I Give Mama Some Good News

My Disciples,

After Brother Oliver informed Me of Cookie’s request, I went to My Outdoor Domain to see if Mama Cat was around. I went right up to the wire and called out, “Mama! Mama Cat! I need to speak to you!”

Otis looking  through wire

I went up to the wire and called out for Mama Cat.

A few moments passed, and then Mama Cat came through the spot in the fence where the Guardians had removed a board to give her easy access.

Mama Cat Coming Through

After a few minutes, Mama Cat appeared.

Mama cat kept her distance. She sat on a red table by the fence and said, somewhat curtly,  “Yes, Leader Otis? What is it?” I said, “Mama, I’m very sorry that the Catlympics have been delayed for so long. I know they mean a lot to you, and I just want you to know that I really did intend to hold them in the fall. My Hipsterectomy really derailed My plans though.” Mama said, “Really? That’s the real reason? Because I was starting to think that maybe you cancelled them because you didn’t want me to compete…”

I gasped, shocked that Mama would think that I cancelled the Catlympics for that reason. I looked at her for a moment, and then I stuck My tongue out and went, “THHHHHHHHHHHHHHHPT”.

Otis blowing a raspberry

Mama Cat thought I cancelled the Catlympics to stop her from competing. I responded by blowing a raspberry.

Looking puzzled by My response, Mama Cat said, “So you really didn’t cancel them because of me?” I said, “No, Mama Cat, it really was because of Me, not you. In fact, I came out here looking for you today because I want to ask you to put on a special exhibition performance of your Catlympic skills. I’m not sure when I’ll be able to hold the official Catlympic competition, but until I am able I want to make sure we are keeping the spirit of the Catlympics alive. I figured you would be the perfect kitty to do just that! Will  you do it?”

Upon hearing this, Mama Cat became very excited, she said, “Yes! I will do it. In fact, I’m going to start warming up right now!” She then started clawing energetically at a nearby tree.

Mama Cat Warming Up

Mama Cat was so excited about her exhibition that she started warming up immediately.

I said, “I love the enthusiasm, Mama Cat! That’s the true Catlympic spirit!” I need to find you an artificial bird handler and then we can get this show on the road.” As I turned to head back into the house, I heard Mama say, “Thanks so much Leader Otis! I’ll be ready and waiting when you find that handler! I won’t let you down!” I had no doubt that she was right.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

21 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

21 responses to “I Give Mama Some Good News

  1. Reblogged this on knocked over by a feather and commented:
    This made me smile today.

  2. we can’t wait to see her exhibition – we are glad all is forgiven….

  3. Squeeee!!! I luvluvluv Mama Cat! I am happy to learn she is well

  4. mistletoeandhitch

    We wish we could see Mama Cat in action! Hopefully Brother Oliver will photograph the exhibition. Good luck finding a skilled artificial bird handler. The better the handler the better the show will be. Don’t you hate it when the handler just wiggles the faux bird? Birds don’t wiggle! They FLY and maybe hop….then they CRUNCH. *Hitch whispers, Ummm, Mis? This it the fake bird, ya kno, on a string? Mistletoe blinks and wipes away the drool.*. Of course, the Faux Bird won’t crunch, much. Still, my point stands. The Handler is almost as important as the cathlete. Good Luck finding an adequate handler. We’d hate to see Mama cat disappointed.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    RWB

  5. Can’t wait for the show to get back on the road 😀

  6. dreamingforbetter

    Sometimes it really is the smallest things in life that make us laugh most.
    Great read. lol

    Shaun x

  7. I am looking forward to Mama Cat doing her thing. Maybe I will get some flying feather tips.
    Teddy

  8. You made Mama Cat so happy, Leader Otis.

  9. Dear Otis,
    The Matticus Kingdom is in dire need of assistance, or will be at the end of next month, and we beseech you to come to our aid. Due to a new addition to the kingdom’s imminent arrival our normal scribe (the court jester) will most likely not be able to make his normal appearances and updates. In his absence we are hoping we can find some willing participants for a round of guest blogs. Would you be interested in helping out? Would one of your minions/friends/guardians be willing? We would greatly appreciate it.
    Thank you for your time and consideration,
    So Sayeth Matticus (of the DJ variety)

    • Thanks for asking djmatticus, but the Guardians only turn on the computer when they are home. Since both have full time jobs, they’re not home nearly as often as we would like them to be, and it gives The Brothers and I pretty limited amounts of time during which we can update The Blog of Otis. So unfortunately, I can’t offer to write any new material for thematticuskingdom, but you are welcome to use the reblog option if you like any posts you see here. Again, thanks for asking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

