Sorry You Had To See That

My Disciples,

Even though I’m not feeling great, I decided I needed to step back in today to apologize for yesterday’s post. Brother Oliver recently heard that some humans get jobs as hand models, and he figured that if there are hand models there must be paw models too. For some reason, he believes that his paws are unusually striking, and he thought that if he got a photo of his paws out there where talent agents could see it, he would be signed immediately  as the next big paw model. So he manipulated poor, unsuspecting Thomas into posting a photo of him showing off his paws.

After the post went up, Brother Oliver got all excited and ran into the living room to take more photos of himself showing off his paws. I heard what was going on from Thomas and I immediately went into the living room and asked Brother Oliver what he thought he was doing. When he said, “Nothing! I’m just sitting here…”,I said, “Well, then I guess you won’t mind if I just sit here with you, will you?” I laid down right in front of Brother Oliver, blocking his paws from view of the camera. He was clearly annoyed, but he wasn’t about to say anything about it.

Otis blocking Oliver's paws

Brother Oliver was trying to take additional photos of his paws. I laid in front of him to foil his plans.

Next I grabbed the kicker toy that Brother Oliver has been hogging for a long time. I told Brother Oliver that it was My new pillow and that I was going to take a nap.

Otis with toy

I told Brother Oliver that his favorite kicker toy was My new pillow.

When Brother Oliver asked if he could have the toy back I said, “Of course you can Brother Oliver! Oh, but first you need to apologize to Thomas for manipulating him yesterday. You told him that you wanted to try to lighten the mood, but I know you were really just trying to launch your paw model career!”

Brother Oliver acted shocked at first, but then he agreed that he would talk to Thomas. I saw them together on the cat tree in the front window later that night, and I snuck closer to hear what was said.

Thomas and Oliver

I saw Brother Oliver and Thomas on the cat tree later on. I moved closer to listen.

I heard Brother Oliver say, “Thomas… I have a confession to make. I know I told you that I wanted to lighten the mood yesterday by showing a photo of my paws because my paws make people happy.” Thomas replied, “Yeah. I thought that was very weird, but I decided to humor you because you are often weird.” Then Brother Oliver said, “Actually, I’m sorry to say that I wasn’t entirely honest with you. I just wanted you to post that photo of me so I could be discovered by a talent agent and launch my paw modeling career. So you see, I’m really not that weird after all.  I just want to be a paw model. You understand right?”

Thomas was silent for a moment and then he said, “I forgive you Brother Oliver, and yes, you may not be that weird after all.” Thomas then jumped down and wandered off toward the food bowl, leaving Brother Oliver purring on the cat tree. Apparently Brother Oliver hadn’t heard what Thomas muttered under his breath as he departed the room. I heard it clearly though. He said, “Maybe not weird… maybe just crazy…

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

24 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

24 responses to “Sorry You Had To See That

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan

    Leader Otis! So good to hear from you!

  2. emilykarn

    Dear Leader Otis, we are happy that you felt well enough to blog today. Bandit, Selleck, and Their Person, Emily.

  3. We are so happy to hear from you Leader Otis! We hope you start feeling better soon. It is difficult to be ill and not have a diagnosis. It seems Thomas is becoming a real member of the family. We think, if you took a survey, many cats and people would describe their family members as weird or crazy. So, everything is working out just fine with Thomas. We will just do our best to keep the newest video of a Lion named Bonedigger and his best friend Milo, the wiener dog, away from Thomas, that way he can keep thinking Brother Oliver is crazy.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

  4. Never noticed before how you have a chevron with a dot above it on your paw, Otis. Is it a mark of deity, or the family crest? Either way, it could be a useful clue to your genetic history.

    • Brother Henry says I am not allowed to disclose the meaning of My mark at this time, Pezcita. He’s head of security and so I must defer to him in this matter. 🙂

  5. Yay Otis! Even when you don’t feel good you still know how to deal with the brothers! Glad you got a turn on the kicky too! We’re purring that you feel better soon, we love you!!

  6. theislandcats

    Leader Otis, we’re glad you’re feeling well enough to do your leader duties and let Brother Oliver know he was a little out of line yesterday. Though we sure didn’t mind seeing his paws. 🙂

  7. *giggles* poor Thomas. Get well soon leader Otis.

  8. You could both be paw models 🙂 Brother Oliver’s paws are very handsome and snuggly, but so are yours Otis. I don’t think it was a silly idea at all! But we’d need to see some shots of the cute little pads underneath too.

  9. Yow Leader Otis…so lubly to hear frum ya!!! Me haz bin purrayin fer ya to feel better n get stronger!!
    Mum waz swoonin over Brother Oliver’z pawz!!! HHRRMMPPHHH…me pawz are shiny n silvery…*shakez head*
    You did da right fing puttin yer paw down bout thiz shameless dissplay of white tippy pawz!!! Diz iz why you are DA LEADER!!!
    Feel better soon frum Nylablue n her Mum SherriEllen xo

Leave a Reply

