Security Outpost Alpha

My Disciples,

This morning, as I entered My Outdoor Domain, I noticed that Brother Henry was sitting in a box.  I was excited because it was a brand new box, and one that I had not yet had the pleasure of sitting in.  I approached Brother Henry and asked him if I could have a turn.  Brother Henry replied, “I’m sorry Leader Otis, but this is no ordinary box.  This is Security Outpost Alpha.  From this elevated position I can easily scan the backyard for signs of danger, including the long-feared dog uprising.  Please feel free to bask in the sun, chase flies, or enjoy the breeze, secure in the knowledge that I will be right here watching over you.”

Now, Brother Henry is The Muscle of The Cult of Otis, and as such, he is My head of security.  Even though I’m The Leader, I cannot override Brother Henry in matters of security.  So, as badly as I wanted to sit in Security Outpost Alpha, It simply wasn’t going to happen.  Instead, I attempted to do as Brother Henry suggested and went over and plopped down in a patch of sun.  Unfortunately, it was hard to enjoy that sun with the tantalizing Security Outpost Alpha sitting just a few feet away.

Security Outpost Alpha

I tried to enjoy the sun, but I couldn't stop thinking about Security Outpost Alpha.

Eventually I gave up and went inside.  Much to My surprise, when I entered the living room I found another new box!  I became very excited at that point and started walking toward it to investigate, and possibly sit in it.  Before I reached the box though, Brother Henry came flying from out of nowhere and jumped into it himself.  He snapped to attention and said, “Brother Henry reporting for duty at Security Outpost Beta sir!”  I sighed deeply, and then left the room to go seek solace in My food bowl.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

12 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

12 responses to “Security Outpost Alpha

  1. Brother Henry takes his duties very seriously indeed and cannot be faulted for that!

  2. hopewellmomschoolagain

    Well done Guardians! A new box for inside! And kudos, too, to Henry for his professionalism!

  3. No THAT was funny! Brother Henry is ever vigilant! Awesome workforce you’ve got there.

    xoxo
    Ms. Stella O’Houligan

  4. Home security is important. Still, it’s a shame you didn’t get a turn to sit in the box.

  5. We can only hope for gamma and delta outposts to appear and distract him so you can have a go at alpha and beta 😉

  6. Pingback: Security Outpost Alpha Revisited | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

