Pushing Mama’s Boundaries Part III: Resolution

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. When we left off yesterday, Mama Cat told me that she had trouble trusting mancats because of the way she was constantly attacked by them while she was in Limbo. I was doing my best to convince her that times had changed, and that she no longer needed to worry now that she was in The Promised Land. She was understandably hard to convince, so I decided to use actions rather than words.

Mama Cat and Oliver interaction 11

I jumped up onto the upper level of the cat tree and sat facing away from Mama. I said, “Mama Cat, I’m just going to sit here and do nothing while you come out of that corner and go wherever you want. I will not chase you. I will not attack you. I will not even look at you. I swear this is the truth. Please trust me.”

Mama Cat and Oliver interaction 12

For a moment, there was nothing but silence. Then I heard Mama Cat walk across the bench and jump down.

Mama Cat and Oliver interaction 13

I was so excited that Mama had trusted me I turned my head and said, “See Mama! I told you that nothing bad would happen! Things are different now. Do you see that!?” Then I realized my mistake.

Mama Cat ran out of the room yelling, “YOU SAID YOU WOULDN’T LOOK AT ME BROTHER OLIVER! AND THEN YOU LOOKED AT ME! HOW CAN Β I TRUST YOU IF YOU DON’T KEEP YOUR WORD!”

I let out a deep sigh, and then I heard a voice say, “A valiant effort, Brother Oliver, but methinks M’Lady is best admired from a distance…” I said, “Sir Thomas? Is that you?”, but there was no answer… only silence. I decided to nap on what had just happened, but I resolved not to give up until Mama Cat finally faces her inner demons and puts them to rest once and for all.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

 

16 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

16 responses to “Pushing Mama’s Boundaries Part III: Resolution

  1. Next time, Brother Oliver, you might try something like, “I’m sorry, Mama Cat, I’m only looking at you because you’re beautiful. You can be admired and still be safe.” You never know, it might work.

  2. mistletoeandhitch

    Poor Brother Oliver. Mama Cat is just too panicked to accept your normal curiosity. Of course you looked. You needed to see if what you were hearing was true. Once Mama Cat calms down perhaps you can remind her that even though you made a mistake and looked when you had promised you wouldn’t, nothing bad happen. Maybe you can point out that even when mistakes are made, and they will be because no cat is perfect, she will still be safe…..no matter what. Even if SHE is the one who makes an error, she’s in the Promise Land where mistakes are forgiven. We think you’ve done a wonderful job illustrating how the Promise Land works, Brother Oliver. Bravo.
    Purrs
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

  3. we are very glad you are being to loving and patient with her – we know she will learn over time. πŸ™‚

  4. How did I know this would happen?

  5. Patience, Oliver, patience. A lady can’t be rushed into trusting! Look how long it took Thomas! I think Momma Cat is actually trusting faster, no?

  6. Ms. Phoebe

    Keep the faith Brother Oliver, she will come around. Mew are a sweetheart, just show her mewz patience and mew will earn her trust and love.

  7. Maybe after about the 50th time of you just sitting and not chasing Mama Cat, she’ll get the message. Old habits are tough to break, Brother Oliver. Don’t give up.

  8. So close!! You are so lovely and winning so many hearts with all your efforts!!

  9. RATZ Brother Oliver…fingz were goin so well n all!! Poor Momma Kat shure getz upset eazy doezn’t she?? It iz guud ya did not go after her……diz iz gonna take sum time butt me n Mum finkz ya iz up fer da challenge n ya will help her to trust again….
    Nylablue n Sherriellen xoxo

Leave a Reply

