The Banana Aftermath

Disciples of Otis,

Brother Oliver here. As Brother Henry explained to you yesterday, we had to give Leader Otis a catnip banana to keep Him calm and quiet. He overdid it though, playing with the banana for approximately 16 hours without a break. The Guardians eventually put Him back in his convalescence room for the night, and I figured He would just sleep off the nip. I figured wrong. When I was allowed to visit Him the next morning, this is what I saw.

Otis, after banana

This is how I found The Leader in the morning.

When I asked the Leader what he was doing, He said He was holding onto the wall because it had tried to run away. He didn’t want it to run away because it really tied the room together. When I asked Him how He was feeling, He rolled toward Me and held one paw up in a strange gesture. I asked Him what that meant and He said, “What do you mean, what does this mean? Can’t you see? I’m giving you the ‘thumbs up’!”

Otis, thumbs up

Leader Otis turned toward Me and did this. He said He was giving Me the ‘thumbs up’.

I started to tell Leader Otis that I hadn’t recognized the ‘thumbs up’ due to His lack of thumbs, but He interrupted Me by saying, “SHHHHHHH…SHHHH….SHHHHHHHHHHHHHH….Brother Oliver, please shush! Can’t you hear that? That sound smells awful!” I had absolutely no idea how to respond to that, but I didn’t even get a chance because Leader Otis suddenly looked up and exclaimed, “Now the ceiling is trying to run away!”

Otis, after banana 2

Leader Otis looked up and said that the ceiling was trying to run away.

That was pretty much it for me. I guess I should just be happy that Leader Otis was too preoccupied with His hallucinations to try to get up and walk on His healing leg. Honestly though, I was really just thankful that Thomas didn’t come downstairs to find Leader Otis in such a state. I don’t think it would have done anything to alter his opinion that Brother Henry, Leader Otis and I are a little bit weird.

So Sayeth Brother Oliver

Operation Hipster

Visit the official Operation Hipster website to support Leader Otis!

19 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

19 responses to “The Banana Aftermath

  1. Thomas may be on to something…

  2. only a little bit?? BOL

  3. mistletoeandhitch

    Well it appears that the nip banana worked in keeping Leader Otis off his feet and immobile, that’s excellent news. We wonder though, where exactly do you get your catnip bananas? We’ve had a few and while they have been very nice it seems they lack the same kick Leader Otis finds in his. Perhaps the Leader is particularly susceptible to the lure of the catnip banana? Or maybe the nip bananas in the mid-Atlantic region are just less potent? Or course the lack of extended time spent with our banana could account for it’s less intense effect. Whatever the case, we are so glad that Leader Otis is feeling no pain. You, Brother Oliver along with Brother Henry, Thomas and the Guardians are doing an impressive job caring for the Leader. I’m sure he will be most grateful when he recovers. We are also grateful for the exceptional job that is being done. We are sure it is difficult to keep one as active as the Leader off his feet. Remember, caregivers need to be taken care of too.

    Purrs to you,
    Mistletoe & Hitch

  4. spittythekitty

    I don’t see anything at all unusual about the Leader’s behavior. Holding up the walls is just a reasonable precaution, because…..well, you never know, that’s reason enough.

    Also, I have been meaning to tell you that ever since the first time I saw your Operation Hipster logo, I have thought to myself, “Hmmm, I wonder why they used an elephant for their logo to help the Leader?” HA HA HA! Today I finally figured it out!!! Sometimes I’m none too bright. Sigh.

  5. That was one potent nip nanner!!

  6. I caught up again, wow, looks like Otis is on the mend? I think he’ll be ok after his nip nanner issues. At least they keep him down! You can always take them away after he’s on his feet.
    As for Thomas thinking you all are weird, I think he’ll change his mind, eventually.

  7. I can’t believe you actually let him have the bananas! Purrs that he gets in his right mind again.

    Hey, maybe you could have Thomas join in the cult when he gets big enough. Maybe he could be the comforter? Or maybe the lookout?

    I hope the Leader feels better soon!

  8. I suggest that you just go along with it the best you can, and also I think you should keep Thomas from coming down 🙂
    But can you tell the Leader once he’s gotten back into reality that sounds don’t smell! Thanks!

    Charity

  9. hehe..the leader is hallucinating..its the right time to srike agents get rady

Leave a Reply

