Keep It Down Up There!

My Disciples,

As I was trying to nap in the sun yesterday, I was suddenly awoken by a racket above Me. I was a little disoriented at first, and I couldn’t figure out what was making the sound.

Something on the roof 1

I was napping in the sun when I awoke to the sound of something going on above Me.

I sat up and listened carefully. I heard small feet running back and forth. Since it was above Me, I assumed it was coming from the roof.

Something on the roof 2

It sounded like the sound was coming from the roof.

Then I figured it out. Squirrels. Yes, I was sure it was squirrels going nuts up on the roof. I yelled, “HEY YOU LITTLE FURRY RODENTS! KEEP IT DOWN UP THERE! I’M TRYING TO SLEEP!”

Something on the roof 3

I finally figured out that it must be squirrels on the roof. I yelled at them to keep it down.

After I yelled, the noise stopped. It was completely silent for several seconds. I listened intently to see if the squirrels were going to defy Me or heed My command.

Something on the roof 4

It was silent after I yelled. I kept listening to see if the squirrels were going to obey Me.

Suddenly, I heardย a tiny voice coming down from up above. It said, “Ummmmm… I’m sorry Leader Otis. I was just playing with a toy up here in Kitty Valhalla. I didn’t know I was disturbing you. Please don’t call me names though. I’ll be quiet…” It was Thomas. There had never been any squirrels on the roof, just Thomas playing up in his safey-safe, and I had yelled at him. I felt terrible. I shouted up to Thomas, “Sorry Junior Agent T! I thought it was squirrels making all that noise! Please carry on. Don’t worry about Me!” But Thomas replied, “No, Leader Otis. That’s OK. I’ll just take a nap. I feel bad that I disturbed you.” I laid back down, but there was no way I was going to get back to sleep.

Something on the roof 5

I felt bad after finding out that I had yelled at Thomas. I tried to go back to sleep but couldn’t.

After a few minutes, I got up and went upstairs to Kitty Valhalla. Thomas looked at Me with wide eyes at first, but when he realized I was just there to take a nap with him, he started giving Me the kitty kissy eyes. We both drifted off to sleep, and we remained asleep until we were both woken up by two squirrels making a racket on the roof.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

19 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

19 responses to “Keep It Down Up There!

  1. Naughty Thomas disturbing your peace ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the photos especially the first shot gorgeous

  2. I love these photographs! You are such a handsome boy, Otis. If you lived with me, I think I would never get anything done because I would just want to take pictures of you all day.

  3. Oh, your story makes me miss my Twiga!

  4. Darn those squirrels: such a nuisance!

  5. Aw poor Thomas, but I’m so glad he can play so wild now! Even if he does sound like a wild pack of ninja squirrels! (don’t tell him I said that!)
    Around here it IS squirrel mating season and they seem to like to court on my roof… back and forth, back and forth all morning.. who can sleep when it sounds like they’re doing laps up there?? Sigh
    I love love love that Thomas gave you kitty kissy eyes! We’re sending kissy eyes back at both of you!!

  6. Such beautiful photos. Our HuMom may need to get a camera instead of just using the iPad. Try not to feel too bad Leader Otis. Every kitty can be a touchy tiger when woken unexpectedly. You are a very wise Leader to have soothed any ruffled furs. We are glad Thomas is relaxing enough to get rowdy…during daylight too!
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    RWB

  7. spittythekitty

    Kitty kissy eyes??? Like once a year, I flash those at the Human just to give her a scrap of hope, ha ha meow!
    It is super nice that you went up to Kitty Valhalla and had a kitty-curl-up with Junior Agent T.

  8. theislandcats

    We’re sure Thomas appreciated you coming up to Kitty Valhalla to take a nap with him. But darn those squirrels!!!

  9. It’s understandable…. Squirrels are not to be trusted!

  10. Pingback: Do not disturb! | K-Bunny

Leave a Reply

