Brother Oliver Says It’s Selfish Sunday

My Disciples,

I walked into the living room earlier today and found Brother Oliver sitting quietly with one of the toys sent to us by Andrea and the Celestial Kitties. I was excited, because I had been looking forward to playing with that particular toy all morning.

Oliver guarding toy 1

Brother Oliver was sitting in the living room with a toy I really wanted to play with.

I said, “Hey Brother O! I’ve been looking all over for that simulated fluffy tail toy. Do you think I might have a turn with it?” Brother Oliver looked at me for a second, and then looked away saying, “Ummmm… no… I’m sorry Leader Otis. Today is “Selfish Sunday”, and we’re not supposed to share anything with anyone today.”

Oliver guarding toy 2

Brother Oliver said he couldn’t share the toy because it was Selfish Sunday.

I told Brother Oliver I had never heard of such a day, and that I thought he must be mistaken. He assured Me that Selfish Sunday was real, and that it definitely prohibited him from sharing the toy. He said that tomorrow he would be free to share again, but it was absolutely out of the question today. I didn’t know what to do so I just climbed up on the cat tree and stared at him from there.

Otis mad at Oliver

It was clear the Brother Oliver wasn’t going to give Me the toy, so I just climbed up on the cat tree and stared at him.

After a few minutes, Brother Oliver said, “Leader Otis… could you please stop staring at me?” I said, “I’m sorry Brother Oliver, but I can’t. Haven’t you heard? It’s Staring Sunday. I am not allowed to stop staring at you today.” A few more minutes passed and Brother Oliver got up, saying, “Ummmm… I Β think I need a snack.” He then turned and left the room muttering, “I’m not sharing any though…”

After Brother Oliver disappeared, I jumped down and started playing with the toy. I was having a blast with it, so much so that the commotion I was making drew Brother Henry into the room. Excitedly he said, “Wow Leader Otis! That looks like fun! Can I play with it too?” Poor guy. He was so disappointed when I told him what day it was.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

13 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

13 responses to “Brother Oliver Says It’s Selfish Sunday

  1. Leader O, no wonder you ARE THE LEADER! Brilliant strategy. You took care of Bro’ O and then kept Bro’ H at bay so you got just what you needed to make your Sunday Easy, pawsome! Savannah

  2. heh heh heh. Leader Otis, you are simply brilliant.

  3. That was a good one, Leader Otis. πŸ™‚

  4. spittythekitty

    You reap what you sow, Brother O.

  5. mistletoeandhitch

    I always find it curious how a toy seems so much more amusing when being played with by some other cat. Nice work, getting the prize without resorting o claw or teeth, Leader Otis. You set an excellent example for your many followers.
    Purrs,
    Mistletoe & Hitch
    RWB

    Pee. SSS. While I admit to smacking Hitch upside the head the other day, he failed to mention the fact he was attacking my tail. Our HuMom has provided us with many toys and a live DOG in order to keep us in fighting shape. Practicing his less than stealthy moves on my backside deserves a good whack upside the head! ❀ M

    • Hmmmmm… yeah… Thomas whacked Me in the head when I was playing with his tail too. That’s why the fluffy tail toy is so important to Me. It lets Me exercise My tail attacking tendencies without the inevitable whack upside the head that I get when attacking a real tail. πŸ™‚

  6. MOL! hmm, interesting day that works in your favor sometimes and not in your favor others…
    I am glad, however, that the fluffy tail toy is so popular! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

