Unstable Stanley

My Disciples,

You may recall meeting The Mighty Stanley in past Blog of Otis posts.  He is the biggest kitty in the neighborhood, and he is a handsome tuxedo boy.  But poor Stanley is not mentally stable.  He comes over seeking attention from the Guardians, but he quickly snaps and tries to scratch, bite or otherwise attack them.  The Guardians know that this behavior is common in stressed out kitties, and they give him positive attention like treats and catnip.  They also get him to play with feather toys and expend some of his nervous energy.  It is so sad to watch though because I know Stanley could be a healthy, well-adjusted kitty if only his guardians would give him the proper care.

Stanley in box

Poor Stanley. He is mighty, and he is also mighty unstable.

The Guardians will continue to work with Stanley and try to reduce his anxiousness and tension.  He is tightly wound at the moment, but he seems to be reaching out for help.  If he doesn’t get that help in his own home, it’s hard to say how much of a difference the Guardians of Otis will be able to make.

So Sayeth Otis

 

****************************

Wear the Symbols of Otis

Help spread The Good Word by wearing images of the Patron Saints, the icon of the Limbo Kitties or The Leader Himself.  From now through Sunday, get 40% off on all Cult of Otis T-shirts in the Cult of Otis Zazzle store.  At checkout, use the code FINDSHIRT4ME to receive your discount.

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

14 Comments

Filed under The Good Word

14 responses to “Unstable Stanley

  1. I am sure you have tried communicating that to Stanley’s owners. Maybe you just need to take evasive action. We had neighbors whose cat continually went to a different neighbors home (one without the two little yappie dogs our neighbor has) and those folks ended up coming over and arranged to officially adopt the poor cat. I was so relieved knowing that he would be so much better cared for. He would sometimes come into our home and sleep in the bathroom sink. But with the six I already am owned by I could do little more than just love him when I saw him.

    Good luck!

    • I think that is the mode that the Guardians are in, Ms. Stella- giving Stanley some love whenever they see him. Apparently kitty owners can be as unpredictable (and grumpy) as their cats sometimes are if they are approached by their neighbors. Who knew?

  2. Having a tuxedo cat myself (weighing in at a whopping 8lbs) I can attest to the fact that tuxies are emotional. Our Ben is very affectionate and demands a lot of individual attention and snuggles, no perfunctory strokes for him, he needs serious fawning. He also has a bit of a dark side, we call it his Napoleon Complex because he is so little. He will occasionally chase and terrorize the other cats for no apparent reason but maybe for fun or to prove his daring, I’m not sure. The point is, tuxies are complex cats even when they have a loving and active home life, so the Guardians may have their work cut out for them with Stanley, but it looks to me like he is worth the effort 🙂

    • Yeah, Cat’s Cats, I think Stanley is worth the effort too. He’s grumpy, but I think he’s still a good guy. He’s never hissed or swatted at Me when I see him from My Outdoor Domain. He just gets grumpy with people.

  3. I’m glad your guardians are doing what they can… any love is better than no love.
    Also, I’m not sure how you feel about this Otis as I am not fully briefed on your “laws” but the girls made sure I included you on my versatile blogger list as we are all big fans and wanted you to know it… you can accept or not, no hard feelings either way. http://beingjulz.com/2012/04/05/thank-you-for-the-versatile-blogger-award/

  4. Why would people have a beautiful cat and not give him lots of affection and playtime and lovins? I am glad I have my forever Mama now. She knows how to treat a cat.
    TeddyCat

  5. It makes me sad to learn of kitties like Stanley.

  6. Aw, what a sweet looking kitty! I hope your guardians can make a difference for him!

  7. Pingback: Stanley Is Not So Unstable | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

