1,000

My Disciples,

I can hardly believe it. This post is number 1,000 for The Blog of Otis. I admit we got off to a bit of a slow start back in April of 2010. There is a steep learning curve for us kitties when it comes to blogging. In December 2010 though, I told My Inner Circle that we needed to start providing daily updates to inspire current Disciples and recruit new ones. After all, the kitties in The Shadows and in Limbo weren’t going to save themselves! They needed humans to take notice and act. We needed to spread The Good WordΒ to the ears that needed to hear it. We needed to do thisΒ not by yelling at people, but by leading by example. And I sincerely hope that we have been succeeding.

Otis serious face

1,000! I can hardly believe it!

For this 1,000 post milestone, I had considered including a list of the posts that Thomas, The Brothers and I most enjoyed making. Instead, I decided I would rather hear what your favorites are, My Disciples. Are there any posts that stand out in your memory? Did any make you laugh or cry? Did any inspire you to reach out to a kitty in need, or help you to improve the life of a cat who calls you Guardian? If so, I would love to hear about it either in the comments section below or by email.

Whether you’ve been with us from the beginning, or you have only recently joined the ranks of The Disciples of Otis, thank you so much for reading. And thank you for joining us in our crusade to keep kitties happy, healthy, and safely confined.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

65 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

65 responses to “1,000

  1. Erin

    The most recent Meowmorial Day post meowmorialized the kitty I lost this past year. I have a copy of the post saved in my e-mail. Also, seeing Mama brought inside was SO inspiring! I brought a kitty inside a few years ago, and while she’s gone now, I learned that “outdoor cats” are perfectly capable of learning to be relaxed and happy indoors, with a little work and stimulation from their guardians. Thank you, Leader Otis, for inspiring us all to help cats every day!

  2. 2 cats

    I love box sitting day. My 2 cats have both been on your blog in their boxes!

    The story of Thomas has really touched me and I always enjoy any posts with Mama cat.

  3. Concats on 1000!!! We have to say, most recently we got a little choked up when the Guardians decided to bring Momma Cat inside. πŸ™‚

  4. Nancy

    My favorite is also Momma Kitty moving indoors. Our tribe consists of 7 kitties, 6 are rescues. Your blog is an inspiration and confirmation that we have done the right thing by safely confining also. Considering building an outdoor ‘safe zone’ as you have. Congratulations on reaching 1000! πŸ™‚

  5. Meredith

    I am a relatively new Disciple of Otis, although I have long agreed with the Good Word. After discovering the blog of Otis, I went back and re-read the entire archives. The story of Thomas, from the lost kitten poster to the emergence of his True Spirit and becoming Sir Thomas, Heart of the Cult of Otis, has been particularly moving for me. My own cat, Sir Falstaff, was a Shadow kitty, and though I cannot take credit for bringing him in and discovering his True Spirit, I am eternally grateful to those who did. I do my best to be the best guardian I can. Sir Falstaff is also grateful to you, for you inspired me to clean his catbox daily.

  6. I liked the series about Thomas moving inside too.

  7. ConCAtulation to post 1000 !
    Me and the mom-person LOVES all your postΒ΄s πŸ™‚
    XOXO

  8. Pup

    “Thomas has doubts” is my favourite…
    I’ve been reading this blog for a few months now, but I remember going back through older posts to read his story, and how reading about him being left behind made me really sad…
    What can I say…I just love Thomas!
    I’d really like to thank The Guardians for letting you kitties write this blog…They wouldn’t be such an inspiration to so many if all the great stuff they do wasn’t shown here.
    Purrs and love from Argentina. =)

  9. Kathy L.

    Watching the Leader’s recuperation (before he got sick again… 😦 ), Thomas becoming used to his new home, tales of Thomas, and Mama coming inside!

  10. For me, the most surprising Cult of Otis moment was when the Guardians took Thomas in, even though he wasn’t exactly tame at the time. That was a bold move! The funniest post was probably the one with Brother Henry, Brother Oliver, and the boxes (one of which was flat as I recall). Priestess Jen likes the Box Day post, but I think that’s just because she’s a little ham πŸ™‚

    • I think the situation with Thomas surprised us all, Pezcita. The Guardians just knew that his life was in danger as long as he was out there, so they decided to just bring him in and see what happened. Even though he’s still not as tame as the rest of us, it’s amazing to see how happy and playful he is now that he is safely confined. And he has never, ever tried to get back outside since he was brought in. It makes me wonder how many more kitties would react like he has if given a chance. πŸ™‚

  11. Oh so many! Brother Oliver’s early attempts to become the world’s greatest kitty photographer, accompanied by Otis’s deadpan commentary. (The “purplish” one sticks in my mind.) Otis’s catnip banana issues. Otis mistaking Brother Henry for a tiger. The Catlympics. The saving of Sir Thomas and Mama Cat. And I loved the saga of Kitty the Cat. I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, and I’ve had my ideas about cats being safe outdoors turned on their head. Am currently trying to help with some cats in my neighborhood; will send details by email. Thank you, Leader Otis, Brothers, and Guardians, for the work you’re doing. Blogging daily, especially with photos, is a big commitment of time, but you’re giving great pleasure and I do believe you’re saving kitty lives.

    • Thanks so much, Rhiannon, especially for taking action with kitties in your own neighborhood. Oh, and what do you mean My “catnip banana issues”? I don’t have any issues! πŸ˜‰

  12. Leader Otis, congratulations on reaching this 1000th post milestone. That is quite an accomplishment. We enjoy reading all your posts. We ‘specially liked when the Guardians made the special heated place for Mama Cat. And we are so thrilled that she has been brought inside now.

  13. Concatulations on post 1000!!!! That is quite a milestone to reach. We don’t have a favorite post, but we were very happy to read when Mama Cat came inside and that your purrents got her the vet care she needed for her eye!

  14. Sandy

    Congratulations! I don’t know if I have a favorite, but I loved when Thomas became “Sir Thomas”, when Thomas first blogged (Is this thing on?), and I definitely teared up when Mama Cat learned she would not have to go back outside. I smile at Brother Oliver’s photos and distinctly remember the posing benches. I have mentioned this website and Leader Otis’ wisdom to a few people to encourage indoor or safe enclosed outdoor environments – always hoping that it sounds more authoritative from an experienced voice. Thanks to the guardians, Otis, Oliver, Henry, and Thomas for taking the time to blog for us!

  15. I am very new so what stands out most is the Mama Storyville:-) ConCATulations xxx

  16. Concatulations Brother Otis..i am still new to the bloggie world but I feel all of your posts have great merit..showing,the story of felines in happiness,sadness,fun,and important information on limbo kitties sick kitties and the struggles of being feline in a largely unfeline friendly world..combined these stories make a whole picture the good the bad and the ugly..this is why I can’t pick one!
    Continued great work Brother Otis and purrs for a resolve to your health issues which have not been forgotten either.
    Hugs Fozziemum xx

  17. CONGRATS on your 1,000th post! Our favorites? Love ’em all but what comes to mind is the Catolympics and integrating new kitties into your “cult”, safe and off the streets. Oh, and we loved the history series told by the kitty in Arizona–or was it New Mexico? Such imagination! And wonderful photography!

    • It was The Legend of Kiddy the Cat, set in Tombstone, Arizona. We were thrilled to document the real story behind the events that happened in that town. Thanks for reading LAPCATS. πŸ™‚

  18. Congrats Otis! And thanks for all the efforts by all the Brothers.
    It may be 1,000 posts for you, but who knows how large the number of animals that have been helped by your writings. YEA Cult of Otis!

  19. We LUB all yer postz…da best one waz of Momma comin indoorz n now bein wif da Guardianz n da Cult!!!!
    Ya all have inspired mUm n me to do more rescue n takin care of feralz.
    Rock on Cult of Otis!!!!
    *kissez* Nylablue n SherriEllen xoxoxoxoxo

    • Thanks Nylablue! We’re still sending purrs your way to feel better. How are you doing?

      • Me is doin purrty guud today n Mum sayz me iz stable n gonna make it!!!!
        Me feelz stronger n happier. How iz Da Leader doin?? Me n Mum iz purrayin fer Leader Otis!! He iz such a grrreat Kitteh….
        Purrleeze give me LUB to Sir Thomas….<3
        Lub Nylablue xo

  20. Congratulations on 1,000 posts! I’ve loved so many, but the ones that stick out right now are “Brother Henry Saves Snuggle Time” and the recent ones with Mama cat as I’ve been following her recovery. I also like the history posts about Otis’s early life and how He came to be The Leader.

  21. Batya Harlow

    The love, concern, and commitment to cats, as well as respect for them, stands out, as does the awesome photography. Lots of tears of joy and tears of heartache. Thomas being left behind like the garbage he was forced to live in was hard to read, but oh the joy that he was rescued! The Guardians put in so much effort to rescue him, creating the ideal set up for kitty introductions. And what the Guardians have done for Mama Cat is just awe-inspiring, as is the effort to find out what can be done to make Leader Otis more comfortable. I keep trying to get more people to subscribe to the blog. I look forward to reading it every day . . . well, except for the sad ones, like posters of missing kitties, unfortunate reminders of the work still to be done by all of us who care about cats. One thousand congratulations to everyone at the Cult of Otis on the 1000th post! Kisses and head butts.

    • The lost cat posters make Me very sad too, Batya. I always feel a little bad posting them, but they definitely help remind Me of all of the work yet to be done. Thanks so much for reading, and for the supportive kisses and head butts! πŸ™‚

  22. Congratulations on 1000!! I have too many favorites! one of the most touching to me was the day Thomas joined you all in the guardians bed, albeit briefly, it felt to me like he’d decided he wanted to be totally a part of the family. I know it meant a lot to me the first time my Leo decided he wanted to sleep leaning against my feet. it’s one of those “Ok you’re mine” moments.
    I also loved the post where Otis and the guys got their special catnip pillows, but I might be bias about that πŸ˜‰ hee hee

    • We still play with those catnip pillows on a daily basis, Andrea. I can’t quite roll around with them like I used to, but if the Guardians hand Me one I manage to nuzzle it and bunny kick it a bit. Thanks so much for sending those, and thanks for your readership and supportive comments! πŸ™‚

  23. Linda Koch

    There are so many wonderful stories and photos, it’s hard to choose! You’ve made us all laugh and cry with all of the tales of Otis before the capture, the silliness of Brother Oliver (who knew he’d become such a great photographer?!), the dedication of Brother Henry in traing his agents (particularly Junior Agent T), the horrible abandonment and rescue of our handsome Sir Thomas, and your noble rescue of our star Catlympian, Moma. You all have such large and wonderful hearts and the work you do to help people understand the plight of outdoor kitties around the world is so awe inspiring! And thank you especially for celebrating Meowmorial Day for all of us to celebrate and honor the kitties we’ve loved and lost. Congratulations to all of you! I think this calls for a little nip to celebrate!! Not too much though — we know the Zleader sometimes has a problem!! πŸ˜‰

    Much love to all of you!

    • Thanks so much Linda. I appreciate all of the kind comments and support. I also appreciate the idea of a little celebratory nip! But I have no idea what you mean when you say I sometimes have problem. I mean, ME? Naaaah. πŸ™‚

  24. mistletoeandhitch

    Concatulations on your 1,000 post, Leader Otis. It is a wonderful demonstration of your commitment to seeing all felines are properly contained and cared for. We have been following the Cult of Otis since April of 2012. While we have gone back and read the post that came
    before, our favorite is still the first one we read, “Mama Cat Blew Us Away” introduced us to the existing members of the Cult and gave us a glimpse of those to come. Thomas and Mama Cat were parts of the story, even though we couldn’t have guessed they would be gathered up in the “Capture” and served by the same Guardians as yourself. Thank you for your commitment to all the Limbo and Shadow Cats of the world. You have been an inspiration to all your follower and we look forward to the next 10,000,
    Purrs
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

    • Thinking back to “Mama Cat Blew Us Away”, it really is amazing how much has happened since then. We have been as surprised as all of you about how this story has unfolded. We can only guess at what tomorrow will bring.

      Thanks so much M and H. You’re continued readership and supportive comments mean a lot to Me. πŸ™‚

  25. Batya Harlow

    I finally figured out how to do this! I’ve been wanting to share The Blog of Otis on Pinterest, but there isn’t an icon like there is for Facebook, etc. Maybe you don’t want to be on Pinterest?

  26. Wow hoo well done you, and I love your idea for celebrating this amazing milestone – but there will also be a pawty won’t there? And whilst you are trying to save kitties, can I mention MJ http://www.harringtonspetfood.com/content/UK/info7 she was tossed aside, but is now looking for her forever home!

  27. I loved the very first post after rescuing Thomas, as the way it was written was full of such anger and passion that it moved me to tears. I also love the posts before/during/after the Leader hits the catnip bananas. Those photos of him lounging in a pile of bananas may not be dignified, but they make me smile alllll day long.

    • Hmmmmm… catnip bananas…nope, I don’t think I’m familiar with those, Christine. I mean, even if I am familiar with them, I certainly don’t have a PROBLEM with them… right? πŸ™‚

  28. Thank you.. I love the mama cat’s teaching posts, her updates, brother Oliver’s pictures. Sir Thomas’ knighting…I love all the posts and look forward to spreading the good word.

  29. emilykarn

    We have only been following your blog for four months, but we love everything you post. We have going back through your archives to catch up on what we have missed. We Enjoyed your Where’s Kitty? series and the stories of how Thomas and Mama Cat have been brought Inside to Safety. Bandit, Selleck, and Their person, Emily.

  30. Okay, I’ve got another favorite. I just read the series last night in which Otis decides to run for President. His platform statements had me laughing out loud. Love the logo and am going to buy a bumper sticker, even though the Leader had to drop out of the campaign. Otis for POTUS!

  31. I’m not sure if I think this blog is freaking awesome, or creepy, but either way I’m going to still follow it.

    Your welcome…

  32. DJFuzzyK

    I really enjoyed reading all the origin stories for the Saints. Seeing their pictures after reading the stories was both heartbreaking and inspirational.
    I’ve also enjoyed Mama’s story, anything with pictures of Brother Oliver and learning about the power of nip bananas. Looking forward to the next 1000 posts. Best wishes to all of you and many thanks for sharing your stories with us!

    Guardian of Fuzz, Bean, Hicks, Emerson and Oscar

  33. Sukanya Ramanujan

    Love you Otis! Congratulations on the 1000th post!

  34. Congrats!! Have fun blogging! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

