Brother Henry Was Being Cheeky

My Disciples,

Yesterday I was sitting in one of My favorite boxes in the living room when I got an itch on My chin. Since My legs are still pretty shaky these days, I decided to use the edge of the box to scratch My chin. It felt really good!

Otis rubbing face on box

I scratched My chin on the edge of the box. It felt good!

When I was done scratching, I rested My cheek on the box and prepared to drift off into a blissful, mid-afternoon nap. Before I could fall asleep though, I heard a chuckle coming from somewhere close by. I looked over toward the sound to see Brother Henry sitting on one of the posing benches in the sun. He looked back at Me with a quizzical expression and he said, “Leader Otis? Did you know that half of your cheek is missing?”

Brother Henry looking at Otis

Brother Henry was trying to tell Me that half My cheek was missing. How strange.

Annoyed that Brother Henry was keeping Me from My nap with such nonsense, I said, “Brother Henry. Have you been hitting the catnip again? Half My cheek is missing… really… I think you are being plenty cheeky for both of us!” Now with a somewhat sheepish expression, Brother Henry said, “Sorry Leader Otis. My mistake.” He then laid down and looked as if he was about to take a nap of his own. I kept looking at him for a minute or two, wondering what could have possibly caused him to make such a bizarre statement.

Otis cheek missing

Half My cheek is missing? What the heck was Brother Henry talking about?

Eventually I decided to forget about what Brother Henry had said. I began to drift off to sleep as I had planned to do before the weird interruption.

Otis drifting off

I decided to forget about what Brother Henry had said and get back to napping.

I awoke several hours later to find Thomas staring at Me with a concerned look on his face. I lifted My head as My eyes struggled to focus on the waking world, and I saw Thomas’s expression of concern instantly fade. I paused for a moment, and then said, “Yes Thomas? May I help you?” As he turned to leave Thomas said, “Nope. It’s back now. Everything’s cool…”, and then he headed off toward My Outdoor Domain. I decided that I had already had My fill of weirdness for the day, so I did not follow him to ask what the heck he was talking about.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

 

22 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

22 responses to “Brother Henry Was Being Cheeky

  1. Leader Otis, you remain as handsome as ever!!

  2. Leader Otis, you are a lucky cat to have so many concerned friends. Lucky for you, you’re not a human, otherwise you would wake up with new stripes on your cheek. As a cat though, your stripes remain unchanged. Just another advantage to being feline.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

  3. I think Thomas was coming down from the catnip. LOL

  4. Poor Otis – reduced to scratching his own chin!

  5. I have heard that boxes are not to be trusted….. that’s why cats like to tear them up.

  6. Boy, Otis, you sure live with some silly kitties.. Ok, sometimes silly, but always wonderful! Smooches on your not-missing cheek!

  7. Leader Otis, you sure caused a lot of
    concern!

  8. Half cheek indeed…Brother Henry needs some glasses perhaps πŸ™‚

  9. I’ll have to add this to my list of “things that look like they’d be really uncomfortable but that cats don’t seem to mind.” I’ll put it right after “having an ear turned inside-out.”

  10. Eeeooww Leader Otis…yer cheek DID look like it waz missin…at least Brother Henry waz attentive πŸ˜‰
    Lub Nylablue xo

Leave a Reply

