We May Have a Diagnosis for The Leader

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. Yesterday the Guardians took Leader Otis to His third Bad Place visit in as many weeks. This time, it was a specialty Bad Place with a brain and nerve doctor. The Leader was gone for almost three hours, and when He returned He was very tired and sporting two new, colorful bandages. He was very relieved to be home, and He headed straight to His Outdoor Domain for some R and R.

Otis after vet visit

The Leader was relieved to be home, but He was exhausted from the stress of His Bad Place visit.

 I was very anxious to hear what they had discovered at The Bad Place, so I went outside and asked Leader Otis if He could remember anything that was said. His reply was, “Well, I was pretty freaked out… the people were nice but I could smell a lot of scared animals and a few dogs… so it was hard to pay attention to what they were saying. Still, I’m pretty sure that I heard them say I have ‘mixed-up gravies’. I didn’t even know I had gravies, let alone ones that could be mixed-up.”

“Mixed-up gravies” didn’t sound very plausible to me. I told the leader I needed to sniff Him to see if I could detect the scent of these gravies, and perhaps determine for myself whether or not they were mixed-up.

Oliver inspecting Otis

I sniffed The Leader to see if I could detect any “mixed-up gravies”.

I sniffed Leader Otis for quite some time. I didn’t smell any kind of gravy at all. I did smell food on his cheek though, and I must have lingered on it for a bit too long because Leader Otis said, “Well, Brother Oliver! Have you detected mixed-up gravies on My cheek or something?” 

Oliver smelling food on Otis's cheek

I lingered too long on The Leader’s cheek. It started to annoy Him.

I told The Leader that I actually just smelled food on His cheek, probably because He tends to lay on his side while He is eating these days. I also told Him that I was going inside to see if there was any paperwork from His Bad Place visit that might confirm his “mixed-up gravies” diagnosis. As I walked away The Leader started trying to lick the side of His face, presumably to clean off the food I had smelled.

Otis trying to lick food off cheek

I told The Leader His cheek smelled like food. He tried to lick it off as I went inside to find His Bad Place paperwork.

After a quick look inside the house, I found the paperwork the Guardians had brought home from The Bad Place. It actually said that Leader Otis most likely has Myasthenia gravis, an autoimmune disorder that causes general muscle weakness. The paperwork said that an initial test, called a Tensilon test, garnered a “mild to moderate positive” result for the disease. Apparently The Bad Place sent some of The Leader’s blood to a lab, and they should receive the results of another, more definitive test in a week or so. This all sounded scary to me until I read that the condition usually responds well to treatment, and that Leader Otis has a good chance of being back to normal within 6 months time.

The Leader was still outside resting, so I shouted, “Hey Leader Otis! You don’t have mixed-up gravies, but You do have a problem. We’ll know for sure in a week or so, but I think You will be OK!” The Leader shouted back, “Thanks Brother Oliver! That’s good news! Ummmm… now I’m hungry for gravy though…”. I told Leader Otis that He would need to see the Guardians about His gravy craving. I didn’t have access to any gravy, mixed-up or otherwise. 

Otis hearing about his condition

The Leader was happy that He didn’t have mixed up gravies, but now He wanted some gravy.

So it sounds like The Guardians may have finally found an answer to what’s been troubling The Leader. If the blood test comes back positive, they will know for sure. I will be sure to keep my ears peeled over the course of the next week to see if I can discover what they find out. When I do, I will let you know as soon as possible. In the meantime, I’m going to do my best to be extra nice to The Leader. It can’t be easy to have mixed-up gravies.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

41 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

41 responses to “We May Have a Diagnosis for The Leader

  1. We hope that Leader Otis’ mixed-up gravies can be brought under control and that he is back to feeling like himself soon. We’ll continue to purr for him until then.

  2. Chris

    We’re so relieved here! We’ve been so worried The Leader had something fatal. Our purrs have been answered and we’ll keep purring for him!

  3. I’m glad to hear it is something that can be fixed. I was very worried there for a bit.

  4. Sounds hard indeed to have mixed up gravies !
    Keep my paws crossed that this will be fixed with some medicine !!
    XOXO

  5. Junior got side tracked at gravy, but we are glad that the Bad Place may know what is wrong with Leader Otis and that is can be fixed. 🙂

  6. 2 cats

    Sounds nasty but hopefully now it can be treated.
    I also really want some gravy with my dinner now.

  7. Poor Otis!!! We are purring that treatment will help him to be better again.

  8. We will keep our paws crossed that this diagnosis is correct and that Leader Otis will soon be on the path to a full recovery. Also, we hope he gets some gravy soon! He needs to keep his strength up so his recovery goes well.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

  9. My thoughts are with Leader Otis. Poor Baby!

  10. ena

    I am so happy to hear that there may be an answer. Hope it all works out for you.

  11. Many purrs for the Leader..

  12. Joy

    I’m glad you have an answer! I hope the Leader will be feeling better before 6 months, but as long as he gets better all is well 🙂

  13. We are sending purrs and barks to the Leader.
    Get better soon!

  14. Oh man. We’re all rootin’ for you, Otis. And treats to Oliver who’s a pretty good care giver.

  15. I hope Otis celebrated with some gravy 🙂 Fingers cross you get 100% soon xxx

  16. We’re so relieved to hear your guardians may know what the problem is. We were all really worried and hope that the diagnosis is confirmed quickly and that the mixed up gravies issue is solved soon! In the meantime, Lola, Griffon and Luna will eat gravy in support of the Leader.

  17. emilykarn

    Hope that the diagnosis is correct and the condition is treatable. Meanwhile we will continue to send Otis our purrs. Kudos to Oliver for being a caring friend. Bandit, Selleck, and Their Person, Emily.

  18. So glad Leader Otis is getting closer to a diagnosis and I’m relieved its treatable. He will be back to himself soon, I hope.

  19. theislandcats

    Who woulda thought the Leader had such a tasty-sounding problem. We purr that it’s treatable and the Leader is back to normal soon.

  20. It is probably a relief that you are close to getting some answers Otis! We are hoping that you get the treatment you need and can move around better soon!!! Love your friends, Becca, Steve, Juliet and Romeo

  21. Batya Harlow

    Wow, I thought only humans got myasthenia gravis. I’m sorry that Otis got it, but thrilled that it’s treatable! Trout, Kismet, and I have been worrying. ♥♥♥

  22. I’m glad it’s something you can get help for Otis. Our thoughts and purrs are with you.

  23. Mixed up gravies!! good grief…what a predicatment..thank goodness you may have the answers to this problem and a solution! I must say that the colourful nightclub bands that the bad place gave Brother Otis must mean he can get in to anywhere he wants when he is well! Good news and hopes for a speedy recovery and then clubbin’ it is Brother Otis! Thanks Brother Oliver for the update 🙂

  24. Nijinsky cat

    Oh purrrs of joy! Purrrr Purr Purrrs of joy!!! Sleep happy tonight Otis and family…

  25. Heather

    Well, that still sounds pretty worrisome. We won’t turn off our purrs and prayers just yet. We’ll be thinking about the Guardians too b/c I know this has to be stressful on them.

    Dearest Otis, are you absolutely certain that you can’t just perform another miracle and heal yourself like you did w/ your limpy leg? Don’t hold back now.

  26. Get well soon, Leader Otis! The other cats are so sweet to sniff you rather than hissing at “vet smell” the way Priestess Jen and Miss P do.

  27. Yay for the possibility of KNOWING. The uncertainty is the worst. Purr therapy, as always, from the Thunder household.

  28. All paws crossed in the Widder household for a positive diagnosis.

  29. I’m so glad this is something that can be treated. Purrs from Seffie and Thunder.

  30. Do hope you’ve found the cause!

  31. I am so pleased that you may have found the cause! Keep us informed!

  32. Hmmm…purrhaps this condition has held back his progress in getting mobility after the hipsterctomy ?? My heart aches for Leader O. He looks very depressed or forlorn. Sending him my very best healing purrs. savannah

  33. A diagnosis is a good start! We’re glad it’s something that can be treated! We’re purring that he gets better fast!

  34. Thank you all for the supportive words, purrs, thoughts and wishes! I know The Leader is feeling the love! – Brother Oliver

  35. Purrs and soft cheek pat in solidarity! Sun bathing is good.

  36. Pingback: The Leader’s Test Results Are In | The Blog of Otis

  37. Feel better soon Leader Otis from Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue too.

  38. All the best to your fearless leader!

Leave a Reply

