Bad Dreams Still Haunt Me

My Disciples,

Even after living in The Promised Land for more than six years now, the time I spent in Limbo still haunts Me. I sometimes have terrifying nightmares, during which I apparently shake, swipe with My claws, hiss and growl. Sometimes My legs start moving quickly like I am trying to run away. I usually wake up in the arms of one of the Guardians with their concerned face looking down at Me. By then, the details of the dream have faded, but I am still disoriented and in shock. I must have had a really bad one yesterday, because the Guardians looked even more concerned than usual when they woke Me up. After comforting Me for a while, they placed Me in a basket bed with Brother Oliver who has always been My favorite, consoling pillow.

Otis and Oliver in basket

After the Guardians woke Me up from a bad dream and comforted Me, they allowed Me to lay My head down on My favorite consoling pillow.

Brother Oliver grumbled something as I laid My head upon him. I’m pretty sure it was words of encouragement, only spoken in a grumbly tone because he was so shaken up by the thought of My having a bad dream. I hope these bad dreams fade in time, and that they eventually cease altogether. Until they do though, It’s good to know that I will always have loving Guardians to wake Me up, and a loyal, albeit grumbly, pillow on which to lay My head afterward.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Bad Dreams Still Haunt Me

  1. Leader Otis, I can see the fear and unease in your eyes. I hope you found comfort in Brother Oliver’s snuggles. Scary dreams are the worst.

  2. Oh my Leader Otis. I too have nightmares! I cry out with a pitiful mewing, Mom or Dad come running, and usually I have gone back to sleep. But other times I cry out, and when Mom comes I literally run to her to get comforting scritches and goo goo talk. I hope you and I both loose these awful dreams. Paw pats, Savannah

  3. Sometimes the grumbly ones are the best.

  4. IΒ΄m sure hope theese bad dreams go away !
    So you donΒ΄t have to wake up idisoriented and in shock.

  5. I am so happy that my Oliver and Obi were both rescued from the wild before anything bad could happen to them. Oli was just a couple hours old when some nice old ladies found his litter in the field and took them in. Kitty nightmares would break my heart.

  6. Poor Leader Otis, I’m glad your guardians and Oliver were able to comfort you. Everyone needs a snuggle pillow sometimes! We hope those awful dreams go away too.

  7. Awwww, so sweet to see you snuggling with Oliver!!!!

  8. What a fabulous photo! Leader Otis, I’m sorry you have bad dreams though. You are safe and very loved now.

  9. I am so sorry to hear you still have bad dreams!! Just remember how safe and loved you ae and it will al be ok!! Plus you have your very own cult to look after you, and we will keep you safe pal!!

  10. Poor Otis 😦 Pebble sometimes wakes up with a little meow needing cuddles, and I assume she’s dreamt about when she was a stray, but nothing as bad as this. Unless it’s all those tales of the dreaded dog uprising! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

