A Proposition for Mama Cat

My Disciples,

After thinking long and hard on the disparity in the skills of the cathletes that will be participating in this year’s Catlympics, I came up with an idea.  I called Mama Cat over to My Outdoor Domain this morning and asked her if she would be willing to train the other cathletes and teach them some of her moves.  Her eyes narrowed, and she said, “You want Me to be a trainer?  But I want to compete!  It’s my lifelong dream!  I want to be a cathlete, not a trainer!”

Otis Asking Mama

I asked Mama Cat if she would be interested in training the other cathletes for the Catlympics. She thought I was saying she couldn’t compete.

I tried to calm her down and let her know that I was actually asking that she be both trainer and cathlete.  It’s a bit unprecedented, but it was the only way I could think of to give the other kitties even half a chance.  I also thought that training others might help Mama Cat take her own skills to the next level.  No matter what I said though, she just kept repeating, “I can’t believe you’re not going to let me compete!  I knew it!  I knew this would happen!”  I finally stopped trying and called in Brother Oliver for backup.

Asking Mama 2

Mama Cat was no longer hearing what I was saying. She was caught up in the idea that she would not be allowed to compete. I turned around and called for Brother Oliver’s assistance.

Brother Oliver arrived and was able to calm Mama Cat down.  He told her that, of course, she would be a competitor even if she decided to say yes to My training idea.  He told her that I was simply trying to make the games more competitive because her skills were beyond any I had ever seen.

Oliver calming Mama down.

Brother Oliver managed to get Mama Cat calmed down. He filled her in on what I really had in mind.

After hearing Brother Oliver’s explanation, Mama Cat turned to Me and said, “Ohhhhhhh…I see!  I train the other kitties, but I still get to compete!  Why didn’t you say so Leader Otis!  I accept.”  Mama Cat then jumped down and ran back over to her house, presumably to fill in Cookie and Nacho on what had just transpired.  I watched her go, feeling somewhat befuddled.  Brother Oliver turned to Me and said, “Leader Otis…I can give you some training in how to communicate more clearly if you would like…”  I guess he saw My answer written all over My face, because he quickly turned and went back inside the house.  I felt completely satisfied with My communication skills.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

21 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

21 responses to “A Proposition for Mama Cat

  1. 2 cats

    The 2nd photo where Mama cat has her back to you makes me laugh. My 2 cats do exactly the same to me if they are unhappy with me.

    As ever, big love for Mama Cat!

  2. “CATHLETE ”
    OTIS ……….
    YOU ALWAYS MAKE ME SMILE 🙂

    • What else would you call a true Catlympian? 🙂

      • ——————
        NOTHING ELSE OTIS ….
        YOU HAVE ALL THE WORDS RIGHT – AND WHAT’S MORE …..
        JUST TELLING YOU
        THAT YOU BRNG TONS O SMILES
        OVER HERE AND I GOT THE KIDS THAT I VOLUNTEER WITH TO CHECK OUT YOUR WORLD ….. SO IF YOU SEE A LOT OF CANADIANS IN YOUR STATS – THAT’S BECAUSE YOU HAVE ABOUT 30 KIDS AGE -6 – 12 LOVING WHAT YOU ARE ALL ABOUT ……….
        🙂
        DO YOU KNOW RUMPYDOG ?
        RUMPYDOG TOO
        I KNOW YOU DON’T LIKE DOGS DEAR OTIS –
        🙂
        BUT YOU GUYS ARE BRINGING TONS O JOY TO KIDS XOXOXOX
        CAT
        THE NON
        “CATHLETE ”
        🙂 LOL XO

      • Actually, I’m friends with Rumpydog, Cat! I’m still wary of other dogs though as they used to chase Me when I was wandering alone in the wilderness. Plus, there’s that whole “long-feared dog uprising” to worry about. I’m really happy that I’m bringing joy to you and all of those children! I hope they will also learn some lessons about how to keep kitties safe along the way. 🙂

      • THEY ARE 🙂
        RUMPYDOG AND YOU ARE FRIENDS 🙂 YAY …….
        YOU GUYS TEACH SUCH GOOD LESSONS AND BRING HUMOUR – LOVE AND AWARENESS 🙂
        WE HAVE A TON TO LEARN FROM ANIMALS 🙂
        WHEN THEY ARE TIRED – THEY REST …..
        WHEN THEY LOVE – THEY LOVE WITH ALL THEIR HEART 🙂
        …… WELL YOU KNOW 🙂 YOU ARE A CAT XX
        MY REAL NAME IS CATHERINE …….
        AND I AM REALLY MORE A DOG PERSON …LOL …..:) NAHHHH …
        SHHH JUST KIDDING ..:)
        I LOVE ALL ANIMALS – THEY FASCINATE ME …..
        …..
        SO OTIS …….
        YOU KEEP DOING WHAT YOU ARE DOING 🙂
        THERE IS A GIANT HUMANE SOCIETY HERE IN TORONTO …
        MAKES ME SAD WHEN I SEE THE LITTLE ANIMALS AND THE BIG ONES TOO ….IN CAGES …WAITING TO BE LOVED ……U KNOW ?
        ……
        MUCH LOVE TO YOU OTIS AND BROTHER HENRY AND OLIVER AND MAMA CAT …..
        AND TO YOUR GUARDIANS 🙂
        YOU ARE DOING A BEAUTIFUL JOB OF RAISING AWARENESS AND MAKING THINGS FUN AS WELL ……
        I LOVE YOU GUYS A LOT 🙂
        SAY HI TO RUMPYDOG TOO 🙂
        ONE OF THE FIRST ANIMALS I STARTED FOLLOWING WHEN I MADE MY SITE HERE 🙂
        DOGS AND CATS – THEY CAN GET ALONG 🙂 🙂 🙂
        JUST LIKE ALL KINDS OF HUMAN BEINGS ……..
        🙂 XO
        BIG HUGS
        CAT- CATHERINE ……
        THE HUMAN 🙂

      • Thannks Cat. Big kitty head butts from The Brothers and Me. 🙂

  3. Otis, we think you communicate perfectly!

  4. Oh Mr Otis…send Mama Cat to me!!! Please, please, please!! My Mom has some frequent flier miles Mama Cat can use and I would pick her up at the airport…I have been trying so hard with my modified half and full reclining Flying Squirrel Moves…but I just can’t get them right yet….maybe I could at least get her pawtograph?

  5. Sometimes cats do have a problem with their hearing…. like June Buggie!

  6. How wonderful that others will benefit from Mama Cat’s skill and technical prowess!!!!

  7. I’m glad Momma Cat finally got the message! She’s got some serious skills!

  8. Body language says so much! So glad Mamma finally calmed down enough to listen! Serious training ahead

Leave a Reply

