Domino Keeps Asking For High Fours

My Disciples,

Every time The Brothers and I are out in My Outdoor Domain, Domino stops by and asks one of us to give him a high four.  Yesterday, the door to outside was open, but I was relaxing inside on the couch because it was a little too cold and wet out there.  Just as I was dozing off, I heard Domino calling from outside, “Hellllooooo?  Are there any cool cats in there?”  I decided I better go see what he needed.  I walked into My Outdoor Domain and Domino was staring through the wire at Me.

Domino staring through a wire wall.

I heard Domino calling from outside so I went to see what he wanted. He was waiting on the other side of the wire.

I said, “Hey Dom, it’s kind of wet out here and I was trying to take a nap inside.  What do you need?”  Domino stuck his paw through the wire and said, “Hey man!  High four!”  I was so weary that at first I just sat and looked at him.  I didn’t understand why he always wants everyone to high four him.

Domino reaching through the wire with one paw while Otis looks at him.

Domino wanted another high four. At first I did not respond.

After he held his paw out for several seconds Domino said, “C’mon man!  Don’t leave me hanging!  It’s cold and wet out here.  My guardians have locked me outside again and I feel all alone.  I just need a little reassurance that someone, ANYONE cares that I’m out here!”

That hit Me like a ton of bricks.  I immediately raised My paw and slapped Domino four.

Domino and Otis slap each other four.

I felt horrible for leaving Domino hanging. I gave him four.

Having dedicated My whole life to helping kitties that are trapped in the wilderness or in Limbo, I felt very ashamed that I hadn’t immediately understood Domino’s need for contact and reassurance.  As he walked away I called after him, letting him know that I do care, and The Brothers care, the Guardians of Otis care and so do all of My Disciples.

Domino walking away.

As Domino left, I told him that lots of us care about him and want to help.

Just before he rounded the fence and disappeared from sight, I heard Domino say, “Thanks man.  I really appreciate that.  Now if only you could get my guardians to care…”

Again I felt like I had been hit by a ton of bricks, and all I could think of to say in return was, “I’ll keep trying Dom…hang in there.”

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

 

11 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, The Good Word

11 responses to “Domino Keeps Asking For High Fours

  1. Linda Koch

    Poor Domino! I don’t know how anyone can think it’s ok to do that to a kitty (or any other animal for that matter!). Don’t loose hope Leader Otis! We’re all with you and hopefully, we can all make a difference in the lives of kitties like Domino.

  2. Batya

    I feel so bad for Domino and all the other cats living in Limbo. I hope his guardians read your blog. I’m sure Domino wishes he could live with you and the Brothers and your Guardians.

    • I think you’re right Batya. Domino wishes he could live with us. So does Mama Cat, Cookie, Poppy, Zephyr, Nacho, and a handful of other neighborhood Limbo cats. They are all at the whim of their guardians though, and the Guardians of Otis know that all they can do is continue to try to educate people about protecting and taking better care of their cats. Of course, they can also continue to give nurturing attention and the occasionally catnip treat to these poor neglected kitties in the meantime.

  3. Pingback: Seven Days of Limbo Kitties- Day 1 | The Blog of Otis

  4. Pingback: The Word is Out | The Blog of Otis

  5. Pingback: Follow-up Help For Franklin | The Blog of Otis

  6. Pingback: Mama Cat Stopped By! | The Blog of Otis

Leave a Reply

