I Am a Healer

My Disciples,

You are probably aware that I  have many different responsibilities as The Leader of The Cult of Otis, but did you know I also act as personal healer for the Guardians of Otis?  It’s true!  Whenever they are ill, I must share My body warmth with them to help cook the sickness out of their system.  Truthfully, Brothers Oliver and Henry also often play a role in the healing rituals, but I think they would both agree that neither of them is able to achieve as high a level of body warmth output as Me.  They tell Me it probably has something to do with My longer fur or superior svelteness, but I also think it has to do with My advanced heating postures.

Otis the healer 1

When the Guardians of Otis become ill, I must help them cook away the sickness. I am very good at it.

Warming the sickness out of a person is very hard work, but the Guardians do so much for Me that I gladly make the effort to help them heal.  I’ll even go the extra mile and stretch My legs out over them to create the maximum surface for heat exchange.

Otis the healer 2

Even though it is physically taxing, I will do whatever it takes to help get the Guardians well.

Yes, it can be exhausting being such an effective healer, but when a Guardian gets sick I step up to the plate and stick it out for as long as it takes to get them well.  In the end, having a happy, healthy Guardian is its own reward.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

12 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

12 responses to “I Am a Healer

  1. You are so generous with your healing abilities! Such effort you expended!

  2. I totally agree: building up heat is a great way to get sickness – or any bodily injury – out of the system. One of the greatest things about the qigong/tai chi that I do – for the past six years – is that I’ve learned to focus the ailments out – it hasn’t failed me yet. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  3. Hey Otis! Romeo here! I often have to do this for my one guardian who gets sick often because he is a teacher. I’m a pretty big kitty. My sister, Juliet, is smaller and doesn’t have as much heat output like you and I. So I’m the one gifted with the healing powers in my domain. I think I do my best work at night sleeping on top of my guardian. I hear him talk about how he has to contort his body around me. I think he does this so he can have as much contact with my healing powers as possible, although then I don’t know why he complains of leg or back pain sometimes when he gets up. Doesn’t he realize 17 pounds of healing power should overcome any pain he should ever have? I know it’s working because sometimes he wakes up at night sweating too!! My guardians are so lucky to have me, as your guardians are so lucky to have you too, Otis!! Keep up the good work!

  4. RC Cat: “Otis, you have trained your Guardians well. They obediently stay still allowing you to accomplish what needs to be done. Excellent. Well done, Otis.”

  5. This is one of the most important jobs for kitties, one which Pebble excels in 🙂

  6. I am so grateful to my Oliver for the Purr Therapy he provides when I am sick. Obi is just beginning to train in these therapies; he defers to the expert for now, though he will help out with foot Purr Therapy in especially dire circumstances.

Leave a Reply

