I Decided Against It

Disciples of The Leader Otis,

Brother Henry here. After Brother Oliver talked to me and reminded me how long it took for Sir Thomas to see us as friends, I got all excited and ran back inside to redouble my efforts with Mama Cat. When I arrived in the living room though, this is what I saw.

Mama Cat says no

This is what I saw when I entered the living room.

Soooooo, I don’t really have much experience sharing space with lady cats, and I couldn’t quite figure out what her expression and posture were telling me. I mean, her ears were forward and all, which usually is a good sign, but her tail was twitching. Her eyes were also very hard to decipher, but I thought I could sense a little bit of… I don’t know… something in them. The way she had her right paw forward was puzzling as well. Maybe she was just being casual, or maybe she was getting ready to whack any kitty that came too close.

Whatever was going on, I decided against approaching Mama Cat. I just got the heck out of there instead. I figured I would try again when she seemed a little less… ambiguous, I guess. Oh, and when I headed back out the The Leader’s Outdoor Domain, Thomas had joined Brother Oliver out there. For some reason, they were both laughing.

So Says Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

32 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

32 responses to “I Decided Against It

  1. Nijinsky Cat

    Well played, Brother.

  2. She really is a beauty, and looking so cared-for and healthy now that she’s under the protection of the Guardians. Still, Brother Henry, I think you’re right to give her a bit more time. Her eyes (now 100% grass-seed free!) have a rather challenging expression in them.

  3. Probably a good idea Brother Henry. I agree with RhiannonPaine, she is beautiful, but she does look like she wants some space.

  4. Since we Mencats live with SIX wimmens, we strongly advise patience…

  5. mistletoeandhitch

    When in doubt, bow and get out. That’s advice Hitch has never taken. We think Mama Cat looks as if she’s offering a friendly dare. Kind of like she’s testing you, Brother Henry. Perhaps trying to judge if you lead with your brains or your brawn. In a rare occurrence, Hitch and I agree that if we are correct in reading Mama Cat’s expression you, Brother Henry, passed this test with flying colors. Bravo, sir, bravo!
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

  6. Simon's Mom

    A twitching tail and a smacky paw at the ready is generally not a good sign! Then again, she did have her other paw folded under her pretty comfortably, so I can understand how you might have been a little confused as to her intentions. Sometimes, a dignified retreat is the best answer… Perhaps with a polite “Excuse me, m’lady. I did not mean to interrupt you.” next time so she’ll know you’re a gentleman cat πŸ˜‰

  7. I can’t give you any advise here. The only experience I have with females is with my mama and my vet. I can’t figure either one of them out at all and they are simple human creatures not cats. You are on your own, Brother Henry.
    Teddy

  8. Well done, Brother Henry. Game on!

  9. Um, we think that was a smart move…for now, Brother Henry. πŸ˜‰

  10. Batya Harlow

    Brother Henry: As Shakespeare said, “The better part of valor is discretion.” You are wise to wait.

  11. Oh Henry, I think you made the right choice. Although I don’t think she looked mad, she probably wasn’t looking for close company. Perhaps some ‘distant’ company, just be in the same room?
    on a side note, isn’t Momma pretty! I love her slightly crossed eyes and fluffy orange furs! The nick in her ear makes me sad though, a sad commentary on life outside. Perhaps it’s a reminder to us that this is why we keep our kitties safely confined. “No more ragged ears!” could be a rallying cry!

    • She is very pretty, Andrea! Brother Oliver says her prettiness compliments the handsomeness of all of us mancats very well. πŸ™‚

      Mama’s rallying cry could be “No more ragged ears! No more grass in eyes!” – Brother Henry

  12. Oh Brother Henry..wise move she was sizing you up! but my what a beautiful transpawmation she has had..bright eyes,fur soft and fluffy..she even seems younger ..and her posture (though clearly not to sure about her next move) still seems more at peace..bless your whole family you have turned a fraught and stressed cat into a relaxed and healthy family member!
    Hugs Hugs to you all and special hugs for sweet Brother Otis who is always in our thoughts Fozziemum x

  13. In my experience Lady cats have a bigger need for personal space and often for a “home base” that they want to keep safe for kittening, even if they can’t have kittens. Boy cats might rumble when they bump into each ofther, ladies seem to define their own turf to a greater degree.

    • She definitely needs a home base, Oldcat, and the Guardians have provided it in the form of our office and adjacent bathroom. It is Mama’s retreat from the rest of us when she is feeling overwhelmed. She really likes it in there! πŸ™‚ – Brother Henry

      • When my lady cat Calla came to join the 2 boys she had her room, then she came out and spent a few days chasing the boys out of her room or the rooms around it. Soon though she got over that although sometimes she picks a hidey-hole and hangs out in it for a bit.

        She still has a bit of a personal space bubble, a few inches.

  14. Mama cat will come round and you will be best friends x

  15. Brother Henry dat gurl waz just waitin fer one of ya to get too close so she cuud WHAP ya guud!!! Ya did da right fing….twitchin tail iz not a guud fing no matter what da pawz n eyez are sayin…..trust me!!!!
    Nylablue xo

Leave a Reply

