Cats Don’t Wear Boots

My Disciples,

Last night I heard a bunch of weird yowls, hisses and other cat noises coming from the living room. I ran in to see what was going on and discovered that the Guardians were watching some horrible movie about how cat’s wear boots. I think the main cat in the movie was named “Puss” or something like that, but I really couldn’t concentrate on anything other than those ridiculous boots. I sat down on the floor in front of the TV and looked at the Guardians, trying My best to convey My disappointment in them for buying in to such an implausible storyline.

Otis and Puss in Boots

Seriously Guardians? A cat wearing boots? I thought you two were smarter than this.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, the cat was also wearing a hat! That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard! A cat would never wear a hat… ummmm… well… I guess there was The Cat in the Hat, but I think that was just supposed to be ironic or something. Oh… ahhhhh… yeah, there was the one time that I wore a hat too, I guess. OK, OK. So the hat may not be all that ridiculous, but the boots! Totally unbelievable. I thought the sword was pretty cool though.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

10 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

10 responses to “Cats Don’t Wear Boots

  1. We’ve seen cats wearing all manner of things but the looks on their faces generally indicate that sharp things might soon be unfurled (and no, not swords – you surely don’t need one of those!)

    • I don’t need a sword!? But what about when the Guardians trim My claws and make them blunt? If I had a sword I would still be able to poke holes in the couch afterwards!

  2. And as if that feather in the hat would last more than 30 seconds around a cat….less if catnip exposure had been recent.
    (But RC said might be recommended for cats who have owners who frequently do not notice their cat huddling resulting in bruised paws?)

  3. Batya

    I think this is what is called poetic license, which loosely translates as tweaking the truth for the sake of the story. And that was a cartoon cat, right? Based on a fairy tale, not a real cat forced into unnecessary boots? But you’re right to make the point that cats don’t wear boots, hats, etc. (Leader Otis, what’s your stand on sweaters when it’s cold and the human wants to conserve energy and needs to save money?)

    • Hmmmm…I guess maybe it was a cartoon cat. A fairy tale sounds like something I would like to chase and bat at though. Oh…I guess it’ “tale”, not “tail”…but still. They make sweaters for cats? I think those would be great for kitties that like to wear them. If kitty seems uncomfortable though, I don’t think I would make him or her wear the sweater. Most of us kitties are fortunate to have our own built-in sweaters that grow thicker if we get cold. 🙂

  4. Oh Otis Otis Otis.. You don’t understand! Even if it is ridiculous it still promotes kitties, and anything that promotes kitties can’t be a bad thing.. And using Antonio Bandaras for the voice… well that just suckers in all us females, makes us want a handsome kitty of our own to mew at us! Another good thing! So, boots or no boots, kitty promotion can only help kitties, right?

    • I don’t know Andrea. The kitties were all running around outside with no Guardians to keep them safe! I would have changed the story from “Puss in Boots” to “Puss Inside”. 🙂

  5. LOL our guardians just watched that same movie last week!!!

Leave a Reply

