I Was Only Trying To Help

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. When we left off yesterday, I was just leaving Kitty Valhalla after My unsuccessful attempt to get either Leader Otis or Sir Thomas to open the smelly mystery package addressed to Brother Henry. I decided to take the package back down to the living room where I would open it myself. When I reached the living room though, I was overcome with the urge to rub my face all over the box. I just couldn’t help it. That stink was so intoxicating!

Oliver rubbing face on box again

I was intoxicated by the stink. I had to rub my face on the box.

As the stench vapors penetrated into my very soul, I fell over on my side next to the box. It was at that moment that Brother Henry entered the room. I heard him say, “Brother Oliver? What are you doing over there?” I thought, “Uh-oh.”

Henry spots Oliver with package.

Uh-oh.

As Brother Henry arrived at the package and began to sniff it I said, “Oh, this? It’s ummmm… It’s a package, Brother Henry. It came in the mail from our friends at Katnip Lounge! Pretty exciting, huh?”

Brother Henry arrives and sniffs.

I tried to be cool. I told Brother H that the package came in the mail.

Brother Henry said, “Hmmmm… Katnip Lounge. I think I remember them saying they were going to send me something that was stinky like feet. Woah. This certainly fits that description!” Excitedly, and without thinking it through, I said, “Yes, Brother Henry! This package is addressed to you!”

Henry pondering smell.

Brother Henry thought the package might be the stinky-feet like stuff Katnip Lounge was sending. I told him he was right.

Then Brother Henry said, “Wait a minute… Brother Oliver? Why is the package all damaged? Hmmmm… have you been trying to open MY package?”

Brother Henry takes a closer look.

Brother Henry asked if I had tried to open his package.

I tried to remain calm, cool and collected as I said, “Why, Brother Henry! How could you accuse me of such a thing? Clearly the package has your name on it. Why would I try to open your package?” I saw him looking at the tooth holes and I said, “Oh, those holes? That was Leader Otis. You don’t mind that HE tried to open your package do you? I couldn’t care less what is in the package. In fact, It doesn’t matter to me one bit whether you open it or not. Nope. Not one bit.” Brother Henry looked at me for a moment, and then he said, “OK then. I won’t open it. I need a bath anyway, so if you will please excuse me, Brother Oliver…” He then began to bathe.

Henry Bathing next to package

Brother Henry said he wasn’t going to open the package. He started to bathe.

I sat in silence for a moment before saying, “Not that I care at all, but don’t you think you should at least see what is inside the package, Brother Henry? I mean, it was a gift. It would be rude not to open it, right?” Brother Henry continued to bathe. He repositioned himself and said, “I’m taking care of some important business here Brother Oliver. The package will still be here if I feel like opening it later…”

Brother Henry taking care of business

Brother Henry said he was taking care of important business so he didn’t have time to open the package.

Since Brother Henry was busy, I thought I should try to open the package for him. I mean, that seemed like the helpful thing to do, right? So I walked over to the package, but just as I was about to try to tear it open Brother Henry sat up and said, “Brother Oliver? What are you doing?”

Brother Henry asks Oliver what he is doing

I decided to try to open the package myself, but Brother Henry asked what I was doing.

I tentatively began to sniff at the edge of the box as I said, “Well…umm… since you’re busy and all, Brother Henry, I thought I could… you know… help you out by opening the box for you. Wouldn’t you like me to do that?” Brother Henry said, “Not really, Brother Oliver…”

Brother Oliver thinking about opening the package

Brother Henry didn’t seem to appreciate my offer of assistance.

At this point, I’m not exactly sure what I was thinking. I think I must have been completely intoxicated by the smell coming out of that box, because what I did next was, shall we say, unwise. You see, I hit Brother Henry. And I don’t mean I just gave him a joking, playful, brotherly tap. I hit him hard… right in the face. The force of it surprised even me.

Oliver hitting Henry

I don’t know what came over me, but I bopped Brother Henry a good one.

Any other kitty probably would have been floored by my mighty blow, but this is Brother Henry we are talking about here. He was not floored. He was not even stunned. He looked at me with his steeliest gaze, and slowly raised his left forepaw. I tried to stare back, but all I could think was, “Oh crap…”

Henry unfazed

Brother Henry was neither floored nor amused by my attack.

Suddenly, Brother Henry’s paw shot toward me. I was so hyped up that I was ready for it, and I ducked as that paw passed overhead.

Henry takes a swipe

I ducked as Brother Henry’s mighty paw passed overhead.

Unfortunately, Brother Henry was only using the paw as a distraction. As I ducked down, he did this crazy roll toward me. As he spun around, he performed a mighty rabbit kick with both of his back legs. They caught me in the gut and sent me sprawling.

Henry rabbit kick

Brother Henry rolled toward me and rabbit kicked me in the gut.

As I dropped to the ground in a heap, Brother Henry laid down next to the stinky package and began to sniff deeply of its vapors. I dared not make another attempt to approach. Fortunately, the Guardians soon entered the room and took control of both the package and the situation in general.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

 

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

25 responses to “I Was Only Trying To Help

  1. mistletoeandhitch

    Oh Please! Somecat open the wonderful, amazing, better than stinky shoes package from Katnip Lounge! The suspense is starting to damage Brother Oliver’s decision making capabilities! He smacked Brother Henry upside the head without having a plan of escape. Hopefully, Brother Henry will be as infatuated with smell as Brother Oliver and peace will reign in the Cult of Otis once more. Just, please, open the box!
    Purring on the edge of our seat
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

  2. Whoa…first “fight” I’ve seen. Will someone open that package up already! LOL

  3. emilykarn

    Spats happen in every cat family, at least you had a reason. Please, open the package! Bandit, Selleck, and Their Person, Emily.

  4. How can you guys wait? OMC, we’d have started WWIII by now!

  5. And I thought the Cult of Otis was a Kitty City of Brotherly Love! Well, I guess it is most of the time, but not when odoriferous packages from Katnip Lounge are lying around waiting to be opened.

  6. Veleriana is no good thing !
    It´s just start catfight´s !!

  7. OMC! That package is reeking havoc in the house. Open it before all “h-e-double hockey sticks” breaks loose!

  8. Your photos are so amazing. The expressions you get! Either the cats are natural actors or you are a master photographer. Such talent.

  9. Guess they didn’t waste much time hissing!

  10. Oh dear this package is causing a kerfuffle! best be careful lads that the guardians don’t claim it for themselves!! this episode reminds me of our girls and the Catnip wars of 2012….bad times..heheheh 🙂 Hugs Fozziemum xx

  11. Brother Oliver…what WAZ ya finkin kitteh?? ya are bery lucky Brother Henry ONLY bunny kicked ya!!! Me hopez da Guardianz keep da package safe n make shure Brother Henry getz to see what iz inside ferst!!! Ya bettur apaulogize to Brother henry n smooth da ruffled fur over….Leader Otis will NOT bee amused me finkz!!!
    Guud luck gettin outta trubble…
    Nylablue n SherriEllen

Leave a Reply

