I Totally Lost My Stuff

People and furry people who like The Leader Otis,

It’s Thomas. Ummm… there’s no easy way to say this. The other night I totally lost my stuff. I didn’t want to lose it. I’ve been doing really, really well, and sometimes I think the crazy scaredy cat part of me might be going away… but then I get triggered and I lose my stuff.

Thomas in cubby 1

I admit it. I totally lost my stuff.

So, what happened was, I came downstairs in the early evening and found the door to Leader Otis’s Outdoor Domain standing open. I decided to go out and investigate, maybe sniff the night air a little… you know, just to satisfy my curiosity. Anyway, I’m out there sniffing around when I hear footsteps coming toward the door on the inside of the house. All of a sudden I had this image in my head of that door closing, trapping me in The Leader’s Outdoor Domain and separating me forever from my safey-safe they call Kitty Valhalla! As soon as that idea got in my head it was inevitable. I totally lost my stuff.

Before I even knew what I was doing, I bolted inside. As I entered the door, I came face to face with one of the Guardians… or rather, face to shin, with one of the Guardians. A loud hiss flew out of my mouth before I even knew it was coming. The sound made me even more afraid, so I accelerated. as I tried to take a hard left to run for Kitty Valhalla, I lost traction on the smooth, slippery floor. I slid face first into the wall. As I rebounded off the wall, I hissed at it to let it know I was not pleased. Then I gathered myself up and ran full speed down the hallway. I made it up to Kitty Valhalla in about .25 seconds flat. Upon arriving in my safey-safe, I quickly calmed down.

Thomas in cubby 2

I’m all better now. Really, I am. I’m a little embarrassed though.

I’m still a little embarrassed about what happened, but it didn’t seem to phase the Guardians. They still fed me my dinner as usual, and the bigger one gave me my nightly pets. I hope I’m not this way forever, but Leader Otis tells me not to worry no matter what. He says that even if I throw a hissy fit every day, the Guardians will never think poorly of me for it. He says they will just continue loving me and trying to make me as happy as they can. Just hearing that made me feel happy.

Thomas Out

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “I Totally Lost My Stuff

  1. 2 cats

    Poor Thomas, I think you have done really well so far.

    Ps that wall sounds evil and totally deserved a hiss

  2. Joseline

    Don’t worry, you will get used to the Guardians.

  3. emilykarn

    Don’t be hard on yourself Thomas, it takes time to heal mental wounds just as it does for physical. What counts is that you keep trying. Our purrs for you. Bandit, Selleck, and Their Person, Emily.

  4. It’s okay Thomas! It happens sometimes. 🙂 Your sister Nymeria also came from a bad place, and six years on she still gets scared and loses her cool. The most important things is you both have Guardians that love and care for you not matter what. 🙂

  5. It takes time my friend. Hissy Fit Jones STILL does that, and he’s lived inside with us for several years now.

  6. It’s ok Thomas….it happens to everyone once in a while 🙂

  7. I love you Thomas no matter what! Don’t tell the others Thomas, but you’re my favourite 😉

  8. Thomas, buddy. My big boy kitty does the same thing whenever the doorbell rings, and he’s always been an indoor kitty. Don’t fret about it.

  9. Don’t worry Thomas. You are a lucky kitty now, with understanding Guardians who know how your past affects you.

  10. Everybody has rough days, Thomas. It sounds like your Guardians are patient and understanding, and you’ll be able to continue to work on your less-than-braveness over whatever time you need.

  11. Thomas, it’s okay. Y’know, I used to be a outside kitty too…I’ve been inside for about 5 years now. And sometimes I still lose my stuff and get a little crazy. Nobuddy is gonna hold it against you for losing your stuff….that’s what I’ve learned.

    Zoey

  12. Aw Thomas, I think it’s totally understandable that you didn’t want to get locked outside again! After all, you may not know for sure that the outside domain is completely enclosed or that the door will open again to let you in! After what you went through, I can see why you are nervous about outside! Inside is Sooooo much better! Especially the safey-safe!
    And that wall totally had it coming..
    Hugs and purrs!!!

  13. Awe Thomas, I’m sure the Guardians know you just got scared. You are safe, even in the Outdoor Domain.

  14. How scarey Thomas..here’s the thing ..you are safe you are loved and if you have little ‘situations’ now and then it always will be okay..it is hard to be brave when you have scarey thoughts,but you are a brave boy and will be just fine..in fact you are pawfect 🙂

  15. Poor Thomas. I know it’s embarrassing but Leader Otis is right. The Guardians won’t judge you or abandon you, ever. Two reasons, my HuMom explained to me, #1, they love you because your family and #2 we’ve all got “stuff”. Human or feline, canine or avian, (or even alien?) the fact of some sort of stuff is universal. When you first started getting to know Leader Otis and Brothers Oliver and Henry, you thought they were sorta weird. That’s all because of their stuff. But, now, they don’t seem quiet as weird, because they’re your weirdos and you know about their stuff. So, try not to worry to much and try not to worry.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

    • Huh… yeah! They are my weirdos now that I know about their stuff! Well… I sort of know about their stuff. Anyway, I never thought of it that way. Thank you Mistletoe and Hitch!

      – Thomas

  16. Poor Thomas, its okay to get scared. Your guardians will do their best to protect you.

  17. I think you showed the wall how is boss so it won’t get in your way again! I bet that happens to everyone, so don’t panic about it! We all still love you

  18. I know how you feel, Thomas. Sometimes I get scared and I don’t know why and if my mama is holding me or walking by I will…bite her. I feel terrible about it but it happens. It’s something about hands.. sorry.I still just can’t talk about it. But we are lucky cats because we have peoples who love us just because we are who we are.
    Teddy

  19. We all lose our stuff from time to time, Thomas. It sounds like your stuff didn’t stay lost for long, and that’s what really matters.

Leave a Reply

