablo and for white/grey kitty. Thank you, Brother Oliver, for continuing to remind us that “free” cats are not safe cats.

  3. Karen

    Wondering if Pablo is a door dasher. His photos were taken inside, and I know I don’t make my girls wear collars around the house. As if they would tolerate that.

  4. My cats would love to be outside but I fear they might get hit by a car like so many do, unfortunately.

  5. mistletoeandhitch

    Poor kitties. Sadly, “street smart” is just another way to say ,afraid all the time. The former just makes humans feel better.

  6. Yow Brother Oliver me is so sowwy dere are more missin kittehz…it seemz to bee neber endin! Greyboy who waz just a stray iz ternin more feral as each day goez by…he iz ‘street smart’…yah sneekin here under da cover of darkness gobblin food n slinkin away into da Shadowz. Den dere iz Poirot who we fink waz a housekat too….he waitz til Greyboy iz gone n he sneekz in to eat da leftoverz….
    Street smart meenz da kitteh haz no clue how to survive on itz own so it may nott adapt…which meenz to go feral or pair-ish…
    Sad butt true.
    We will purray fer da long haired kitteh n Pablo….may dey be found soon…
    Yer furend Nylablue xoxo

  7. I never understood the mindset of owning a cat and then tossing him out the door. It’s crazy! I’ve known people who have the cats indoors all day, then throw them outside at night! Why?? I just never understood this. I have 2 cats that have never been outside and they are happy, well adjusted kitties. I don’t see the ‘need’ to throw them out the door at night. Makes me angry when people do this.

Leave a Reply

