A Rousing Show of Support From The Brothers

My Disciples,

My rehabilitation has begun in earnest! Last night, one of the Guardians stood at one end of the living room shaking a bag full of treats. I figured that the Guardian was offering Me treats to help Me regain My strength after My surgery. Even though My leg is still stiff and weak, I got up and walked on over there to get a treat.

Otis walking right

The Guardian was offering Me treats, no doubt to help Me regain strength. I walked over to get one.

After arriving at the Guardian and receiving a delicious morsel, I was a little surprised that the Guardian got up and walked to the opposite side of the room. She then shook the bag again and asked Me if I wanted another treat. Of course I did! What a silly question. I immediately walked over to her to get My next rehabilitative snack.

Otis walking left

The Guardian went to the other side of the room and again offered Me a snack. I moseyed on over to accept.

As I devoured this second strength-restoring nugget, the Guardian again relocated to the opposite side of the room. Again she shook the bag and asked if I wanted a treat. I was a little exasperated by this behavior, and My leg was getting pretty tired, but I knew I needed as many treats as I could get if I was going to make a full recovery. So I pulled Myself together, got up, and trekked back across the room to receive My next dose of treat-ment.

Otis walking right again

The Guardian went to the other end of the room again. Although it was annoying, I knew I needed My treat-ment, so I walked over there.

Again the Guardian crossed the room and again she rattled the bag and asked if I wanted a treat. I sat and looked at her for a moment, trying to figure out why I couldn’t just have all My treat-ments in one place. I finally decided that she must have just wanted to get a little exercise while she was treating Me. I didn’t want her to not take care of her own health on My account, so I just got back up and walked over to her. On this trip, Brother Oliver joined Me in what I believed to be a touching show of solidarity.

Otis  and Oliver walking left

When I crossed the room for My next treat-ment, Brother Oliver joined Me in a show of solidarity.

When we arrived at the Guardian, Brother Oliver ate one of My treat-ments. When I asked him why he did that, he said, “Leader Otis, I just want you to know we’re in this thing together! I just want to prove to you how committed I am to seeing you recover. If that means I have to take these treat-ments right along with you, then so be it!”

I was extremely touched by Brother Oliver’s gesture. When the Guardian again relocated to the other side of the room, Brother Oliver and I walked proudly, side-by-side, to meet her for My next dose. To My amazement, Brother Henry also joined our march, and he too showed his solidarity by taking a treat-ment.

Otis, Oliver and Henry getting treats

Brother Henry joined Brother Oliver and Me as we crossed the room again. We all took treat-ments together. I felt so supported!

By this time I was pretty tired, no doubt from all of the treat-ments I had taken. I told the Brothers that I thought I could take no more for the night and I thanked them for their show of support. Brother Henry looked puzzled for a moment and asked, “What do you mean? Show of support?”, and Brother Oliver interjected, “You know, Brother Henry, He means how we were walking with Him and taking these treat-ments so He could see that we support Him in His recovery!” Brother Henry looked at Brother Oliver for a moment and said, “Treat-ments?… OH! Yes! Treat-ments! Right. Totally supporting you Leader Otis. That’s what we were doing. We were totally just taking these treats…errrr… treat-ments to show how much we care…”

Wow. Such selflessness. My two High Priests really are the greatest.

So Sayeth Otis

Operation Hipster

Visit the official Operation Hipster website to support Leader Otis!

29 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

29 responses to “A Rousing Show of Support From The Brothers

  1. You are truly blessed Otis!

  2. So good to see you up and about, Leader Otis. The treat-ments seem to be working already.

  3. *hugs, I mean, pets*
    I am so glad you are doing well.

  4. Leader Otis, happy to see you are willing to take your treat-ments like a mancat. The Brothers are supportive, but don’t let them sacrifice too much by taking treat-ments with you. Make them pace themselves….because they are both…well, how to say this….neither one is in need of too many treat-ments…they have already had their share…just an observation…paw pats Savannah

    • I know what you mean, Savannah! I mean, The Brothers haven’t even been surgerized like Me, so treat-ments might not be good for them. I’ll have to make sure that at the next session I get ALL the treat-ments. I wouldn’t want The Brothers to get sick trying to show their support for Me. πŸ™‚

  5. Brother Oliver really is the brains of the Cult of Otis. This touching show of solidarity could only be born of a deep thinker. Thank Cod that Brother Henry has such an example. Between the two of them i think you will be supported during all your treat-ments. We are glad to see you up and about. We hope your recovery is quick and painless.
    Purrs to you,
    Mistletoe & Hitch

    • I definitely feel supported, M and H! I mean, that must have been so hard for them to eat those treat-ments without even having been surgerized, right? Thanks for the purrs. Hearty headbutts to you both!

  6. Real selfless, are you sure they didn’t just want treats instead of treat-ments? Glad to see you up and about!

  7. Humans could take a letter from your Guardians about making physical therapy more fun – TREATS! So glad to see you moving about and I hope wth more “treat-ments” you eventually have no pain at all! πŸ™‚ Hugs to you, your fellow clan and Guardians!

  8. YAY !
    ItΒ΄s so nice to see you walking around, Otis !

  9. Otis, are you sure you still aren’t on that magic medicine stuff??? πŸ˜‰

  10. Wow, Otis, you are so lucky to have such a great treat-ment plan for your recovery. Shortie, our black lab, had to go to physical therapy in a pool twice a week for his knee surgery. After the first couple of times, the lure of the water wore off and it took many “treat-ments” just to get him in the pool!
    Mr. Chitters and I are happy your recovery is going so well.
    Kristine

  11. Holy cow Otis four times across the room is amazing!!! Impressive treat-ments, keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  12. spittythekitty

    I think if they were acting in true, selfless solidarity, they should offer their treat-ments to YOU. Just sayin’. It *is* nice to see you up and around–your furry footie looks a little too big for your leg–in that first picture I thought you might be wearing some kind of little bootie, MOL!

  13. Aww, how sweet of them. And it looks like you, I mean, your guardian got a lot of good excersize!

  14. Pingback: Still Truckin’ | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

