The Danger of Being A Safely Confined Cat

Disciples of The Leader Otis,

Brother Henry here. Leader Otis asked me to apologize to you all for not having a blog post ready to go this morning. Unfortunately, The Leader succumbed to one of the primary dangers that exist for a safely confined kitty. He… well… maybe I better just show you.

Otis very content

Leader Otis has succumbed to one of the primary dangers that exist for safely confined kitties.

Yes, as you can see, He was overcome by an intense bout of comfiness and contentment and He couldn’t bring himself to get up and come to the computer. Such is the hard life of the safely confined. Without untold danger around every corner, and without the need to constantly be on high alert, we poor kitties run the risk of falling into a state of perpetual bliss within our well-defined, safe boundaries. This state is further compounded by constant love, ample enrichment and good healthcare.

Not only are our lives filled with the constant danger of happiness, we live, on average, much longer than our feline brothers and sisters that are allowed to roam free! Can you imagine the kind of non-existent stress we have to deal with every day! It’s so non-terrifying that I almost shuddered just thinking about it. Wait, that wasn’t a shudder. I’m purring!

Anyway. I hope you’ll forgive The Leader for His little slip up this morning, but as you can see, His life is full of serious challenges. Such are the heavy burdens He must carry.

So Says Brother Henry

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

 

 

27 Comments

Filed under The Good Word

27 responses to “The Danger of Being A Safely Confined Cat

  1. It is a heavy burden to bare,

  2. Yes, my kitties have a similar burden to bear. Malachi is like Thomas; he remembers the dark days outdoors.

  3. Batya Harlow

    Amen, Brother Henry! My Brindle, may she rest in peace, found me when she was 6 weeks old. She would not have lived to be 21 if she were an outdoor cat. And she never got outside even once in all those years. Now, Trout and Kismet are nine and a half, and they’ve been safely inside from the first day of life as feral kittens. Blessings on all at chez Otis!

  4. ena

    Ah, Otis, Buster would say that he feels you pain, but he has just finished a snack and gone back upstairs for his 3rd or 4th nap on the guest bed.

  5. Penelope

    Henry, my secretary (Mommy) does not work when me thinks she should, would yous come and works for me?
    Kisses
    Nellie

  6. We live with similar non-peril here, Brother Henry. We believe that all kitties should have to learn how to live like this. We can only hope that more and more people will follow the example of the Gaurdians and provide their cats with stressless, loving environments.
    Purring for you,
    Mistletoe & Hitch

  7. I am a safely confined cat and my happy is totally not-confined. I am only one year old but my Mama’s other cats lived a long time because they were always safe. Henry was 16 and Dolly was 19 when they went to feline foreverland. If I live that long Mama will be…REALLY old!
    Teddy

  8. spittythekitty

    I did something exceptionally brave and dangerous today: For the first time in my 8+ years, I actually willingly played in a box. The Human was shocked, I tell you shocked, and frankly even I was a little surprised. It was a shallow box, to be sure, but still….a box. With sides.

  9. stephenii

    My family and I recently moved from the Pacific Northwest to the giant litter box known as Saudi Arabia. We live in a compound with lots of other Guardian expatriates. There are kitties in limbo everywhere over here. We have some Guardian friends that are working to find homes for these kitties and get them all checked out by a vet, with all the appropriated medicines and getting fixed. My family and I are slated to take in a nice brother and sister pair of kitties as soon as our home is ready.
    I love reading your blog Brother Otis.

    • I am so happy that your Guardian friends are helping out the kitties in need! I’m also excited that you are going to take in some kitties of your own! Thanks for reading, and for being a true kitty Guardian! πŸ™‚

  10. Awww, Otis looks so cute and snuggly there of course he shouldn’t try to move to write a blog post πŸ™‚ Especially when he has such kind and considerate friends to do it for him. That must be why Pebble hasn’t updated her blog for well over a year… I should be flattered, I’m obviously providing her with enough snuggles πŸ˜‰

  11. It’s a tough life, that of a pampered house cat…

  12. “Wait, that wasn’t a shudder. I’m purring!” Love that line! When I first held Priestess Jen, she was so excited at the prospect of having a human family that she shuddered and purred at the same time.

Leave a Reply

