A Reminder To All My Feline Disciples

My Feline Disciples,

You may have noticed that in the past, both Me and Brother Oliver have reminded My human Disciples that kitties sometimes need hugs. Well, today, Brother Oliver and I would like to remind all of you kitties that your Guardians sometimes need hugs. They really do!

Oliver big hug 1

Kitties! Your Guardians sometimes need hugs. Please oblige them if it is something you are comfortable doing.

Yes, we know that not all kitties are huggers. Thomas, for instance, would completely lose his stuff if someone tried to hug him. But for those kitties who are amenable to being gently squozen, please give your Guardian a good, long squeeze today. Put your whole body into it and let them know you mean it.

Oliver big hug 2

Brother Oliver is an accomplished hugger. Please follow his example.

Trust us, this will make both you and your Guardian feel much better. And for those kitties who don’t like to hug? Well, next time you cough up a hairball, aim for a hard surface like linoleum, tile or wood. Don’t barf on the bedspread, carpet or on any other absorbent surface that your Guardian values. That will be the next best thing to giving them a hug.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

26 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

26 responses to “A Reminder To All My Feline Disciples

  1. I just want to say that even though I am technically a dog person, I absolutely love this blog.”gently squozen” So cute!!

  2. Brother Oliver makes it look easy. Your Guardians deserve tons of hugs for all they do to help kitties.

  3. Cuteness overload here xxx

  4. Brother Oliver looks like a wonderful hugger. ๐Ÿ™‚ Mozart is a good one too…. he says he will be sure to give mom a hug when she gets home.

  5. GiRRL_Earth

    “Well, next time you cough up a hairball, aim for a hard surface like linoleum, tile or wood. Donโ€™t barf on the bedspread, carpet or on any other absorbent surface that your Guardian values. That will be the next best thing to giving them a hug.”

    Well said Otis, well said and thank you!

  6. spittythekitty

    Well, once in a great while, I will allow myself to be picked up, paws placed on shoulder, but I *never* hug back. I do very occasionally allow myself to be (very) “gently squozen,” but really it’s just that I’m lulling her into a false sense of security while I plot my escape. I do try not to scratch her, but occasionally there’s some collateral damage as I squirm my way free.

    • I didn’t used to like being picked up much either, Spitty, but these days I at least like to be carried around the house now and then. I also like to fall asleep on laps, but I don’t do the full neck-hug like Brother Oliver. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Star is NOT a hugger. She hates being picked up (unless it’s to be placed on the counter where she gets her fresh glass of water). But Leo, he’s a hugger! He hangs over my shoulder in much the way your brother is on the guardian. But he likes to have his head hanging down my back further. I love a good snuggle! Thank you for telling the kitties about guardian’s needs!
    Maybe Star will toss her next hairball on the tile instead of the carpet, but I won’t hold my breath.

  8. Kitty hugs are the best, no question about it โค

  9. I dunno…. June Buggie isn’t much of a hugger either…. but he’s great at jumping on Jen’s chest and waking her from a sound sleep!

  10. I don’t do hugs but I do like to snuggle when my Mama gets in bed or takes a nap on the sofa.

  11. Thanks for that reminder, Leader Otis. We’re gonna go hug our human. It may score us some treats!

  12. Priestess Jen is a no-hugs cat, probably due to her many weeks as an ultra-confined shelter kitten. She prefers to hold hands and give kisses. Precious is occasionally amendable to being held early in the morning, especially the past few days when she’s been worn out from keeping a constant vigil over that “gamey little mouse”. (She finally chased it into a trap today. Good kitty!)

  13. Pebble is very good at this ๐Ÿ™‚ she has already given me a lovely morning snuggle and I anticipate several more through the day.

Leave a Reply

