Defusing Mama Cat

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. I have figured it out! I now know how defuse tense situations with our new, sassy sister Mama Cat! You see, yesterday I was sitting on the living room floor taking care of some personal hygiene needs. I didn’t know it at the time, but Mama Cat was sitting just six feet away behind the curtain on the cat tree in the window.

Oliver and Mama Cat interaction 1

I was on the living room floor taking care of some business. I had no idea Mama was nearby.

Suddenly, Mama Cat popped out from behind the curtain and jumped down. I don’t think she saw me before she jumped, but as soon as she landed we were face to face. That’s when the hissy fit began.

Oliver and Mama Cat interaction 2

Mama jumped down and landed right in front of me. She went right into hissy fit mode.

Now, when Brother Henry ends up in these situations, he totally focuses on Mama. This seems to elevate the situation from tense to outright hostile, and she sometimes brings out her claws. I decided that I would do the opposite. I sat still and averted my eyes, totally ignoring the fit Mama was throwing.

Oliver and Mama Cat interaction 3

I averted my eyes from Mama as she threw her hissy fit.

Mama Cat didn’t know what to do with my reaction. She looked at me for a second longer, and then averted her own eyes. She looked both puzzled and annoyed, but she stopped hissing.

Oliver and Mama Cat interaction 4

Mama cat looked away when I didn’t react. She looked confused and annoyed.

Next, Mama Cat simply left. She jumped up on the cat tree with drawers by the window and wandered over to Super Outpost Tabby Tower for a nap. When she was a safe distance away, I turned to watch her go, amazed that my plan had worked.

Oliver and Mama Cat interaction 5

When Mama Cat had reached a safe distance, I watched her go.

So apparently, all I have to do when things get tense is look away and do nothing. Now if only I can somehow teach Brother Henry to do the same. Unfortunately, I think that is easier said than done.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

28 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

28 responses to “Defusing Mama Cat

  1. Chris, Buggy, Bunk, Monster and Sausage

    I just don’t understand how Mama Cat can be hostile to such a handsome fella as yourself, Brother Oliver. But keep up the good work!

  2. Gotta love Mama’s attitude πŸ™‚

  3. that is a good idea…good luck with Brother Henry though

  4. That fourth picture is just wow.

  5. Less patient Guardians would have given Mama Cat to a shelter by now. I love it that you’re all hanging in there, Guardians and kitties alike, giving her time to get used to living in safe confinement. One of these days Mama Cat will realize the benefits of having a Leader, a Knight, and two Brothers, all ready to defend her if the Long Feared Dog Uprising ever comes to pass (perish the thought!).

  6. Even if she doesn’t, the Guardians seem to have a system to keep us all safe and happy. The worst that happens is the occasional hissy fit like this one. The Guardians always make sure it doesn’t escalate beyond that, and Mama Cat sleeps in her own secure safe-safe room at night. πŸ™‚
    – Brother Oliver

  7. A simple plan with outstanding results. RIght now having a safe-safe room at night for Mama will help her until she works out the puzzle. Nice look on her face – progress!

  8. Oliver, you are such a smart kitty! That is exactly what you should do…divert your eyes away from Mama Cat. I wish somecat would teach this to Wally and Zoey…since they are like Mama Cat and Brother Henry…and don’t get along.

    Island Cats’ mom

  9. Mamma cat does look “puzzled and annoyed” there, and super cute! I want to pet her!

  10. Apawz Brother Oliver…ya shure iz a BERY clever kitteh!!! Momma Kat musta reeazlized she cuud not start a fight or get ya riled up…me finkz diz iz a guud plan. If Brother Henry can do diz Momma Kat will have no reeson to reeact….pawz crossed right???
    Nylablue xo

  11. They don’t call you the brains for nothing, Oliver.

  12. Way to go brother oliver! Maybe you should practice with brother henry. You can pretend to be mama cat and he can learn to look away. I wonder if this would work on hostile people too?

    • Brother Henry definitely needs the practice, PLEW. He actually bopped Mama on the head this morning! Fortunately, the Guardians were right there to intervene so nothing got hurt other than Mama’s pride. She recovered quickly when they snuggled her. I gave Brother Henry a quick nip on the backside just to show him my disapproval! – Brother Oliver

  13. Well done Brother Oliver! what a wise move ..difuse and not react..perhaps you could teach some humans this skill!! Hugs Fozziemum x

  14. Pingback: Pushing Mama’s Boundaries Part I: Instigation | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

