Brother Oliver’s Dilemma

My Disciples,

I entered the living room yesterday to find Brother Oliver sitting in the middle of the floor fretting about something. I asked him what was going on and he said, “Leader Otis, I have an idea for a photograph… ummm… of myself… but I have a bit of a dilemma.” When I asked what the dilemma was, he said, “I want to make sure I photograph my best side, and I’m not sure which one that is. Can you take a look at me and tell me which side is better?” Trying to mask the sigh that was about to come out of Me, I said, “Sure Brother Oliver. Let Me take a look.” First, Brother Oliver turned to the left.

Oliver right side

Brother Oliver turned to the left and let Me examine his right side.

After holding his pose for several seconds, Brother Oliver turned to the right to show Me the other side.

Oliver left side

Brother Oliver turned to the right so I could see his left side.

After I had examined both sides of his face, Brother Oliver turned to Me expectantly and said, “So, what do you think Leader Otis?” What I wanted to say was, “I think I came in here to take a nap…”, but I didn’t. Instead I told Brother Oliver that I couldn’t decide which side looked better. That was only partly true though. It wasn’t so much that I couldn’t decide but rather that I was rolling My eyes so much while he was posing that I didn’t get a good look. I could tell he was disappointed though, so I thought fast and came up with a solution for his dilemma. I said, “I have an idea, Brother Oliver! Why don’t we let the Disciples of Otis decide!” Brother Oliver loved My idea.

So that’s what we’re going to do! From now until March 28, Enter your vote for which is Brother Oliver’s better side below! Brother Oliver will honor your votes and compose his next photographic “masterpiece” accordingly.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

25 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

25 responses to “Brother Oliver’s Dilemma

  1. He looks so good both ways that I can’t pick one!

  2. 2 cats

    I have voted for his left side but I think his whole face is handsome

  3. it will be all out war between the left-siders, right-siders, and the middlers.

  4. Joy

    I totally think his right side is better. He looks so much more majestic, like he’s looking out over the world or something.

  5. Well, we picked the right side because I love Brother Oliver’s dark stripes radiating from around his eyes on that side. The left looks much the same but I decided the right side was the way to go. Hitch agreed with me because he doesn’t like to get on my ” bad” side! He really is much smarter than he lets on. We hope that Brother Oliver will be preoccupied with evaluating his sides and leave you to nap in peace.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    RWB

  6. I chose both sides, not because they look the same, but because both are wonderful. We love the stripes that go out to the side from his eyes.

  7. Oh my, there’s an awful lot of handsomeness going on here. I decided on his left side due to the adorable row of 4 spots above his whiskers.

  8. These votes are pretty evenly split!

  9. Linda

    Both sides are adorable.

  10. Y’know, we think both sides are pretty good, but since Brother Oliver wants to take a picture of one of his sides, we picked the left one. He can’t go wrong either way, though. 🙂

  11. spittythekitty

    Methinks perhaps Brother Oliver needs a lesson in the pitfalls of Vanity. Tell Brother O that one of the Human’s favorite authors (Jane Austen) said, “Vanity working on a weak head, produces every sort of mischief.”

  12. Can’t he do a mureal and put them all together – yes I know that mureal is probably spelt wrong, but the comment originally started out with can’t he do a ‘thing’ and put them all together (as typist couldn’t remember the word mureal and could only think of compilation) so be thankful for small mercies – do you see what I have to put up with??!!

  13. Pingback: The Left Side Wins | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

