Mama Cat Was On The Roof!

My Disciples,

Yesterday I looked out the window toward Mama Cat, Cookie and Nacho’s house and I was shocked by what I saw.  Mama Cat was up on the roof!  I yelled, “Mama Cat!  What are you doing!?  Get Down from there!”

Mama Cat on the roof.

Mama Cat was on the roof. I yelled at her to get down because it wasn't safe.

Mama Cat looked at me with a puzzled expression.  She asked why she should get down.  I told her that she was up too high and it wasn’t safe.  I said that if she fell off the roof she could get hurt.  She looked down and seemed to be contemplating the distance to the ground.

Mama Cat looking down from roof.

I told Mama cat that she was up too high. She looked down as if to see whether or not I was telling the truth.

After assessing her situation for a moment, Mama Cat said, “Leader Otis, it doesn’t look that high to me.  I think maybe I can jump down…”  I yelled, “Noooooo!  Mama Cat!  Don’t you dare jump!  I’m guessing you must be at least a million feet up in the air out there!”

Mama Cat looking down from roof as if she's going to jump.

Mama cat said she thought she could jump down. I was afraid she was going to try it.

After looking over the edge for several more seconds, Mama Cat backed away and said, “Alright Leader Otis.  If you say it is too high, I guess I will trust you.  I’m still not so sure though.  I mean, why would my guardians let me come up here if it’s so high that I might fall and get hurt?”  All I could say to that was, “I wish I knew, Mama Cat.  I really wish I knew.”  Mama Cat then shrugged and walked out of sight over the peak of the roof.

Much later I breathed a sigh of relief as I saw Mama Cat walking around back down on the ground.  I didn’t want to tell her when she was still on the roof, because I thought it might cause her to panic, but it wasn’t just the height of the roof that was making Me nervous.  I frequently see huge eagles flying overhead in our neighborhood.  Mama Cat only weighs about five pounds, and she’d be a pretty easy snack for a bird that weighs more than double that.  If one swooped down on her on the roof, her only choice would be whether to jump or get eaten.  I know Mama Cat’s guardians don’t want to lose her.  I just wish they would start showing it.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

14 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

14 responses to “Mama Cat Was On The Roof!

  1. 2 cats

    Pretty unusual for a ginger cat to be female, so Mama cat is extra special and I am glad she is ok.

  2. Batya

    Thank you Otis for warning her not to jump. The thought of the eagles is very scary. If I could figure out Mama Cat’s address, I would print this and mail it to her thoughtless people. Won’t call them guardians because they aren’t taking care of her, or Nacho, or Cookie. Sad.

  3. Otis that was so scary. Maybe they don’t know she found a way up there? One day I had forgotten something and headed back to the little townhouse where we were at the time – and was stunned to see one of our cats sitting on the roof. But she was sitting inside when I got inside. We discovered that she was going out the cat door onto the balcony and climbing up the porch support and jumping on the roof and crying as we left. We had to remove the cat door – which made the other 2 cats mad because they liked sunning themselves. Hope her guardians eliminate her escape route! Good job, Otis.

  4. I am in a unique situation, in that I am a Disciple of Otis but also a Guardian of the Three Eagles (Windy, Stormy, and Isaiah at the Avian Reconditioning Center for Birds of Prey in Florida). As someone who is familiar with Eagles, I won’t tell You to rest completely assured, Otis, that Mama Cat is out of danger, but the likelihood that Your friend would be snatched up by an Eagle is low. Eagles are opportunists that will seek out carrion or steal food from other birds or predators before They will catch Their own food. They are very lazy! Desperate times always call for desperate measures, and a full-grown, mature Bald Eagle can and will take a Cat or other small mammal if needed but there’s usually enough “other stuff” for Eagles to eat before they’ll consider a pretty ginger like Mama Cat. There’s a far higher threat that Mama Cat would fall off the roof and be injured that way, but perhaps Your Guardians would consider warning Mama Cat’s Guardians about the potential Eagle threat, though, if it would help them bring her inside. Merry Catsmas & Happy Box Day to the

    -Jessica
    Guardian of the Three Eagles

  5. Pingback: Seven Days of Limbo Kitties- Day 2 | The Blog of Otis

  6. Pingback: Mama Cat is Getting Impatient | The Blog of Otis

  7. Teri Collet

    I will be doing a presentation to hospice professionals and would like to be able to use this photo in one of my PowerPoint slides.

    May I have permsision to do so?

  8. Pingback: Mama Cat’s Aerial Adventure- Part I | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

