My Catsmas Surprise Didn’t Pan Out

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. I thought it was the best idea for a Catsmas surprise ever. The Guardian had left the wrapping paper right there on the floor. It would be so easy!

Oliver and wrapping paper 1

It was going to be the best Catsmas surprise ever!

My plan was to wrap myself in the paper turning myself into a kitty shaped Catsmas present. I would then ask Brother Henry to put all of your addresses on the outside of the package and drop me in the mail. That way I would be dropped off at each of your houses and when you brought me inside I would burst out of the wrapping paper shouting “Merry Catsmas!”. When I got myself mostly wrapped, I told Brother Henry my plan, but I did not get the response from him that I expected.

Oliver and wrapping paper 2

When I was mostly wrapped, I told Brother Henry my plan. His response was unexpected.

Brother Henry was sitting on one of the Guardian’s laps nearby. I had expected him to get all excited when I told him what I was doing. I thought he would immediately jump down and help put my plan into action. Instead, he started laughing! He said, “Brother Oliver! That will never work! The mail people aren’t going to deliver you to hundreds of different people all over the world! Plus, you know very well that cats, dogs, and other animals should never be given as presents! What kind of message will it send if you arrive at people’s houses wrapped up in a package?”

Henry laughing

Brother Henry didn’t think my idea was very good.

Feeling a little deflated I said, “OK Brother Henry, then how do you suggest I wish all Disciples of Otis a Merry Catsmas?”, to which he replied, “Ummm… how about you just say it in the blog?” I admit, if kitties could blush, I would have. But I felt a little annoyed that Brother Henry was right, so I said, “Yeah, OK, that’s all well and good, but what do you suggest I do with this wrapping paper then? Should it just go to waste?” Brother Henry said, “Hmmm… well, no… I think you should ask Thomas what to do with it. I bet he’ll have a suggestion for you.” So I did ask Thomas… and he did have a suggestion.

Oliver and wrapping paper 3

At Thomas’s suggestion… I am the Wolf Eel

So, Merry Catsmas from the Wolf Eel, and all of the rest of us here at The Cult of Otis. May your day be filled with love, joy, and lots of kitties.

In Otis’s Name

Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

23 Comments

Filed under Holy Days

23 responses to “My Catsmas Surprise Didn’t Pan Out

  1. Merry Catsmas brothers Oliver, Thomas, and Henry! Love Michelle and Leo & Lucy!

  2. Actually, giving a pet for Christmas can be a wonderful idea, but only if it is known and anticipated for. http://www.kittyblog.net/2013/12/should-you-give-kitten-for-christmas.html‎

    I agree, while sending Brother Oliver out isn’t a bad idea – besides, not everyone would agree to return him 🙂

    I wish you all a holiday full of love and laughter and a good dose of mayhem to make it interesting.

  3. We do think Brother Henry’s suggestion is the better one, Brother Oliver. Though we woulda loved to have you come visit us!

    Merry Christmas to all of you! ♥

  4. Well it was a great thought Brother Oliver…Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!

  5. Chris, Monster, Buggy, Bunk and Calico (and a wiener dog)

    Merry Christmas to Brother Henry, Brother Oliver, Sir Thomas and the Guardians from all of us. We’re purring you all have a wonderful day!

  6. Merry Christmas to all of you! Love and hugs and purrs from all of us

  7. Oh my! The dreaded Wolf Eel! Oh, whew, you scared us for a moment… so convincing!

    Merry Catmas to you all from us all!
    Harry, Dexter, Tipp and Willow
    The Cherry City Kitties

  8. Merry Catmas to all and to all, good catnip mice!

  9. I’m sorry your plan didn’t work out, Brother Oliver, but you make a very good Wolf Eel. (Has Thomas been smoking the catnip bananas, by any chance?) Merry Catsmas to you, Henry, Thomas, the Guardians, my fellow Disciples, and to Otis and Mama Cat and all the other kitties who’ve moved on.

  10. We love to imagine you arriving at our house and bursting out of your wrapping paper, yelling ” Merry Catmas!” But it’s probably better to imagine than to actually try it. It can be very annoying when someone like Brother Henry burst your bubble. But at least you get to play in the wrapping paper. That sounds like great fun! Merry Catmas!

  11. Meowy Catmas, Wolf Eel & Family!

    Eat (ham) drink (cream) and Sniff Nip!!

    Love, The Katnip Lounge Kats and Mommy Trish

  12. Leigh

    A Merry Catsmas to all of you as well! 🙂

  13. Merry Christmas to y’all from me and mama.
    Teddy

  14. Sandy

    Although Santa couldn’t do that much magic, the thought of you showing up at my door with holiday greetings and kitty kissy eyes made me smile. Thank you for thinking of us. Merry Catmas to you and your family too!
    p.s. You do an excellent wolf eel!

  15. A very Merry Catsmas to all. A very much appreciated thought on your part Brother Oliver. But spending it with your inner circle would be much more fun than bounced all over the world!

  16. Merry Christmas to you all … 😀

  17. As much as I’d love to meet you, I’m sure your Christmas will be happier warm and safe with your Guardians.

  18. Susan, Shadow and Joey

    Kevin, Julie, Oliver, Henry and Thomas – may you have a blessed Christmas and a less stressful 2014 – Susan, Shadow and Joey
    P.S. Thank you for coming back.
    P.P.S. Brother Oliver can come to visit us any time he wants but we think Brother Henry and Sir Thomas would really miss him while he’s gone.

  19. Wishing you all a wonderful but belated Christmas..hoping the new years sees much more joy and love and laughter for you all..hugs Fozziemum and gang xxxx

  20. msphoebecat

    While mewz plan may not have been very realistic, it was as sweet and loving as mew are Oliver. 💙 My Guardian and I wish such a delivery could be made as to have mew visiting us on Catmas would have been a pawsome and smooch-filled holiday to remember- smooches for mew from my Guardian AND me! 💋💋
    We thank mewz family for sticking around even though we understand this Catmas was a bittersweet one without the Leader and Mama Cat there. Mew all bring us much laughter, joy, and hope. The Leader and Mama Cat may not have been with mew here on Earth, yet we know mew felt their
    presence in spirit watching over those they love the most.

  21. Merry Catmess to ya Brotherz Oliver n Henry n handsum Sir Thomas n yer Hu’Manz Julie n Kevin….just seein ya here waz a bery lubly greetin fer shure!!
    Much Lub frum Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum xxx

  22. Merry Christmas to all of you – and I did love your idea, even if it wasn’t very practical! BOL

Leave a Reply

