Brother Henry’s Gamble

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Henry here. I’m doing it! I’m actually doing it! Sure, I’ve been here before, but this time things are going to be different!

Brother Henry's Gamble 1

Check it out. I’m here, she’s there. Everything’s cool. I think that must mean we are officially friends now!

Brother Henry's Gamble 2

Yes! Yes! Yes! I knew this day would come. Me and Mama Cat… sharing the Super Outpost Tabby Tower. No tension, just good times.

Brother Henry's Gamble 3

Oh my gosh! Is she? Yes! She’s grooming, isn’t she!? She must be totally cool with me being down here if she’s that relaxed. I knew it. This is awesome!

Brother Henry's Gamble 4

I think I’ll just take a quick peek to see what’s going on up there. Nice! She’s resting again. She’s only two feet away but she is totally OK with me. Brother Oliver said that climbing up here with her would be a gamble, but now I can tell him he was completely wrong!

Brother Henry's Gamble 5

Uh-oh. She looked down. Let’s see… Brother Oliver said I should avert my eyes so as not to make her angry. I’m not looking at her… I’m not looking at her… Is she still looking at me? I better check.

Brother Henry's Gamble 6

Oh crap! Ummmmm… what should I do!? I know… “Uhhhh, Hi Mama Cat!” Nope! Now she’s growling. Bad idea! BAD IDEA!

Brother Henry's Gamble 7

OK Henry… keep it together. Maybe I just need to avert my eyes even more. I’m not looking at her… I’m not looking at her. WHY IS SHE STILL GROWLING!?

Brother Henry's Gamble 8

Oh man! Oh man! Oh man! Make it stop! I just want to be friends! Wait, why am I scared? I’m 17 pounds of tabby fury! She’s, what, 8 pounds at the most? Yeah! I’m the bigger cat here! I’ll stand up to her! I’ll show her who’s boss! I’ll…RETREAT!!!!!!

Brother Henry's Gamble 9

There… she’s stopped growling. I think I made the right choice.

Disciples of Otis, if Brother Oliver asks, please tell him I got down from the Tabby Tower because I needed a snack. It’s bad enough knowing he was right. It would be far worse if he knows it too.

So Says Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

16 responses to “Brother Henry’s Gamble

  1. Wow that is one bushy tale 🙂 Well done Henry you are doing a grand job with Mama xxx

  2. Well Henry, I’d say growling is a good step forward. At least there was no hissing, swatting, or running for cover. I tend to think growling is kind of a grumpy hello when my Bella growls at her brother. But retreat was probably a wise choice.

  3. Brother Henry, you’re doing a great job, just keep taking it slow and easy.

  4. Brother Henry, three cheers for you!!!! Keep trying, Mama Cat will one day ignore you and you will be safe on her presence. However, you might want to invest in some Kevlar just in case..aw pats, Savannah

  5. we give you lots of points for trying…and hey – it was progress – even if you had to leave for a snack 🙂

  6. Dear Brother Henry, sometimes discrecion is the better part of valor, at least she didn’t attack you in a frenzy. selleck and His Person, Emily. 🙂

  7. Poor Brother Henry. Even after 5 years I growl at the boy cats. Pumpkin & Tiger never do anything to bother me but the world without walls taught hard lessons that I cannot leave behind. Oddly, I’m closer to Hitch, who stalks me and chases me through the house. I just growl to remind them that I may be only 6 pounds to their 18, but in a fight their going to walk away wounded. Oh course, i’ve never actually had to fight any of my boy cats. The growls have always been enough. Try not to take it so personally, Brother Henry.

  8. *giggles* sorry brother oliver, womancats are very sensitive. Maybe you can get some tips from sir Thomas on how to be friends with a limbo cat. Just dont mention Weiner dogs.

  9. Sweet Brother Henry ya iz so guud to try to bee furendz wif Momma Kat…me thought diz time she wuud bee ok….RATZ!!! Ya DID get to spend sum time wif her on da Outpost tower which iz sumfing guud right?? Kitten stepz will make da way fer Momma Kat to get more n more used to ya…WE stick wif yer story Brother Henry altho ya was bery wise to reetreet n dat showed GRRRRRREAT concern n care fer Momma Kat!! May bee ya shuud tell Brother Oliver he waz only a bit right?? 😉
    Lub Nylablue n Sherriellen xoxoxoxoxoxo

  10. Batya Harlow

    Brother Henry, you are so wonderful! I’m sure that growling you heard was your stomach, so of course you had to leave the tower in search of food to stop the growling. Brother Oliver NEVER needs to know any more than that.

  11. Brother Henry, actually, we think that was pretty good. She didn’t try to swat you at least! 🙂

  12. Love the camera angles in this post! We’ve been through similar scenarios with Priestess Jen and Miss P. many times (most often at the patio door, which Jenny insists is hers when it’s open).

  13. Brother Henry! I think it IS working! You were there quite a while weren’t you? Just keep at it, eventually she’ll get the idea that her growls are for nothing.

  14. Look how close you got, I am so pleased that you two are slowly getting closer!

  15. Pingback: Tabby Tower Takeover | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

