Giving Back to the Birdies on Earth Day

My Disciples,

There is a drawer in our house that is filled with wonder… or, rather, it WAS filled with wonder. You see, all through the winter, the Guardians brushed The Brothers, Thomas and Me, and they saved all of our excess fur. It looked like they were working on building a fifth cat!

Earth Day Cat Hair extravaganza 1

See! It’s a drawer of wonder! As in, “I wonder why anyone would save all of their cats’ fur?”

OK, so, you know how there’s been a lot of stories in the media lately about how many wild animals we kitties impact? There was some debate on the actual numbers, but I can say with certainty that if we kitties are allowed to roam free outside, we will kill things. It’s in our nature. Well, for Earth Day, we here at Cult of Otis wanted to give something back to all of those little crunchy birdies out there, and we even went so far as to give a little of ourselves. You see, this big wad of fur will make great liner for birds’ nests!

Earth Day Cat Hair extravaganza 2

There’s a little bit of all of us in there. Look closely and you can even see some fur with paint on it from when Brother O rubbed against a freshly painted wall!

The Guardians took our fur and spread it throughout a pine tree and some bushes alongside the house. It will be a safe spot for birds to come and gather it, and it is also near a window where we can watch the crunchy, tasty… errrrrr… nice little birdies!

Earth Day Cat Hair extravaganza 3

The Guardians put our fur in a tree and a bush where it would be safe for the little birdies to come collect it.

So Happy Earth Day little crunchy birdies! Sorry if My kind is sometimes hard on you, but I hope you know it is not our fault. Only our Guardians can make sure that we are staying out of trouble and not crunching any of you little guys. I hope your babies enjoy growing up with our soft fur surrounding them, and I will do My best not to think of them in terms of tastiness and crunchability… I’m not making any promises though… I am a cat, after all.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Giving Back to the Birdies on Earth Day

  1. What a fabulous idea, Leader Otis! It’s always good to give back, especially when there has been so much negative press about cats and birds recently.

  2. emilykarn

    Way to go Otis! Bandit, Selleck, and Their Person, Emily.

  3. Murphy

    Lily and I have raised several families of crunchy chickadees in our donated fur.

  4. Otis you really are an enviromental cat! yes the press s bad and yes it’s in your nature,so if the purrsonal assistants keep you out of mischief all will be well..we donate our furrs to the compost heap…we don’t really like the smell of it but the tail waving brothers do πŸ™‚

  5. spittythekitty

    I see, I do see….I see the wisdom of this. Providing this bedding will accustom the birdlets to your scent, and then when you are out on your Catio those little birdies will be drawn right through the “walls” like a moth to a flame. and then. . . .

  6. Jen brushes me outside and leaves it in the yard… I guess them birdies steal it!

  7. That is such a great idea, Leader Otis. We’re gonna actually let the mom brush us so we can put some of our furs out for the birdies here.

  8. Just looking at that all that fur makes me want to sneeze! (I am moderately allergic to cat hair, hence the short-haired cats.) Precious can’t get enough of the birds lately. She stares at them constantly. I recently bought her a chirping toy bird with real feathers so she could munch on one inside without harming any live birds. Naturally, Priestess Jen dominated the new toy – until we had to brush her teeth that night. Then Precious started wrestling it and making it chirp just to annoy her!

  9. Wow that is a lot of fur! I collect Pebble’s fur too, because I do needle felting as a craft and I thought it would be fun to make a mini her from her own fur. But it is probably more useful to give it to the birdies πŸ™‚

  10. What a brilliant idea, I am in awe of your guardians!

  11. I am going to do this next winter. Your Guardians never cease to amaze, Otis.

Leave a Reply

