I’m A Helper

Disciples of The Leader Otis,

Brother Henry here. As Brother Oliver mentioned a few days ago, he has been doing his best to comfort the Guardians as they recover from the loss of Leader Otis and Mama Cat. He also mentioned that he sometimes calls me in for backup, but I wanted to make sure you knew that I am not just sitting around waiting for Brother Oliver’s call. I am also taking the initiative to jump in and comfort the Guardians whenever the opportunity arises. For instance, one of the Guardians sat down on the couch just last night, and I immediately jumped up on her lap to comfort her with my presence.

Bookworm Henry 1

The Guardian needed comfort and I was there for her.

That’s just the kind of cat I am. I’m a helper. I see where I am needed and I immediately go there. I could tell the Guardian appreciated my comforting presence because she smooched me right on the face!

Bookworm Henry 2

The Guardian appreciated my comforting presence so much she smooched me!

So don’t let Brother Oliver fool you into thinking he’s providing most of the kitty comfort around here. I can assure you that The Muscle of The Cult of Otis is also on the job!

In Otis’s Name,

Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Zazzle Store

Stickers, T-shirts, tote bags and more at the Cult of Otis Zazzle store!

22 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

22 responses to “I’m A Helper

  1. Who knew 17 pounds of tabby fury could be so snuggly? Thank you for caring for the Guardians. You are good boys.

  2. CindyD

    I’m sure you comfort them…but I’m thinking you might need a bit of comfort, too. In times of loss, we all need comfort. Stay strong, Brother Henry and all.

  3. we have no doubt you are lots of help and comfort! 🙂

  4. Heavy, very heavy. Henry you have a perfect sense of timing and compassion

  5. mistletoeandhitch

    We never doubted you for a moment, Brother Henry. We are sure that your combination of protection and affection are a very powerful duo and very much appreciated by both the Guardians and all the rest of us missing Leader Otis & Mama Cat.

  6. I am so happy that you are continuing your blog. Losing a pet is tough and losing two so close together is crippling emotionally. You have my sympathies.

    I have come to view our pets as little furry Time Capsules. How many times do we speak of “the time that—”, or “remember when—”? I know that I make numerous mental check marks of periods in my life based on what one or more of the cats was doing at that particular time.

    The end result, for me, is a visual quilt of memories—happy and sad at times—of this thing we call life. All in all, it is a wonderful newsreel to playback in my mind and a chance to be grateful for the opportunity to love a creature that spent its time on Earth with me.

    Allan

  7. I had no doubt Brother Henry, I know you are all doing everything you can. We’re sending purrs to all of you.

  8. Otis and Mama Cat are rooting you on!

  9. If there’s a lap in need, I know you’ll jump on it, Brother Henry. And of course your presence is much more important (and comforting) than that paper thing the Guardian was trying to look at. Please keep up the good work.

  10. We never doubted your level of committment for a moment…

  11. We know it’s a joint effort, Henry. 🙂

  12. Sandy

    Brother Henry – you are definitely pulling your (substantial) weight – there was never any doubt. Sending you all purrs and gentle reassurance and support.

  13. You are much more comforting than a silly old inanimate book. You’ll never see a guardian smooching one of those things!! I’m positive your efforts are greatly appreciated. Keep up the good work! Luv, luk and lafter to all.

  14. Brother Henry, you were a great bookmark for The Guardian’s book. A sweet source of comfort, too.

  15. Those paper things sometimes work like a kitty summoning device 🙂 but we’d rather have a kitty snuggle anyway.

  16. Henry you are doing a fantastic job xx

  17. Despite your undisputed status as the muscle, you always manage to prove that deep inside you’re really an affectionate sweetheart and devoted lap cat.

  18. Brother Henry ya iz a sweet kitteh boy to take such guud care of da Guardianz….nuffin wrong wif bein tuff n tender too!!
    Reegardz to Brother Oliver n Sir Thomas n yer Hu’Manz frum Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum too xoxo

  19. The guardians are very lucky that they have you!

Leave a Reply

