Trip To The Bad Place Part 3- What I Discovered About The Radumographs

My Disciples,

So, after I returned from The Bad Place, enjoyed a tasty treat, and slept on the Guardian’s coat for a few hours, I was awakened by the sound of the front door opening.  The other Guardian had arrived home, and she asked the Guardian that had taken Me to The Bad Place to show her the pictures from the radumograph machine.  I took the opportunity to sneak up behind the Guardians and listen to them as they looked at the pictures and talked.

The first thing I found out is that the radumograph machine takes pictures of the insides of things.  In this case, the machine took pictures of the insides of Me!  I saw it all right up there on the computer screen as the Guardians’ were talking.  The Guardian that had taken Me to The Bad Place was pointing out My bones, My poo that hadn’t been pooed yet, My pee that hadn’t been peed yet, and even some gas that was floating around inside Me!  He seemed most concerned about one of the joints in the leg that I have been favoring.  If I was looking at the radumograph picture correctly, it definitely looked like he was pointing at the main area that I am experiencing ouchiness.

Otis Xray 1

It was amazing what I could see on My radumograph picture. It made Me think that I better hang out close to the litter box.

The Guardian said that the cause of the ouchiness in My joint was something called “Art Thritis”.  This was puzzling to Me.  I mean, I like art a lot.  I even used to help one of the Guardians with her paintings, but I had never felt any pain because of the art.

Otis helping with a painting.

I used to help one of the Guardians with her paintings, but it never hurt. I'm not sure how I got Art Thritis.

As the Guardians talked some more, I heard them saying that the doctor at The Bad Place had said My Art Thritis might have been the result of an old injury.  Maybe even a broken hip when I was young and still growing.  The Guardians seemed to have a theory about when and how this might have happened, and they seemed angry at someone at another Bad Place where they took Me to get neutered six years ago.  I’m not sure what that was about, but after they left, I jumped up to the keyboard and took a closer look at My ouchy area.

Closeup of Otis's Ouchy area

I was on My back when they took the radumograph pictures, so that's My right hip that looks all ouchy. I guess that's the Art Thritis I'm seeing.

I’m still confused about what all of this means, but I trust the Guardians to protect Me and keep Me safe, healthy and happy.  I can tell that they are concerned about Me, but from the bits and pieces of conversation that I have overheard in the past few days I also know that they have a plan to address My Art Thritis.  I just hope it doesn’t involve too many more trips to The Bad Place!

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

24 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

24 responses to “Trip To The Bad Place Part 3- What I Discovered About The Radumographs

  1. Hey Otis…this is Juliet, aka: Baby or Stinkboot. I have an ouchy on my right puddy paw and have been limping too. My guardians are thinking of taking me to the bad place to have it looked at. I’m really scared, but I know if you can do it, so can I. Thanks for showing me how to hide in the sink when I get there. I hadn’t thought of that. I also hope my guardians wear a coat for me to hide in…I think I’ll make that suggestion to them, although I have a feeling when I get back home after being gone for a year or so I may have to hide in the basement for awhile until I get used to my surroundings again. I may not be as brave as you, but my guardians think I may have the same art thritis that you do. I’m anxious to hear what happens next…

    • I hope all goes well at The Bad Place Juliet. Ever since I returned, all of My meals have tasted a little bit different, like maybe there is something new in My food. Weird. Anyway, be brave and definitely use the sink if you feel you need to!

  2. Otis, RC Cat here. My Guardians have a similar photo from when I had bad tummy issues one time. It’s such an odd picture – I prefer ones with fur. Your Guardians will make a plan to help that ouchiness. It may mean more nice warm spots to lounge! It will be OK. (but how did that art get inside you down there? I’m worried about that.) Soft paw pat.

    • I’m not sure how the art thritis got in Me, but the Guardians seem to have some suspicions that it happened years ago when I went to get neutered. Something really bad happened at The Bad Place back then, but I have pretty much blocked it all from My memory. I think the Guardians do have a plan to help Me get rid of My ouchiness, and in the meantime they’ve been extra nice to Me carrying Me wherever I want to go!

  3. Fran Scoville

    Otis, this is Otis of Portland – now South Carolina, I know what you mean about Art Thritius. I, too, have had some aches and pains but now that I live in this wonderful warm climate I do feel better. My Guardian found me when I was one day old! She has taken care of all my needs and we have traveled back and forth across the country. In a few months she is getting married and I am wondering if I will have to move again? Today is something called ” Ground Hog Day”. Why would they name a day after a ground hog? Oh well, the sun is shining and birds are singing! As the Guardians say . . .”It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood”.

    • Hello Otis of Portland! Are you also a tabby brother or are you, as the humans say, a different breed of cat? That’s exciting that your Guardian is about to get married! My Guardians got married shortly before they swept Me up in The Capture. I remember they had a party in their backyard, and I was there circling just out of reach of the guests. One of them looked at Me and said, “That cat is so ready for a breakthrough…” Little did I know, she was right. Give your Guardian a big head butt from Me as a sign of congratulations!

  4. Oh Dog! I hear that Arthritis stuff is no joke! That’s why the vet said I needed to lose a couple more pounds. Maybe it hides inside cookies.

  5. Chris

    We’re so sorry about your old injury, Otis. We all are purring your ouchie responds well to the treatment your Guardians have in mind.

    And may I say you’re looking quite svelte in your picture!

    Buggy and Family

  6. Hang in there, Otis. I’m sure that your Guardians will do all they can to help you feel as best as possible.

  7. Awww, poor Otie Potie 😦 I have Art Thritis too, it’s not fun, but if you eat your pills they do help.

  8. hopewellmomschoolagain

    Poor Otis! We hope the Guardians will get you one of those lovely items they call a “heating pad” (we call it “heaven”). Your ouchiness will be much better after a nice long bath and nap on this haven of warmth!

    C, C and CC in Ohio

  9. Pingback: Working On My Side Plunk | The Blog of Otis

  10. Pingback: The Great Claw Trimming Conspiracy | The Blog of Otis

  11. Pingback: The Guardians Are Strange Sometimes | The Blog of Otis

  12. Pingback: Stanley Is Not So Unstable | The Blog of Otis

  13. Pingback: A Trying Day for The Leader and Thomas | The Blog of Otis

  14. Pingback: The Leader Hurts | The Blog of Otis

  15. Pingback: Mama Cat Stopped By! | The Blog of Otis

  16. Pingback: The Inspection | The Blog of Otis

  17. Pingback: One Of The Guardians Is Clumsy | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

