The Queen Was Confused

People and fur people who like The Leader… wait… Brother Oliver told me that I’ve been doing this wrong. Let me start again.

People and fur people who are Disciples of Otis,

It’s Thomas. I do not know why, but ever since The Leader departed I have felt like I need to be a little bit closer to the Guardians. I have stopped running under the couch every time they walk by, and I have even begun to lounge out in the open when they are in the living room. Like I said, I do not know why I feel like this, but I do. Maybe I am being moved by the spirit of Leader Otis…

I just feel like doing this now. Maybe Leader Otis is helping me!

I just feel like doing this now. Maybe Leader Otis is helping me!

Anyway, the other day, I was standing at the top of the stairs when I heard one of the Guardians approaching. In the past, I would have run away, but for some reason I did not feel like running. I just stood at the top of the stairs and waited, but I have to admit I did not expect to see what I saw coming up the stairs!

Guardian, Mama, and Oliver

I did not expect to see this!

The Guardian was coming up the stairs with Her Majesty The Queen on one shoulder and Brother Oliver on the other! I was shocked! Her Majesty has very little tolerance for any of us lesser cats coming within ten feet of Her, but there She was squished up against Brother O! I could not believe what I was seeing. I retreated a few steps but turned back around to look as the Guardian entered the kitchen. Now Brother Oliver was looking over at Her Majesty. He looked as amazed as I was.

Guardian, Mama Cat, Oliver

The Guardian entered the kitchen, still carrying both Her Majesty and Brother Oliver.

The Guardian turned around and I, being as shadow, snuck in closer. I whispered, “Your Majesty! What are you doing!? Why are you not upset that you are squished up against Brother Oliver like that?” Her Majesty replied, “What are you talking about Sir Thomas? I… I didn’t get a good look when the Guardian scooped Me up, but I could clearly feel that she was carrying an overstuffed pillow on her other arm! Do you mean to say that Brother Oliver is on the pillow or something?” I said, “Ummmm… no… uhhhh… Your Majesty… I mean to say that Brother Oliver is the pillow.”

Her Majesty’s response was immediate. She said, “We are not amused!” and then began to try to squirm out of the Guardian’s arms. From the look on Brother Oliver’s face, I think that he also was not amused.

Mama Cat wants down

Her Majesty was not amused.

After successfully breaking free from the Guardian, Her Majesty The Queen Mama Cat jumped down to the floor and ran off down the hallway. After she disappeared, I looked up to find Brother Oliver staring at me with a very disapproving look. He said, “I am an overstuffed pillow, Sir Thomas?” Before I even knew I was saying it, I replied, “Well Brother Oliver, if the butt fits… wear it…” And then I quickly headed off to locate and protect The Queen.

Thomas Out

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

25 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

25 responses to “The Queen Was Confused

  1. Well, Sir Thomas, we fail to see why Brother Oliver would be offended. He has always held the position as Leader Otis’s favorite pillow, so it is obvious that Her Highness, Mama Cat, recognizes his pillowy greatness. Perhaps someday Mama Cat will allow him to cradle her weary head on his wonderful, pillow-like butt. No cat can ever be sure where their greatness will lay. Brother Oliver’s greatness seems to follow him wherever he goes.

  2. How wonderful for Mama Cat to be so relaxed with the Guardian and Brother Oliver even if it didn’t last long. Selleck and His Person, Emily.

  3. Amused or not they where like 10 inches from each other 🙂

  4. Aww, I can see that the guardian was happy to have two arms full of kitty. I wonder how long they would have stayed that way if you hadn’t given it away, Thomas? Hmm, perhaps she’ll, one day, seek out that ‘pillow’ for naps, won’t that be awesome?

  5. Oh sir Thomas.. *giggles* poor brother oliver.. there’s nothing wrong with being a pillow. That means others like to lay with you and want them near you. Congrats to her majesty the queen for allowing the guardian to pick her up and congrats sir Thomas to being more outgoing. 🙂

  6. It’s wonderful that the Leader’s spirit is inspiring you to lie out in the open more often, Sir Thomas. You look very gallant on the posing block. Maybe Otis also inspired Mama Cat to test Brother Oliver’s pillow-like qualities? Someone should take advantage of his softness and warmth! P.S. Your smaller Guardian has a beautiful smile.

  7. So close…..and yet not quite 🙂

  8. Chris Jones

    What great pictures, you are all such beautiful cats! I’m glad you’re staying out in the open and not running away as much Thomas, since it allows us all to see you in all your glory more easily!

  9. Well, it appears it didn’t take long for Mama Cat to become unconfused!

    Thomas, we’re glad you’re feeling more comfortable now. We think the Leader’s spirit is helping you.

  10. The Guardian is getting quite the workout hoisting that much kitty. I’m glad they are making progress and the Guardian didn’t lose any skin in this ongoing peace summit.

  11. Bravo Sir Thomas on your transition to being more outgoing. Bravo Mama Cat for not losing your stuff upon realizing it was no ordinary pillow and creating what could have been a painful situation for the Guardian. To simply squirm out of her arms and leave is a major step I feel. Bravo Brother Oliver for not letting on it was you and not a pillow Mama Cat was up against. And personally, I prefer my ‘pillows’ with more stuffing than most. 😀 I agree that Dear Leader Otis is still influencing all of the Cult.

  12. Dynamics changing sweet friend baby steps but giant at the same time 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

  13. The female guardian must be really buff to carry those two at once!

  14. Chris, Monster, Buggy, Bunk and Calico (and a wiener dog)

    That’s 17 furious pounds of tabby pillow there! Seriously, it’s good to see a smile on the Guardian.

  15. Wow, what an armful of fur! 🙂

  16. Leigh

    Her Majesty The Queen is such a beautiful girl!

  17. Heather

    I bet Brother Henry was soooo jealous as he’d love to snuggle up to Mama Cat. I wonder if Brother Oliver is holding that over his head.

    I’m thankful that the blog is still going strong. It is one of my favorites.

  18. Your Guardian has completed a difficult feat, and she seems pretty happy about it. I hope Mama and Oliver are learning to get along better.

  19. Ms. Phoebe

    I KNOW the Leader’s spirit is working to help mew feel more at ease out in the open Sir Thomas, and to help my fellow Queen and Mama Cat learn to trust mew mancats. I am sorry Brother Oliver that mew were not amused being compared to an overstuffed pillow, as I can sympathize being a curvy ladycat of 18 lbs. I am often rudely referred to as ‘fat’ by some humans who visit my house, so being compared to an overstuffed pillow isn’t so bad- pillows are soft and floofy. I love responding to those who call me fat with a quote from a wise ladycat I know: ‘I’m not fat, I’m floofy.’ MOL!

  20. MOL overstuffed pillow if the butt fits. We loves it. ~Alasandra, The Cats & Dogs

  21. That was so lovely to see, and hurray that you are feeling you can lounge about more. The spirit of Otis is really helping you guy!

  22. Oh wow Mama Cat this is a huge step forward in trust AMAZING to see so soon xxx Really good news we was to read today. We are having a bad day with Oscar 😦 waiting to pick him up from vets x

  23. Pingback: The Queen Was Confused | Catgurl40's Blog

Leave a Reply

