Nelson Is Missing

My Disciples,

My spirits have now sunk to an all-time low.  For the third day in a row I am filled with sorrow to report that one of My feline brothers has gone missing.  This time it is a tail-less fellow tabby named Nelson.  It’s bad enough that Nelson is missing, but the poster indicates that he requires urgent medical attention.  I am at a loss for words to describe how I felt when I read that.

Lost Cat Poster for Nelson

Nelson is lost and requires immediate medical attention. I purr that he is OK.

It might be because this is the third day in a row that I have been presented with news of a missing kitty, but I am feeling very angry with Nelson’s guardians right now.  I am a compassionate Leader and I understand that guardians are only human, and thus prone to making mistakes, but I suspect that Nelson is missing because he never had the safe, secure boundaries that every kitty needs.

Every day I look out the windows of My safe Indoor Domain, or I look through the secure wire of My Outdoor Domain and I see kitties in Limbo wandering the wilderness.  I see Domino, Cookie, Nacho, Mama Cat, Zephyr, Poppy, Stanley, two kittens whose names I do not yet know, a long-haired orange tabby who I have not yet met, a short-haired gray tabby that lives across the street and the list goes on.  All of these cats live within one block of My house, and they all have guardians, but none of them is kept safely contained.  Every single one of them is a lost cat poster waiting to happen.  My mission continues to spread The Good Word about keeping cats safe, healthy and happy.  I purr that you, My Disciples, will do all that you can to share My Teachings with others and make the world a better, safer place for all of felinekind.

So Sayeth Otis

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

6 Comments

Filed under The Good Word

6 responses to “Nelson Is Missing

  1. Thanks so much for writing this. I’ve been preaching the indoor gospel (don’t have a yard for an outdoor contained run yet) for years, and it gets a little old watching cats die before their time out of laziness and misguided love. My roommates started letting my first cat out without my knowledge, and then I carried on the tradition later because I couldn’t say no to his insistent cries at the door. In the end he paid the price for my weakness, and it broke my heart. What’s even more sad is that when I talk to people about taking care of their cats properly, and mention words like ‘indoor’ and ‘ingredients list’ and ‘regular vet visits’ I get scoffed at more than not. I don’t get it.

  2. Batya

    This posting is Excellent; all kitties need to be safely indoors. How could someone rate it poor?

  3. Waterbug, companion to Chris

    Purring for all lost and limbo kitties. 😦

    Waterbuggy

Leave a Reply

