The Basket Incident- Part I

My Disciples,

It all started yesterday when Brother Henry and I were in the living room relaxing. He was in the fancy kitty basket, and I was lounging on the floor in the sun. Brother Henry said, “You know, Leader Otis, I just love this basket. It’s so comfy. I hardly ever get to use it though because Brother Oliver is always hogging it.”

Basket Incident 01

Brother Henry told me that he really loves the basket, but Brother Oliver is always hogging it.

I agreed with Brother Henry that Brother Oliver was a bit of a basket hog. I told him that I even climbed into the basket with Brother Oliver once and he got all annoyed with Me. He tried to tell Me that the basket was only big enough for one kitty and that I should find somewhere else to nap.

Basket Incident 02

I told Brother Henry about the time Brother Oliver got annoyed with Me for trying to share the basket.

Brother Henry said, “Well, ummm… not to take sides or anything, but the basket does seem a little small… especially when you are as big as Brother Oliver and me.”

Basket Incident 03

Brother Henry agreed with Brother Oliver that the basket seemed kind of small for two kitties.

Just as Brother Henry finished telling Me that he agreed with Brother Oliver, Brother Oliver showed up and said, “Hey guys, what’s going on? Oh… you’re in the basket Brother Henry? Huh. I love that basket. Do you mind if I join you?”

Basket Incident 04

Brother Oliver showed up and asked Brother Henry if he could join him.

In a slightly annoyed voice, Brother Henry said, “What? I thought you told Leader Otis that this basket only had room for one kitty. Did you change your mind or something?”

Basket Incident 05

Brother Henry was annoyed that Brother Oliver now seemed to think the basket was big enough for two kitties.

Brother Oliver said, “What!? Oh, no, no, no. He must have just misunderstood me or something. What I really meant was that I wished that every kitty had a basket because this one isn’t big enough for them all. It is definitely big enough for two kitties though, so I guess I’ll just jump in and join you.” Even though I knew exactly what Brother Oliver had really said, I decided to stay out of it. Besides, it was clear he was not going to take no for an answer.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

 

 

 

 

14 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

14 responses to “The Basket Incident- Part I

  1. 2 cats

    I wonder if it is big enough for 3 or 4 kitties?

  2. Dear Otis, baskets aren’t the only thing not big enough. our favorite sleeping place is a cardboard box tipped on it’s side. Unfortunately only one of us can fit in at a time. Our Person laughs at us when we have hissy spats about who’s turn it is to sleep in the box. She tried bringing in another box, but we didn’t like it. There is only one Box.Signed, Bandit, Selleck, and Their Person, Emily.

    • Some boxes are definitely better than others. For instance, if a cat is already in a box, then that is usually the box that another cat will want. The empty box just isn’t as compelling! 🙂

  3. That is an awesome basket, I can see why the brothers want to hog it, I mean.. why they like it! But, really, if it’s that good of a thing, shouldn’t it belong to the leader?? Just sayin’…

    I must have missed yesterday’s post, but I wanted to say how cute it was that you brush yourself! My Star is a self brusher too, but I have to hold it from sliding away as she uses it. I guess she’s not as self sufficient as you, great and wonderful Leader!

  4. Leader Otis, do you think the basket might look bigger from the outside than it does from the inside? That might explain why the kitty outside the basket thinks there’s enough room to share.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    rwb

    • Hmmmm… you might be right M and H. Maybe there’s some sort of optical illusion at work here. One thing’s for sure, the basket certainly looks smaller when Brother Henry sits in it!

  5. Leader Otis, we have noticed that cats curl up smaller when they sleep — unless they are taking up the human bed, then they expand exponentially. Maybe it is possible to fit more cats in the basket if the occupants fall asleep first.

    • Hmmmmm… an intriguing theory Cats Herd You. Now I’m wondering what would happen if humans made their beds shaped like baskets. Would cats still expand? Or would there finally be room for all? 🙂

  6. spittythekitty

    Ooh, cat fight! Cat fight! Will the fur fly? Will someBrother go down for the count? Can the Leader save the day? I can’t bear the suspense, Leader Otis. C’mon, You can come tell ME what happened! Spitty is the soul of discretion.

  7. Hehe.. the “basket saga” I think every cat needs at least two baskets per cat. I have several boxes for my cats along with blankets for snuggling. I hope that your day is brighter as I wanted to give you the Versatile Blogger award.. please go to my awards page – http://peacelovenwhiskers.com/about/awards/- to pick it up. =^..^=

  8. Oh brother Oliver you always bring a happy tear to mum’s eyes as you so look like her childhood cat Henry 1st 🙂 xxx Sorry been quiet lately mum has been working away

Leave a Reply

