I Am Otis! Hear Me…Ummmm…Meow Very Loudly!

My Disciples,

I was feeling a bit down yesterday because I was beginning to lose hope that I would ever be able to effect any change in the way people think about cat safety.  I decided that maybe if I got more assertive and really tried to make Myself heard people would have no choice but to listen.  I felt a mighty roar welling up inside Me, and I rushed outside to My Outdoor Domain so I could let the roar out without breaking any windows in My Indoor Domain.  I took a deep breath and then let the world have it!

Otis in his outdoor enclosure with his mouth wide open.

I took a deep breath and opened My mouth to let out a mighty roar!

I opened My mouth and braced Myself for what was sure to be the most deafening, blood-curdling roar that had ever been roared.  Strangely, what I heard come out of My mouth was “MEEEEEOOOOOOWWWWWW!!!”  Not exactly a roar, but it was still a fairly mighty meow.  I’m hoping that My mighty meow reverberated throughout the city, and that all who heard it trembled in fear and immediately safely contained their cats.  I’m not sure that anything like that actually did happen, but I’m going to continue to imagine that it did.  Sometimes you need a little wishful thinking to make sure you don’t lose hope and stop fighting for your wish.

So Sayeth Otis

 

Cult of Otis Store

Cult of Otis shirts, posters, mugs, stickers and more!

7 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, The Good Word

7 responses to “I Am Otis! Hear Me…Ummmm…Meow Very Loudly!

  1. Brenda

    Otis, I would like to comment regarding kitties being allowed to roam free in the outside world. I have been very sad lately as I have had to say goodbye to my Mr. Tom. Mr. Tom was a beautiful, long-haired black & white kitty who was what we humans call a ‘stray, feral’ cat prior to his being ‘caught up in the capture’. He roamed the woods near our house without a comfortable place to sleep or play, never knowing where he would be able to find food or water. In addition, other people did not want him near their homes so he was also subject to cruel behavior on the part of humans, dogs chasing him and was in danger of being killed or maimed by other wild animals such as coyotes or fox. We were able to catch Mr. Tom and took him to the bad place which is really a good place because we were able to give him the care which, in the long run, benefits kitties. However, a sad ending for Mr. Tom. After he had lived with us for a number of years his health began to deteriorate and through testing we learned that Mr. Tom had FIV which is common in cats who are allowed to roam outside. It is a result of a bite wound and, as I said is common in stray, feral cats. In addition, he had an injured paw which resulted in his having to have one of his toes removed. In the years that followed, we had to have his teeth removed due to gum infection as a result of the FIV. This of course made it difficult for him to eat. We continued to give Mr. Tom a loving, caring home for a number of years but since FIV weakens a kitty’s immune system, Mr. Tom lost his battle. I comfort myself with the knowledge that after he came to live with us (he was full grown at the time) Mr. Tom NEVER had to go hungry or thirsty, and ALWAYS had a comfortable haven in which to live, sleep and play. And, it turns out that Mr. Tom was afraid of thunder – perhaps from all the years he had to spend outside. I miss him terribly, but, as I said, I console myself with the knowledge that after Mr. Tom was ‘caught up in the capture’, until he left this earth, he never lacked for anything.

    • Brenda, thank you so much for sharing the story of Mr. Tom. Having started My own life as the son of two feral cats and spending most of My first year wandering alone in the wilderness, I can fully empathize with what Mr. Tom went through. He was so lucky that you found him, recognized his need and brought him into your safe, loving home. I am saddened that he suffered from FIV, and that he eventually was taken by the disease, but I am filled with joy at the thought of the wonderful life you gave him during the years that he spent with you. I thank you for opening your home and your heart to My feline brother in need, and I am very sorry for your loss.

  2. —-, Otis,
    What nice teeth you have, my dear. IAnd so white.
    Meooooooooooooooooow. puuuuuuuuuuuuurr. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

  3. Waterbug, companion to Chris

    Leader Otis, Please keep up the good work in your attempts to educate others on the dangers facing outdoor kitties. My Guardians have adopted many stray kitties over the years. While their stories have ended well, it’s a sad fact that most do not.

    Safely ensconced indoors forever,

    Waterbuggy

Leave a Reply

