Maybe It’s Not a Posing Bench

My Disciples,

After My discovery that the strange cardboard object in the living room must be a posing bench (or maybe a sleeping bench), Brothers Oliver and Henry were very excited to give it a try. Brother Oliver went first. He started with a majestic pose, looking off to his left as toward some distant horizon.

Oliver Posing 1

Brother Oliver started by striking a majestic pose, as if he were looking toward a distant horizon.

He then looked upward, as if he were looking to the stars for some form of insight or inspiration. The pose was quite inspirational!

Oliver Posing 2

Next, Brother Oliver looked up. The pose was inspirational.

At this point, Brother Henry insisted that it was his turn. Brother Oliver acquiesced to Brother Henry’s wishes, no doubt because he had recently received an impressive smackdown from The Muscle of The Cult of Otis. Brother Henry sat in front of the posing bench and tried to do his own version of “looking toward the distant horizon”. As he was getting situated, we were all amazed to see Thomas walk up behind him. Thomas said, “Ummmm… Mr. Henry? What the heck are you looking at?”

Thomas and Henry with strange object

As Brother Henry was getting situated, Thomas came up behind him and asked what he was looking at.

Brother Henry said, “Thomas! You startled Me! I’m still getting used to you wandering around the house. Since you asked, I’m not really looking at anything, but this is a posing bench here in front of Me. I’m trying to strike an inspirational pose in front of it!” ย Thomas replied, “That cardboard thing is a posing bench? Really!? That’s weird. I thought it was a scratcher. In fact, I had a ton of fun scratching it last night after you all went downstairs to sleep in the Guardians’ room.” Thomas then shook his head and said, “Guess I still have a lot to learn about this indoor life…” before he turned and wandered off. Brother Henry sat for a moment and then jumped up as if he had been inspired. He declared, “I’m going to try a different pose!”

Henry with new scratcher

After Thomas told Brother Henry that he had been using the posing bench as a scratcher, Brother Henry was inspired to try a different pose.

Both Brother Oliver and I thought that Brother Henry’s new pose looked like a lot of fun. For the next hour, we all took turns imitating that pose, and we all agreed that it would look more convincing if we actually did scratch the posing bench while we did it. I mean, it definitely IS a posing bench and not a scratcher. How could the new kid know better than we three seasoned indoor kitties!?

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

19 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

19 responses to “Maybe It’s Not a Posing Bench

  1. How delightful to see Thomas out and about!

  2. How do you continue to have the trio feel “inspired” to scratch on their posing bench? Catnip rubbed into ours seems to be the best inspiration I can provide for luring them away from more desirable human posing benches. ~ Kat

    • I love it when the Guardians put catnip on My scratcher travelgardeneat, but I also love it when they unexpectedly move it to a new location. I don’t know why, but that always stimulates Me to start scratching it again.

  3. mistletoeandhitch

    Dear Leader Otis, it’s Hitch here. I know Mistletoe normally does the writing but I’m the family expert on cardboard. I think you may have a lounger/scratcher there. After a good lounging session I think you’ll find our bench allows you to have a good stretch and scratch. I’ve found that our Guardians are very enthusiastic when we use the bench this way. That is interesting to us given their reaction when we scratch the large loungers that we allow the Guardians to share. I’d be interested to learn if your Guardians are the same? I suggest you try an experiment in which one of you scratches the human sized lounger then compare the humans reaction to when you scratch the new bench. I have found that they really appreciate the work I do on the bench. It can only be that they want me to leave my special mark on the newest objects to establish ownership. Anyhow, we hope you enjoy your new lounging/scratcher. The huMom has been ending all conversations with Happy Thanksgiving. While it seems odd to me that she doesn’t use this phrase year round, we will follow her lead. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, now and always.

    Purrs to you,
    Mistletoe & Hitch

    • Yeah, the Guardians of Otis seem to get a little bit perturbed when I scratch on their loungers too. They’re so weird sometimes. They haven’t reacted badly to Me scratching the new bench though, so maybe it is meant to be scratched. I too have been hearing the Guardians say “Happy Thanksgiving” to other humans, so it is probably appropriate for we cats to do the same. Happy Thanksgiving M and H!

  4. Oh so fun to see Thomas out and about ๐Ÿ™‚
    I agree with you that the scratcher you got , moore looks like a posing beanch ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Leader Otis, if I may be so bold as to offer my humble suggestion, could you not use the device both as a posing bench and a scratching board, even at the same time?

  6. The youngsters always want to rock and roll.(and it does sort of look like a roller coaster….as well as a comfy coaster?)

  7. Does Thomas have the wrong end of the stick here? I doubt it!
    By the way, it’s wonderful to see him out and interacting with you guys!

  8. Whether it was meant as a posing bench or not, it is certainly a very fine one with such handsome kitties using it ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Surely the thee of you new it wa a scratcher all along but wanted to let the new kid figure it out for himself – I do that all the time!!

  10. Pingback: Plenty of Posing Benches | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

