Thomas is Nervous About Box Day

Disciples of The Leader Otis,

Brother Henry here. Thomas is really nervous about being the Grand Marshal for Box Day this year. He’s been running all over the house mumbling, “So much to do… must get this right… must make Leader Otis proud!”

Thomas on the move

Thomas has been dashing all around the house mumbling to himself. He is really nervous.

Last night I found him in the living room sitting in a box. He didn’t know I was there at first, and I heard him saying, “Am I doing this right? Is this the proper way to sit a box? I should know how to sit a box if I’m Grand Marshaling Box Day shouldn’t I!?”

Thomas in box

Thomas was sitting in a box last night. He wasn’t sure if he was sitting correctly though.

I walked into the living room and said, “Sir Thomas? Are you Ok?” He must not have seen me enter the room, because when I spoke he jumped and blurted out, “STAY BACK WIENER!!… oh, wait… sorry Brother Henry… what did you say?” I repeated my question and Thomas said, “No Brother Henry. I’m not OK. I’m really nervous about Grand Marshaling Box Day. I mean, I haven’t even sat that many boxes, so how can I do justice to a day that is all about box sitting?”

I looked at Sir Thomas for a moment and then said, “Thomas, you have put in more box sitting time than any of us in the past year and a half. It may not have been a cardboard box, but your hide-hole cubby up in Kitty Valhalla is definitely a box. You hardly ever left that cubby during your first 6 months inside, and you’ve returned to it often in the past year. You are a box sitting expert of the highest order sir knight!”

Thomas in cubby

I pointed out that Thomas’s hidey-hole is essentially a box. He is an expert box sitter.

After hearing this Thomas’s face lit up. He said, “Yeah! That is a box! I DO know what I am doing! Thank you Brother Henry!” And then he ran off toward Kitty Valhalla, presumably to sit in the cubby and bask in his own box sitting expertise.

Many thanks to those of you who have already sent your photos in to Thomas. For those that haven’t, there’s still time. If you send your box sitting photos to cultofotis@gmail.com by 3 pm Pacific time tomorrow, they will be included in the 2013 Box Day catstravaganza. Best of all, you will make Thomas’s day by sending in those photos. I think I have alleviated a little of his nervousness, but your participation will make him feel even better.

So Says Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

14 Comments

Filed under Holy Days

14 responses to “Thomas is Nervous About Box Day

  1. Susan M

    I can’t wait for Box Day! It’s my new favorite holiday 🙂

  2. Oh, darling Thomas, of course you want to make Otis proud. We all want to make Otis proud. And I’m sure you’ll do a grand Grand Marshal job now that Henry has relieved your anxiety about your box-sitting experience. Good job there, Brother Henry.

  3. Oh, boy — I can’t wait! 😀

  4. Thomas, when it comes to box sitting, you’re a natural. We know Box Day will be great.

  5. Just sent in my photos Sir Thomas…I had to edit to get the kid and me in the same photo…I don’t like her within 15 feet of me for now…hope the photo is OK

  6. Poor sir Thomas, every cat has the ability to box sit. 🙂

  7. Oh boy. I just sent in some pics. I sure hope I did it right. Sorry that one is a little blurry. Couldn’t get him to sit still long enough. Will have to send a separate message to tell who is who as I hit send before thinking. 😦 Sir Thomas, I’m sure you will be a great Grand Marshall as you are a very talented box sitter!

  8. mistletoeandhitch

    We love Box Day and are sure Sir Thomas will be a wonderful Grand Marshall. We think that Leader Otis is always proud of Thomas. As Thomas grows more and more trusting while embracing life in the Promise Land he is living the lesson Leader Otis spent his life teaching.

    We cannot wait to see all the other members of the Cult of Otis sitting their boxes on Box Day!

  9. Batya Harlow

    Thomas, you’re a natural at box-sitting. Do not worry! And Brother Henry, you’re a natural at confidence building. I’m sure Leader Otis is proud of both of you. And I’ll bet that Brother Oliver will take outstanding photos of the celebration. Holidays are sadder this year without the physical presence of Leader Otis and Mama Cat, but their Spirits are shining all around. Happy Box Day from Trout and Kismet (and me). ♥♥♥

  10. I am sure you will do a brilliant job sir Thomas, I hope you all have a brilliant Christmas!

  11. There is no wrong way to sit in a box 🙂 But there is a way to sit in a box that will make humans laugh at you, which you may or may not want. For example, a very large kitty overflowing from a tiny box 😀

  12. Oh we just know you are going to rock it, Sir Thomas! We just send you our Box Day pics!

  13. Pingback: Thomas is Nervous About Box Day | Catgurl40's Blog

  14. We just submitted our entry, and we want you to know that anyway you choose to sit in a box is good. Just do it! Merry and happy!!!

Leave a Reply

