It Wasn’t What I Thought It Was

My Disciples,

I got so excited this morning when I thought I spotted a bug in the kitchen.  I haven’t seen any bugs since it got cold outside, so I felt like I had hit the jackpot spotting this one.  I immediately crouched down and focused on My prey, getting ready to pounce.

Otis ready to pounce

I crouched down and got ready to pounce on the bug. I was so excited!

As I prepared to pounce, I noticed that the bug wasn’t moving.  Then I looked closer and noticed that the bug wasn’t even a bug.  It was just a piece of plant or something that had probably come in on one of the Guardians’ shoes.  I felt completely deflated after I made the realization.

Otis lying on his side looking at a speck of dirt

It wasn't a bug. I was so disappointed.

I laid there on the floor for at least 20 minutes, completely bugless.  I stared at the bit of plant and tried to turn it into a bug with My mind, but that didn’t seem to do anything.

Eventually, Brother Oliver walked by with his tail swishing back and forth.  I decided that it might be just as fun to attack that tail as it would have been to attack a bug.  I jumped up, ran over, and started batting Brother Oliver’s tail around between My paws, and do you know what he said?  He said, “Hey!  Stop bugging me!”  That’s when I decided that Brother Oliver must be able to read minds.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

2 responses to “It Wasn’t What I Thought It Was

  1. (Oddly this episode also seems to describe people during the holiday season?)
    Otis thanks for the reflective poses in these picture – I just realized you are obviously definitely must be a distant relative to our beloved TIger who, at a very ancient age and a good life, went on ahead of us last year. He too was a great hunter of bugs. I think he would greatly approve of your wisdoms.

Leave a Reply

